We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Achillion Hotel March 2012”
Review of Achillion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Achillion Hotel
Ranked #109 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Achillion Hotel March 2012”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel has one huge plus which outweighs its disadvantages, which is friendly, professional English-speaking staff. As a single female looking rather the worsee for wear I was not only made feel weolcome but offered current advice on the cultural life of Athens...if you're staying this near the centre, chances are this is the kind of attitude which is going to optimise whatever you want from Athens, The downside is the area, which is disturbingly poor. This was always the area where mainly illegal immigrants made a meagre living; with Greece's current situtaion it has become a ghetto. Stay out of the side streets- straight up Ag Constantinou, down Athina st and it's 10 minutes walk to Monastiraki for the Acroplis and Plaka.The hotel is completely secure, the breakfast luxurious.

Room Tip: rooms fairly sound-proof, as in any city centre get the highest above the street you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    147
    108
    28
    16
See reviews for
74
143
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alytus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is centraly located and we were able to walk to many attractions. The rooms are good and worth the money we paid. The staff waspolite and answered all our questions. The only down thing we did not like was the area outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramune D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights. First experience of athens. Yea area is a bit seedy and noticed it initialy (seemed to get better, dont know if the cops did a round up or they were all rioting at Syntagma) but as people say lots of police around and the locals keep to themselves. Yep reasonably cetral and as long as you are resonably fit no prob walking to plaka and sites or metro is very close. Room was fine as was breakkie. Found the reception staff helpful. I think we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel is located very close to Omonia Square, on a large boulevard, close to the Metro Station, with good and quick acces to exit roads to the highway. The location is quite unfriendly after a certain hour in the evening and at night! The room was clean, the furniture was modern and in good condition, very confortable. the bathroom was well equiped and kept. we had also wireless in our room! the breakfast was standard swedish buffet , nothing impressive! good value and good choice!

Room Tip: You should ask for a room at a higher floor to avoid the noise of the boulevard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancuta_blondutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Really good hotel for the price but located in a very dodgy part of town. The walk from the metro is probably the most unsafe we felt in Europe. Often there's police around which made the walk feel better but the fact they're needed in such numbers is concerning. In saying this we had no incidents but we were always alert. We chose the hotel however as the price was very good and we're travelling for a long time. Everyone on reception was nice and even let us have our room early after our overnight ferry. We stayed twice (2 nights before heading to the Islands and 2 after). Our 2nd room was much nicer than the first with more space and a small balcony but the 1st was still ok. Breakfast was OK but nothing amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The Achillion is located in Omonia, an area that has a pretty bad reputation, but we were totally ignored despite not looking even remotely like locals. And there are quite a few people walking around at all hours including the increasing number of tourists, even around midnight, so as long as you’re not deliberately trying to get mugged by flashing cash or acting stupid, you’ll probably be fine. There are also quite a few cops and private security folk around as well, who travel around in packs.

The hotel itself is situated on the north part of the main street, not on the south as indicated by Google maps, so if you’ve gotten off at the Omonia metro station and are walking west, then it’ll be on your right hand side. The sign is pretty high up and it’s lettered vertically, sort of like old Vegas hotels. Even though it’s written in Greek, there are enough matching letters to the Romanized alphabet where you can make out that it’s the Achillion.

Facility-wise, it’s nothing special. The reason we stayed there was because the location was relatively convenient and the price was reasonable. Don’t expect anything in the way of luxury. Our double bed was two twins put together. Our reading lights were out of commission, and it looks like no effort was made to repair them.

The mattress is pretty stiff, and the pillows are flat—neither of which I like, but I managed to sleep okay.

The bathroom was clean but the lighting was pretty dim. There’s no overhead shower, only a hand held shower head.

There’s free wireless, but it’s a bit spotty, which is something we came to expect in Greece. Connection to the internet often cuts out, so patience is needed.

Breakfast was okay. Nothing spectacular. They did have hot food, which changed daily. The only thing that I thought was pretty good were the scrambled eggs, which were freshly made and not from powder. Another day, they had something resembling French toast, but there wasn’t any syrup, but they did have honey. There was also a spread of different breads, juices, and yogurt.

We had a balcony overlooking the intersection, so it was interesting just watching the people below. The only negative was that residents in the building across smoked all the time (as does most of Greece it seems), so a lot of it wafted over toward the hotel. As a result, we pretty much had to keep our balcony window closed most of the time, even until well after midnight. If smoke doesn’t bother you, then it won’t be a problem.

We also left our luggage with them on the day we checked out—they have a supply room in the back, so it’s more secure than them just leaving it in the lobby.

Not sure we’d come back again. It wasn’t a bad hotel, but we’d probably try and find someplace nicer next time.

Misc stuff: There are a lot of strikes in Greece that affect everything from metros, ferries, and planes. Staying updated with the latest developments will help you minimize changes to your itinerary.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbuaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Good hotel with breakfast. We stayed 4 in a room and facilties were relatively basic but did have a fridge. Toiletries were also provided. The road the hotel is on is fine as is the surrounding area during the day. However at night areas either side of the hotel are seedy and suggest you keep a street map with you in case you lose your bearings. Good eatering places just north of Omonia Square and well as shopping and central market to south-east side of Omonia, Easy walk to the 2 metro stations either side of the hotel and small supermarket opposite. One can easily walk to all the main sights from the hotel which is also a good way to see the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Delphi Art Hotel
#84 of 326 in Athens
272 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
457 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#86 of 326 in Athens
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#80 of 326 in Athens
574 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#106 of 326 in Athens
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achillion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achillion Hotel

Property: Achillion Hotel
Address: 32 Agiou Konstadinou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Achillion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Achillion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing