We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view of the Acropolis”
Review of Evripides Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evripides Hotel
Ranked #57 of 325 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of the Acropolis”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We are glad we booked our 4 night stay in in this nice hotel though its basic but it has wow factor should I say. We are very fortunate to have our room with balcony that you can see the beautiful Acropolis day and night superb view with no extra charge.The room is clean daily and is spotless everything we need is very handy. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We dont have any problem encountered through out the time we stay here. This place adds up to our wonderful memories in Greece. I love the area where this hotel situated, we manage to buy nice souvenirs and tasted local produce which is far more cheaper than the main square. So close in the market area and its very enjoying to see how local people managing there life in busy morning . We felt very safe and so far we manage to wander around by foot as it is very close to many historical landmarks. I would definitely come back here and recommend this place to anybody who love to explore and experience the true life in Greece.

Room Tip: Best room situated at the 6th floor . Nice view either room 606 or 607.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toto0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    363
    140
    30
    18
See reviews for
99
337
90
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is central but the area is a bit run down - lots of deserted buildings and graffiti! Reception staff were very friendly but the girl on the bar was miserable and rude. Rooms are good however the shower is hand held and there was no plug for the small bath. Hairdryer only blew cold air and the toilet seat was cracked. Saying that, it was pretty good value for money and within walking distance of most of the top sights!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wemsywoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You need a good map of a GPS to find this hotel. It has free parking, wifi and breakfast. There are only maybe five parking spaces in front of the hotel but as they advertise free parking I think they have an arrangement with a parking lot I've seen nearby. You will find the streets on one side are an Indian neighbourhood and to the north is Chinese or generally Asian. Some of the characters roaming these areas are pretty desperate looking and we were warned about pickpockets or worse. Despite that spent three days there without mishap although in one case we did feel we were being targeted and ducked into a shop where we had previously bought stuff.

The location of the hotel is great for walking to historic sites. If you walk up Euripides street the first light is Athina (Athens) and if you turn right and walk five blocks to the end you are at the heart of the tourist area, behind the Acropolis, and you can reach Septagma and the Parliament in a few minutes or go up the hill into Plaka for rooftop restaurants or cheaper.

But if you go another way, leading to Sari street you are within blocks of an almost entirely Greek area with restaurants as good as Plaka (except for the sunset view of the Acropolis). There are wine stores open on Sunday (unusual in Greece) and the neighbourhood is upscale from that around the hotel but only at most four blocks away.

Basically we parked the car for three days in front of the hotel and walked to everything. There are several metro stations within 15 minutes walk although we found we didn't need to use them.

The staff at Evripdes Hotel were unusually helpful. They gave us maps and drew the routes we needed to follow. When we asked for a laundramat (versus paying hotel rates for laundry) they sent us to a nearby laundry open on weekends where the owner is Greek/Australian and charged 10 euros for maybe 5 kilos of laundry done in less than 2 hours. That means washed, dried and folded then cellophane-wrapped.

The breakfast is cold except for coffee but includes hard boiled eggs and dates, prunes and raisins. It is on the 7th floor and you can sit outside with a view of the Acropolis. For that matter our room had a balcony with a view of the Acropolis.

The rooms are big but not many power point for charging batteries. It had a refrigerator and power stayed on without your needing to insert the room key in an activation slot. There is no shower curtain so you need to be careful, in fact as Athens is on water restrictions you need to be especially careful with water generally but that is applicable everywhere not just this hotel.

We paid about USD 65/night and for that money I thought we got excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I spent a few days in Athens in September and booked the Evripides Hotel - and in our opinion, it was the jewel in the crown! The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and this hotel was perfectly situated. The rooms were lovely, everything spotless, and I was blown away when I went up for breakfast (which was very good) - it was on a roof terrace with wonderful views! We were thrilled to get our last night there on our way back from the islands before flying home and I could not recommend this hotel highly enough!
Evelyn & Breffni, Dublin, Ireland.

Room Tip: We liked being on the 2nd floor and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was the second hotel my husband and I stayed at in Athens, Greece.

Pros:
Room set up: The first thing I noticed about this place is how clean and up to date it looked. The beds were very comfortable and clean. There were two doors we had to go through from the outside hall to our bed, so we that was nice to help keep the room quiet. The bathroom was big enough to move around comfortably and it had a tub shower, but no curtain which was kind of weird. There was another drain in the middle of the floor for if you got water on the floor.

Staff: The staff were very helpful and nice.

Internet: They had free wireless internet and one computer station in the lobby for us to use for free.

The breakfast area: The breakfast was great with the standard yogurt, meats, cheese, cereal, coffee and tea. The seating area has a fantastic view of the Acropolis and you can see out to the Aegean Sea. The seating area is opened after 6:00pm with a bar to go have a drink and gaze at the lit up Acropolis.

Location: The hotel is located in walking distance to the National Archaeological Museum of Athens, the Acropolis, and Ancient Agora.

Cons:
Once you step outside of the hotel, the area is very gross and sketchy. It's fine during the day, but I would not go out after dark.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to people. Just keep a watchful eye out while walking through the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the middle of the city and close to a nice party district with many bars. Unfortunately, the area around the hotel is really dangerous and kind of a ghetto. We saw people injecting heroine in the middle of the day on the streets.
The view from the roof top is amazing. Very nice for breakfast or a little wine drinking session at night. You have a perfect view on the acropolis. Breakfast was solid, nothing special. The service was really nice and helpful and spoke fluent English!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately for My partner and I, we had a bit of trouble in the neighbourhood. Landing in Athens coming from southern hemisphere, we jumped on the train to the station. Walking to the hotel with our luggage we couldnt help but notice the stares of the people sittingbetterd on monday mid-afternoon, the graffiti, the protests in the square and the very low maintence levels of buildings and footpaths.

We got to this hotel put our bags down and decided to go back to the station to find a feed before settling in for the night. On route back towards the station we encountered a young couple not so dissimilar to us, sitting on the kerbside injecting themselves with what id assume was herroin. It was 5pm, on a Tuesday. We kept walking, we were approached by beggars thinking they'd take the dumb tourist as a sucker... We found a place to eat. A decent souvlaki restaurant. Lamb was really tasty. After dinner we wanted to get back before dark, as we were really feeling unsafe, then a gypsie pickpocket approached my partner trying to sell us something... wouldnt take no for an answer, ended up with his wallet. My partner, however did notice and definitely gave this person a reason to think about trying to steal again, (I know its not right but my partner ended up with his wallet and phone and shoes) finally we made it back to the hotel. Phew.

The hotel is just like any other you've been to before, it had a decent bed, nice roof top terrace bar, with a good view of the Acropolis. I wish I coulf rate it better, the service provided was good, if only the people around the area were better!! id love to rate it better :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DieGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#69 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#144 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evripides Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evripides Hotel

Property: Evripides Hotel
Address: 79 Evripidou, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evripides Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Athens close to the Acropolis, Evripides Hotel Athens is the place to be when you want to go sightseeing! It is conveniently located within a short walking distance of all the main archaeological sites, Plaka, athens most picturesque district and within easy reach of many attractions such as museums and galleries. There is also a metro station nearby providing easy access for those coming from the international airport or from Piraeus port and for those who want to explore the entire city. Evripides hotel offers comfort and high quality services by our friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are functional and relaxing, warmly decorated with traditional touches creating the ideal environment for a pleasant stay in Athens. ... And don't miss our roof garden on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis and providing a panoramic view of Athens, where your breakfast is served and where you can enjoy a drink in the evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Evripides Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing