We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City center hotel for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Ranked #41 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is in adequate location only 5 min walk from Syntagma. It is surrounded by many shops, cafes and restaurants so you feel safe and comfortable even at night. The reception area and elevators are really tiny and there are no hotel lobby ( i.e. you want to drink a cup of coffeу at night at the hotel). So do not expect spacious lobby, concierge, butler etc. on site. The rooms are of standard size with free wi-fi, mini-bar, safe and TV. Interiors are nice and beds are good for a proper sleep. Linens were new and of a good quality. The breakfast area is quite narrow (for 15-20 people eat out at one time) so could be jams if you occur to meet a group of tourists. The breakfast is very basic ( especially for Greece fertility), but all the food was nice. We stayed for 1 night only and can't complain as it cost us 55 euro. I would recommend the hotel for short breaks to Athens and for one's who do not need extras (as own restaurant, spa, gym etc.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ru_Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Amazon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Staying here at this present moment. Very happy with the room as it is recently renovated. Walking distance to all of Athens and metro station.
Free Wifi and fast speed for all your needs. Great little noodle bar shop down the little lane and serves good Asian noodles.
Will recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keng Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 6 nights as it was included with our tour plus we added a couple of nights through our agent. We obviously paid too much by booking the extra nights through our tour agent - if you want extra nights - book direct for a better price. The first test, is getting you and your luggage into the lifts - just keep your sense of humour! The first room we stayed in was clean and comfortable but had the smallest shower I have ever seen! We asked to have a room with a larger shower on our return for the next 3 nights. The receptionist was not very interested and said she would make a note. The second room we were allocated was smaller but the shower was a little larger - this one we could close the screen!
Breakfast was average but on a par with other places in Greece.
The location is by far the best thing about this hotel but I would not stay here again.
We needed to book a hotel for another 2 nights before leaving Athens. We did not book at the Amazon but at a nearby hotel that had larger rooms, larger showers, cheaper price and friendly staff.
It pays to shop around.

Room Tip: Ask for 605 - it has a view and a larger shower. Shop around for the best price. There seems to be a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Clearly, Location is the advantage of this hotel.
With respect to other hotels of the neighborhood, it has fair VfM.
However, this is a trade-off for the other services, which are rather thrifty.

The breakfast is poor.
No lobby at the reception, however, in less than 50 meters you can find a lot of cafes
Quite clean.
Decoration is rather old.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlos_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Great location to things. Rooms were clean, maybe overly clean from the bleach smell every where and the feel of the sheets. The bed was way to hard and the hard sheets we had 2 of the worst night sleep in our 3 week trip to Greece. The hotel was under construction and the little church across street was having a 2 day funeral so the bells were constantly ringing. If I had paid more the 80 some euros a night this hotel would get a really bad rating. Nothing more then location and a place to try and sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Nice clean, comfortable rooms in a good location. There was building work going on during our stay but we were not affected at all. Helpful staff and a good continental breakfast but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I loved everything this hotel offered me!! Awesome location, just 50 meters for Syntagma square and Athens's night life! Very gentle staff that gave me all the information that i needed!!! I recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amea301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,769 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,563 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
959 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#45 of 282 in Athens
592 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#57 of 282 in Athens
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amazon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amazon Hotel

Address: 19 Mitropoleos & Pentelis Str | Sytagma, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £27 - £850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Amazon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amazon boasts a prime location in the heart of Athens, within walking distance of the major archaeological sites and Syntagma Metro Station. It offers 42 tastefully decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Amazon Hotel's air-conditioned rooms and suites are decorated in natural tones creating a relaxing atmosphere. They are equipped with a TV with satellite and cable channels, safety box and minibar. Some rooms enjoy spectacular Acropolis views. Amazon Hotel serves buffet breakfast, while there is also a bar and a cafeteria, where guests can enjoy their drink or a snack. The New Acropolis Museum is within 1 km of Hotel Amazon. The shopping district of the Athens centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Amazon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing