We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Ranked #43 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It could have been better.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed in Athens for two nights. The first impression was fine, as the location of the hotel was really excellent and the welcome from the front desk was very friendly. as soon as I stepped in the room, I was a bit disappointed. The furniture was fine but the size of the room was really small. They also must change the curtains as they are not thick enough as a result the room when there are is light outside it does not get dark. I called the reception and ask if they have a bigger room and I will pay for any extra cost and she told me they were overbooked but there will be some rooms available the next day and they will be more than happy to help me out. Indeed the next day around noon I went to the reception and asked whether there was an empty room. He told me there was but it is a room with two single beds. I took it. It was indeed much better and roomier. The furniture were not that modern though and the toilet looked a bit dated while the tiny room had a nice modern toilet. The downside of the room was again the curtains were not thick enough and there was a smell coming out from the bathtub.
The breakfast was poor but for the price I got, I can not really complain. By the time the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, you can forget the rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    419
    201
    36
    13
See reviews for
143
463
81
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in Amazon hotel for 1 night. Our friends stayed in Achilleas hotel nearby for a similar price but their hotel was definitely better (bigger room with a balcony, bigger lobby). We didn't check elevators in Achilleas but in Amazon the levator is quite tiny, 3-4 people can hardly fit in.
Comparing these two hotels I suggest Achilleas. An unrelated note: one day is more than enough for Athens.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is an average hotel but it was worth it for the price. Rooms are very standard. I think some were redone but ours wasn't. It's not like we spent any time in our room anyways. It's a very convienent location which is a plus. Just a few blocks to the train station, and a few blocks the other way is plaka. Breakfast was pretty good here. If your staying in Athens for just a couple days I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACSOUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed in Athens for 3 nights at the Amazon. This was our second honeymoon and I wanted something special. Well special it was. We got the best room in the hotel. Room 700 is a suite with the view of the Acropolis. We arrived at night, and this was our first time in Greece. We walked inside our suite which was amazing, but better still we could see the Acropolis lit up with lights from our lounge room. We also had our own balcony and when we went outside to see the Pathanon, it was just breathtaking. It was unreal, and Amnazon is so close to everything in Athens. Will only stay there again if we can ever do it again. Breakfast too was good.

Room Tip: Room 700. Top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toulla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

* How did we choose it: Booking.com
* Location: Plaka
* Kind of stay: 1 night, couple; mid July 2012
* Atmosphere: international.
* Room: rather small for two people; view on a secondary street with a large building in front of the window (not very nice). Rather noisy
* Toilet: small but adequate; excellent shower
* Cleanliness: moquette stained
* Food: continental breakfast; not astonishing.
* Service: average
* Cost (room per night): €80 with breakfast
* Notes: there is no hall. THe hotel has just been recently acquired by Best Western. It needs serious refurbishment
* Conclusions: it doesn't get distinguished from the average
* Would we go back? no

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambacillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is located seconds from the central shopping centre of Athens, Syntagma square, Plaka, and accommodates touring to Acropolis, Monastiraki and other nearby historic sites. The room was clean and tidy and cleaning staff was very polite. They also allowed us to reserve the room a few hours after normal checkout time, free of charge. I’m definitely going back. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sotiaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel has a great location, close to the Acropolis and also has good restaurants around.
The rooms are small, but nice and clean, with renewed furniture. The only bad point is the breakfast, the is always cold and don't have many options.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,705 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,522 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#58 of 326 in Athens
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,268 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
353 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#50 of 326 in Athens
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amazon Hotel

Property: Best Western Amazon Hotel
Address: 19 Mitropoleos & Pentelis Str | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing