We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and lovely staff”
Review of Evripides Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evripides Hotel
Ranked #49 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great value for money. The hotel is at a perfect location to visit all Athens must-see places.
The staff was extremely kind and supportive.
The room was very clean and all the facilities worked properly.
We are in love with the views from the roof bar, we had amazing breakfasts up there.
We had an incredible time, will go back to Greece as soon as possible!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Celia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We just wanted a comfortable, clean, and convenient place to sleep for a couple of nights while we spent a day in Athens en route to Santorini. The hotel was exactly that. The people at the front desk were friendly, warm, and funny, and the room was clean and comfortable, if not stylish, although the twin beds pushed together were disappointing since we wanted a double bed.

While several people have commented on the neighborhood, it was just fine though it looked run down in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. It felt perfectly safe, and within a couple of blocks around the hotel were coffee shops and places to eat. And of course it's a very short walk to the Acropolis, which was our main reason for stopping over in Athens.

All in all the Evripides Hotel was exactly what we were looking for, and we were very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A nice hotel in a good location, but a very run down neighborhood. We were able to see the Acropolis from our balcony and other interesting things as well, shown on the attached photo. I found the dirty seedy surroundings rather interesting .It didn't put me off, since I felt safe and sometimes I enjoy the colorful reality of the life.
In the hotel we had a quite spacious room with comfortable bed,and bathroom with amenities, hairdryer, etc. Everything was clean, the breakfast was nothing special, but good, the view from the breakfast room was stunning, and the staff was friendly.
In addition, because the Plaka was just a stroll away, you can enjoy nice dinners in one of the rooftop restaurants.
I would go back again.
Our only problem was to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stinkwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very convenient to all the sites. Great view of the Acropolis from many rooms and also from the breakfast area. Simple but nice breakfast. Not a great neighbourhood, but vibrant, with "real people" living out their lives.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ticker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

these are the best things about this hotel - approx 10 mins walk from Monastraki metro which has direct 40 minutes link to Airport.
OK the area is at best 'seedy' - but didnt feel threatening.
Our room was very small with little cupboard space but it was clean and the beds were comfortable and there is BBC world news on the TV. Fridge in the wardrobe and also key operated 'safe' but since the key for this is attached to your room key and these have to be handed in ....................
Unfortunately our room was on a low floor facing the main street and immediately overlooked an apparently derelict building () there were patio doors to a stand on only 'balcony': this might be why we had only black out curtains which meant having then closed all the time and using electric lighting. We also overlooked a very noisy local restaurant where one night guests were partying till after 1 which made sleep virtually impossible even with the patio doors closed.
The bathroom was tiny with a 3/4 bath with powerful shower over:without provision of shower screen/curtain it was necessary to sit in the bath and shower to avoid giving the whole room a wash: difficult for anyone much over 5 foot or age/physically challenged in anyway: clean towels were provided daily.
There are ac units in the room but controls provided advise that there is a additional cost implication on use - didnt try it out as not that warm at night even with the patio doors shut to cut out noise.
7th floor terrace which serves as bar after 6pm has Acropolis views - buffet breakfast also provided here ; basic with cereal, good yoghurt, some fruit: hard boiled eggs/sliced cheese and fetta and some rather non specific prepackaged meats: bread for toasting with jam, honey and butter:dire coffee
Guests were a mix of back packing groups (our neighbours very noisy one night till early hours)couples with small kids and more mature travellers from many different countries.
Staff were welcoming, cheerful and happy to provide guidance on traveller queries.
Would consider staying here again if in Athens provided were able to book one of the larger rooms with proper terraces and Acropolis view although these of course are at a premium

please remember you cannot flush paper in Athens so bring bin liners or plastic bags for the bins as these are not provided!

Room Tip: try to avoid facing the main road - pay for a larger room with balcony and Acropolis view if these a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arnold j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Perfect location, near from Acropolis and city center.
Every staff was very kind and supportive to us. We had to leave the hotel at 3 in the morning to head to Santorini, so I thought I couldn't get a breakfast although I booked the room with breakfast included. Then the staff told me that they are going to prepare a food for us because we are leaving so early and have no chance to eat... it was only a sandwich, fruits and juice but more than enough for me, my wife and a baby son, and most of all I was really happy about the attitude toward us.

Breakfast will be taken on top of the hotel and can see the Parthenon if you sit in the right spot.

Although the neighbor was a bit spooky (I think it was because of the paintings and drawings on the wall) to us for first time visit to Athens, I didn't feel any danger even in night time. I think this hotel deserves a little more fancy street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DerekK923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

It is a nice hotel at the heart of monastiraki....very clean with excellent hospitality..and a great view at the 7th floor...just wake up early in the morning and enjoy the view...the only negative issue is the fact that the neighborhood is not very clean!but if I' ll visit again Athens I will stay again at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elenaramaiktaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#73 of 285 in Athens
613 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 285 in Athens
1,217 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 285 in Athens
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 285 in Athens
1,962 reviews
Marble House
#24 of 285 in Athens
723 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 285 in Athens
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evripides Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evripides Hotel

Address: 79 Evripidou, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £39 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evripides Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Athens close to the Acropolis, Evripides Hotel Athens is the place to be when you want to go sightseeing! It is conveniently located within a short walking distance of all the main archaeological sites, Plaka, athens most picturesque district and within easy reach of many attractions such as museums and galleries. There is also a metro station nearby providing easy access for those coming from the international airport or from Piraeus port and for those who want to explore the entire city. Evripides hotel offers comfort and high quality services by our friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are functional and relaxing, warmly decorated with traditional touches creating the ideal environment for a pleasant stay in Athens. ... And don't miss our roof garden on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis and providing a panoramic view of Athens, where your breakfast is served and where you can enjoy a drink in the evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Evripides Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing