We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only good thing about this hotel is the location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Ranked #42 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a third floor tripple share room overnight. While the bathroom was ok the room certainly wasn't. I feel we got the worst room available. The quilts on the beds were stained and grubby looking. The wallpaper was peeling in stripes off the wall in a number of places and I found it difficult opening and closing the balcony door. Could do with a good clean.. As we were leaving before 6.30 breakfast, no room service avail, we left hungry. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LandJUmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Amazon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Location was very central and a half hour walk to the Acropolis.
The room was very small, with dirty carpet but had a fantastic view of the Acropolis. There was a lot of construction noise because the hotel lobby is being remodeled.
Breakfast was very good.
For the price we would stay again.

1  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have been in this hotel , it is having a perfect location for visiting the archaeological sights and for visiting the shopping places , the rooms is so clean but little small , the staff are so friendly and helpful , i don't have anything against it really , simply i enjoyed .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great hotel!Nothing to dislike!Clean and comfortable room,friendly staff and central location just 1 min from syntagma square!High speed wifi and good breakfast!Would happily stay here again!I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at Amazon Hotel for 2 nights in June. From the outside the hotel does not look like much and the property across the road is also vacant and looks very unappealing. When you enter the doors of Amazon Hotel you forget about the outside though. The reception area is small but fairly modern and the staff is friendly.
If you have large pieces of luggage you might have some trouble to get them into the elevator as it is very small! The room is decent and clean, the bathroom was also very clean and modern.
The location of the hotel is the best! It is located in the Plaka area which is very close to the flea markets and some beautiful architecture (which I love). There is also many great restaurants in and around Plaka.
We were not able to see the Acropolis from our room but I'm sure some of the other rooms will have the benefit of the great view. We spend most of our time in Athens outside exploring the city so the view was not a problem for us.
The breakfast was great, a good variety of breads, jams, cold meats and cheese. There is also an option for bacon, sausages and eggs.
We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and will definitely go back again. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view you will need to ask for it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiré C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our stay was superb in Athens, mainly due to the fact of the convenient location of the hotel. Very friendly staff, all modcons one needs and very good, if a little small rooms. We will certainly stay there again next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarjonBainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Great three star hotel very centrally situated, comfortable bedroom on the sixth floor, small bathroom and shower.
Breakfast adequate.
Superb Wi-Fi.
This hotel is all about location.
Taxi from the airport to the hotel is €35 even if the meter says €22, don't book through reception, he quoted €41 - getting his cut of course, just take one outside the door.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgh1957sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,765 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,562 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
957 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#48 of 282 in Athens
592 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos & Pentelis Str | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £28 - £859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing