We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant unique in the area.”
Review of Neos Rigas

Neos Rigas
Ranked #3,079 of 3,971 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Plaka
Munchenbernsdorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant unique in the area.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The restaurant Neos Rigas may not have top class food but it has excellent live music and folkloric dancers. The service is very fast and the food traditional and decent. The prices are not the cheapest of the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Klaus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    12
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs....”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place is a complete rip off...the food was terrible. I ordered the lamb which on arrival proved to be the worst cut, the potatoes had a film on them where they had obviously been left standing and the peas and carrots were stone cold all the way through. The waiter was very rude and spent a lot of time looking down my dress. The place is filled with tour groups. The entertainment is okay but nothing out of the ordinary and not very traditional. On top of that our bill was 35euro each plus our 2 drinks (coke and a beer) which came to the grand total of 85euro. I don't mind paying that sort of money for a decent meal but this was terrible. I felt annoyed that we had been completely ripped off as they obviously think that tourists are 'stupid.' Avoid....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute rip off.. Don't even consider going..”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The food was terrible, the service was terrible and it was the most expensive meal ($35 euro/per person) we've had in Greece. Beers ($7 euro) what a rip off.. There are plenty of other better places to go..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Think again”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family was looking for an authentic Greek dancing experience and were recommended to the establishment by our hotel. At 35 Euros, I thought it to be exceptionally expensive for the experience- considering that an excellent meal can be bought in a Taverna for 15 Euros. the Greek Dancing was interesting but there was too little authentic Greek dancing and too much allowance of intoxicated tourists trying to emulate the Greek dancing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“This is more an attraction, not a restaurant”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This place is open at 2100 and show starts at 2130.

You don't need to order the X course meal ( according to my guidebook, it costs 35 euro including the show)
I ordered only a small bottle of wine and paid 18 euro. As I was a solo traveler, they gave me a small table right next to the stage, which is nice because I could see the dancers very close, but bad thing was I had to watch their backs most of times :D

The show really starts at 2130. Don't be late. There were break-like several times in between, it must have been because dancers had to change their costumes. While dancers were away from stage, other singers perform for audience. Also the singers and MC try to bring as many guests as they can up to the stage to dance all together.
A beautiful belly dancer also performed a little and teased men on the stage after she picked up some.

The show lasts till nearly 0:00 but don't leave before 23:30. You can watch "Syrtaki" only after 23:30.

If you wanna try delish greek food, this won't be the one but come here for the show. You should book a better table in advance but I just walked in. It was almost FULL ! So hurry if you know that you go to Athens.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neos Rigas also viewed

 

Been to Neos Rigas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing