We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute rip off.. Don't even consider going..”
Review of Neos Rigas

Neos Rigas
Ranked #2,700 of 3,718 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Plaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute rip off.. Don't even consider going..”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The food was terrible, the service was terrible and it was the most expensive meal ($35 euro/per person) we've had in Greece. Beers ($7 euro) what a rip off.. There are plenty of other better places to go..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Think again”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family was looking for an authentic Greek dancing experience and were recommended to the establishment by our hotel. At 35 Euros, I thought it to be exceptionally expensive for the experience- considering that an excellent meal can be bought in a Taverna for 15 Euros. the Greek Dancing was interesting but there was too little authentic Greek dancing and too much allowance of intoxicated tourists trying to emulate the Greek dancing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
287 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“This is more an attraction, not a restaurant”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This place is open at 2100 and show starts at 2130.

You don't need to order the X course meal ( according to my guidebook, it costs 35 euro including the show)
I ordered only a small bottle of wine and paid 18 euro. As I was a solo traveler, they gave me a small table right next to the stage, which is nice because I could see the dancers very close, but bad thing was I had to watch their backs most of times :D

The show really starts at 2130. Don't be late. There were break-like several times in between, it must have been because dancers had to change their costumes. While dancers were away from stage, other singers perform for audience. Also the singers and MC try to bring as many guests as they can up to the stage to dance all together.
A beautiful belly dancer also performed a little and teased men on the stage after she picked up some.

The show lasts till nearly 0:00 but don't leave before 23:30. You can watch "Syrtaki" only after 23:30.

If you wanna try delish greek food, this won't be the one but come here for the show. You should book a better table in advance but I just walked in. It was almost FULL ! So hurry if you know that you go to Athens.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Greek dancers!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Come mentally prepared to dance on stage. The dancers are so skilled, and they dance the whole night, (don't miss the "Sorba el griego" at the very end) and during the pause to change the customs, you have the live group who is singing and playing traditional Greek music. The most remarkable thing is as far as they noticed we are from Mexico, they sang "Cielito Lindo"! And invited me on stage to sing! You will eat in the mid time... They serve you red wine and a sample of a variety of dishes as appetizer, and after the main dish chicken or beef with a delicious touch of spices. Unforgettable experience, I can't wait to come next time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Maricarmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
226 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“If you want Greek dancing and singing while you eat...”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

...then this place is well worth a visit.

Right in the centre of tourist-magnet Plaka, here is a restaurant that makes sure you get the full-on Greek singing and dancing experience - and the food is more than tolerable as well.

The routine is polished and obviously well-worn over the years - a session band, complete with three pub singers and a wide range of waiters/waitresses doubling up with the dancing bit - and the dance platform is big enough for them to drag you onto the dais for a turn yourself - so be warned and pick your seats with caution...!

A great place for a laugh and a decent meal. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JLloydLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neos Rigas also viewed

 

Been to Neos Rigas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing