We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, excellent staff”
Review of Evripides Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Evripides Hotel
Ranked #52 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, excellent staff”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Location is great, walking distance to Acropolis. 2 metrostations within 5 minutes, central market around the courner. Neighbourhood is a bit rough, but nothing to worry about. People don't bother you, if you don't bother them.
Staff is excellent and very friendly, informing visitors about special activities in Athens.
Very good budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKerMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    373
    140
    30
    18
See reviews for
100
349
91
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

stayed here for 4 days in may. i was surprised at how very clean the rooms were, the bathroom was spotless so was the bedroom. we had probably the best view in the place on the 6th floor overlooking (at a distance) the acropolis...but i will say that these rooms are not the quietest as they are directly below the roof patio and you hear noise there from about 6am onwards as breakfast starts so i suggest the 5th or 4th floor for a better night's sleep. the staff were all extremely helpful. there are safes in the rooms so you can trust your valuables are ok and a/c on demand. monastariki station is about 10 mins max by foot and easy to find. the main complaints people seem to make on here are regarding the neighborhood. yes, it looks sketchy and run-down and yes, there are men hanging around on the street at nights but we were never bothered once and we walked around at all hours, although i think a single woman might find it more challenging. remember, this is a budget hotel (50 euros a night for a double room) within walking distance of the plaka, the main market etc etc...if you are used to inner city areas and are street smart this area will not phase you after you've realised it's better than it initially looks...if you are not, then you should pay more and go to a fancier part of town. i can't imagine much better value for the proximity to psirri, plaka, central market etc, the cleanliness of the rooms and helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: don't take the 6th floor unless you have earplugs for the morning breakfast routine above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

i purchased the package from lastminute, can't complain about the 3 stars hotel but was not cheap; honestly i was expecting a ok location at least; it was not far from a metro station but the street, is extremely horrible; especially in the evening; i wouldn't suggest staying there if you go without a group.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We found the hotel to be very clean, comfortable, quiet and spacious. The staff was incredibly friendly - we had to check out early in the morning (~5am) and the staff prepared breakfast for us and placed it into bags for our trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrHeckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Not the most luxurious accommodation, but at this price it's great value. Paid circa £20 per night for wifi, parking, breakfast, aircon, cleaning, TV and a bed - you really can't complain.

General location is good, right in the thick of things but the street itself is pretty gritty. Fine, but rough around the edges.

Staff good.

Walls transmit noise between rooms a little too readily.

Room Tip: Ask for acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Evripides proved a good choice of hotel and, importantly, it was good value for a couple of days in Athens. The rooms were clean and well serviced. We did not need air-con as the spring-time temperatures were ideal. The staff and, Sara particularly, were very helpful and cheerful (we pass on a few tips). The views of the Acropolis from the 7th floor terrace are uninterrupted, an ideal background for an aperitif.
The Evripides is an easy walk to the old town for eating out, and Agora area for your historical appreciation - the Acropolis beyond is worth the extra steps to see much more en route.
The hotel takes a bit of finding initially but a printed out map and on-line walking route from Monastirakis Square is logical.
From the airport take the Metro. Clean and quick, straight into the centre for 8 Euros(or less).
Athens Metro is a great way to get around and easy to use. The trams, trolley buses, etc need a bit of research - we suggest downloading a route plan with numbers. 4 Euro - 24 hour - tickets for all transport system (except to Airport) are good value - don't forget to validate each time...
Although the immediate area and streets around the hotel appear a bit run down and untidy there seemed little problem otherwise. We did not feel uncomfortable walking around - the locals are just getting on with life, in difficult times.
Don't be afraid to seek out discounts at attractions and for travel - half price being one small benefit of being over 65 (or free for a student)

Room Tip: If possible select a room on the upper floors, well above street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My hubby and I were in Athens on a business trip. We chose the Evripides Hotel because it is located near the Plaka and because it is very economical! We were most favorably impressed!! The staff is very friendly and helpful! The bedroom and bathroom were exceptionally clean and comfortable! And what wonderful words we have for the breakfast!!! Every morning we enjoyed a variety of local, fresh and healthy food!! Of course there are no words to describe the beauty of the view from the terrace...the Acropolis and more!!!

Even though a "bar" did exist on the rooftop terrace, it was only a counter and hardly any drinks to go with it!! We were so eager for something as common as ouzo...but there was none!! Such a pity we could not toast to the romance of a lit-up Athens!!
This hotel is certainly not located in the prettiest street of the city but this did not worry us...as a matter-of-fact, the neighborhood is rather cool in a funky and artistic way!!

Without a doubt, we will be returning to this hotel each and every time we visit Athens!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demeter4757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#70 of 326 in Athens
561 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
445 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#83 of 326 in Athens
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,307 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evripides Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evripides Hotel

Property: Evripides Hotel
Address: 79 Evripidou, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evripides Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Athens close to the Acropolis, Evripides Hotel Athens is the place to be when you want to go sightseeing! It is conveniently located within a short walking distance of all the main archaeological sites, Plaka, athens most picturesque district and within easy reach of many attractions such as museums and galleries. There is also a metro station nearby providing easy access for those coming from the international airport or from Piraeus port and for those who want to explore the entire city. Evripides hotel offers comfort and high quality services by our friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are functional and relaxing, warmly decorated with traditional touches creating the ideal environment for a pleasant stay in Athens. ... And don't miss our roof garden on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis and providing a panoramic view of Athens, where your breakfast is served and where you can enjoy a drink in the evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evripides Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing