We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the AC included!”
Review of Evripides Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evripides Hotel
Ranked #50 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I've stayed at "The Ripper" four or five times in the past three years. Excellent hotel with great views from the breakfast area. Yes the area is dodgy but the rest district is only five minutes away and there's a safe route via Epikouros St., right then left. But what worries me now is the hotel has gone grey market. charging 5 Euros for AC. It's not on the hotel bill and of course in Athens it's beyond essential. The second time I stayed this summer I asked for it to be included in the same price I had paid through booking.com and it was--but if you check the sites you wouldn't know to ask. A shame as this hotel already has the area's rep working against it, and it's great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed here on a trip watching my team Everton in Athens in December. We just needed somewhere to put our bags and sleep and not much else. The hotel is located around 10 minutes walk to Monistariki station & square, which will take you anywhere in the city on the metro.

The owner was very helpful and so was the lady on reception. I have never had such helpful hotel staff in my time travelling. There is a bar on the higher floors which serves wine and bottled Mythos. If you go to the outside bit in the bar the views of the city are magnificent. You can see the Acropolis lit up at night and the other Ancient sights.

If you get hungry there is a Greek restaurant/take away directly opposite where I ate delicious pork chops and chips.

I've read a few reviews of the hotel and there are a few that say the area is not safe and intimidating. I would say that the area is ok, sure there are a few Vietnamese/Africans around but name me a major European capital city that does not have immigration. If you are a lady staying on your own then maybe you shouldn't stay here but for all other people this hotel is fine.

Tip: Go to Mikrolimano fishing port if you get time. Excellent for fresh fish meals. I think if I remember rightly you have to go to Neo Faliro station and walk from there, it's not far. Look on google. It is the nicest part of the city and the bars there are quite upmarket.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutchbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This is a good 3 star hotel with good facilities and rooms. The biggest problems is that the area is not very good especially at night. The area is very dark at night with a number of people on the street.
Getting to hotel is not easy with the nearest metro station about 15 minute walk.
But if are looking for a 3 star hotel near to Athens CBD you could do a lot worse and pay a lot more.
We found that most of the sights of Athens can be accessed from the hotel without too much problems.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Good position near Monastiraki, museums and sites.
Basic but very clean hotel and friendly staff. Breakfast is good, pretty weak coffee. Excellent view of the Acropolis from the terrace .
Hotel is situated in an immigrant area and it is noisy after dark.
You can leave luggage in the basement after check out if you need.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0manianBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Everything about the hotel is absolutely fine EXCEPT the location.

By far it's in one of the worst in Athens.

Please be aware of walking anywhere outside the hotel after 9pm.

And avoid the markets near the hotel from 12-5. They are a tourists nightmare.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinste1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The hotel itself isn't bad with clean rooms and comfortable furniture. The employees, though, leave a bit to be desired in attitude and customer service. In addition, they pull the BS nickel and diming for a/c when it is a necessity in Athens in the spring and summer. My suggestion would be to just add a few euros to the price and include a/c rather than making clients pay for a necessity.
Location? Yes, for most this could be a bit daunting as it is a dark street with groups of young men hanging on the street corners.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wideworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Very helpful and kind staff (specially Sara). Rooms are very clean, but unfortunately little bit could and mosit with smell of moist(?). Position of hotel is very good for all city atractions, you do not need metro, but there are many people all around near hotel that looked like they where in some suspicios business( always go left, when you are leaving hotel, than again left, and than right). Breakfast is the worst i ever tried,nothing tasteful, and that is the biggest disadvantage of this hotel. Hotel is not so bed like it seems, but if you have more money tray to find better hotel. If you want to save your money , it is going to be o.k. if you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROCKY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
675 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#71 of 282 in Athens
608 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
498 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#64 of 282 in Athens
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evripides Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evripides Hotel

Address: 79 Evripidou, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £31 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evripides Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Athens close to the Acropolis, Evripides Hotel Athens is the place to be when you want to go sightseeing! It is conveniently located within a short walking distance of all the main archaeological sites, Plaka, athens most picturesque district and within easy reach of many attractions such as museums and galleries. There is also a metro station nearby providing easy access for those coming from the international airport or from Piraeus port and for those who want to explore the entire city. Evripides hotel offers comfort and high quality services by our friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are functional and relaxing, warmly decorated with traditional touches creating the ideal environment for a pleasant stay in Athens. ... And don't miss our roof garden on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis and providing a panoramic view of Athens, where your breakfast is served and where you can enjoy a drink in the evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Evripides Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing