We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outdoor setting, good food”
Review of Oraia Penteli

Oraia Penteli
Ranked #1,382 of 3,707 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Great outdoor setting, good food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Food was delicious and authentic. Portion sizes were generous. Polite and friendly service. I would definitely come back to eat here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We allowed ourselves to be inveigled into this restaurant although we had intended to go to one nearby. Frankly, it was a mistake. We were attracted by the prospect of eating outside on a warm evening and, to be fair, the starters were very pleasant. Our main courses, however (chunks of stewed lamb or beef with rice), were pretty well inedible. Our first meal in Greece and, by some distance, the worst.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine food & good service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Attentive and friendly service. Excellent fish and chicken courses and Baclava as well. We would recommend this to anyone visiting Athens.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place, good value - just 3 min walk from Monastiraki”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

On a small square in Psiri, just a short walk from the tourist places do you find this real Greek Taverna. Good food (except the Skordalia) and very good value for money. Nice service and you feel like in a quiet village, not in the center of Athens. I was there in the daytime, but it looked like the area had many hip nightclubs, so a dinner here before checking out the nightlife could be a good idea.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gussi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor food; invest another 5min walk and find a decent place”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Prime location; probably the main reason why the place is still I'm business; but POOR food.

Tasteless, cold, wrong dressing in salad .... you name it ...

They try to compensate with the service (glumsy.. but at least they try ... but fail) and atmosphere (100% fake Greek guaranteed).

Have a look at the list of tripadvisor and go to one of the other VERY FINE restaurants less than 500m away for the same price...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esox_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oraia Penteli also viewed

 

Been to Oraia Penteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing