We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”
Review of Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rio Hotel
Ranked #267 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I cannot accept that as a full fare paying family of guests in this hotel we had to have our air conditioning frequently switched off remotely by the owner whose best attempt at an apology was that "it was very expensive to run". We visited Athens in the height of summer, only to wake up feeling hot and uncomfortable because the air-conditioning had been switched off by the owner in the early hours of the morning. Having to go down to reception and keep asking for the air conditioning to our room to be switched back on doesn't make for good hospitality.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SMREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    34
    35
    39
    82
See reviews for
56
52
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Booked through website wholesaler thinking was a 3 star hotel. Maybe other rooms were but the room we were in was hostel accom and no way 3 star. Bathroom so small that to go to toilet had to squeeze against wall to shut door.Shower flooded. Floor was dirty and supposed double bed was more 3/4 single and very uncomfortable to sleep with 2 people. The ? owner "George" was so rude when asking about room and breakfast I was actually shocked. Have travelled all over the world and stayed in some grungy places but have never experienced rudeness like that.
I was told you get what you pay for. Well don't bother paying a single cent as it is not worth it.
Breakfast supposed to be included but did not start till 8.00 am and they would not even leave out a bowl of cereal. I do not know of any morning tour in Athens that starts that late. Do nyourself a favour and avoid this hotel/hoste.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel was in a great location, because it was literally visible as we walked out of the metro station. We loved the location. Although it was notnear the city center (or we havent discovered what was nearby), the hotel was on the same metro line as Acropolis and within maybe 3 or 4 stops. We loved the accessibility of it.
When it comes to the hotel itself, however, it looked great on the outside, but was fairly run down on the inside. The elevtar was oldschool, the chip card key didnt work, so we were given just a normal key, the AC did not work, and the shower water drained very slowly, so that it started overflowing in the middle of the shower.
As for a place to stay though it was clean and oferred free breakfast and, most importantly, it is so close to the metro, you cant do much better than this.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank akapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

More like a hostel than a hotel. Beds weren't made and the room was a bit gross, but really seems like most of the hotels in Athens aren't that great for the budget. You get what you pay for and its not awful.

Suggest this place for people who don't care for luxury, and just want a place to rest their head in a safe place.
Definitely not suited if people dont want hostels.

In a smoking room even though specifically asked otherwise, but I think everywhere in Greece people smoke and there's no such thing as non-smoking.

Don't be fooled by decent looking lobby and building structure, it's definitely not as nice inside.

I didn't have cockroaches and ants, but I can understand that they'd be there for tohers.
Good for the price!

Even though you pay for the wifi, 1euro for 1 hour, the internet keeps cutting out and is dreadfully slow. Don't bother unless you want to quickly check your emails, otherwise a rip off.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nellosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

If you like cockroaches and aunts crawling all over your stuff and you when your sleeping then this is ur place. Personally the only time i expect this type of accomodation is when i am camping and even at that i have never stayed in those conditions. The man at the front was moody and chain smoked. They never answered their phone when we were expecting a call. Took half an hour for a friend to get through to us. After being changed rooms once we thought we could rough it and tried to stay... On the second day we packed up our stuff and carried them down the street to the Stanley hotel. If you want to stay in this neighbour hood then stay at the stanley its a few bucks more and you get WAY more and are not scared to see whats in your shower....

Room Tip: there is no good room... stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I don't even know where to start ... This hotel is so horrible that I am writing this review while I'm still in Athens. I have no idea how this hotel is a 3 star. It really should be a negative star. It was such a horrible experience that we had to leave after 2 nights: the disgusting old men, horrible service and uncleanliness. When we first arrived, the lights to our room didn't work, then our toilet wasn't functional. Therefore, they gave us another room. However, upon entering the 2nd room we noticed left over soap in the shower from the previous guest, our phone and fridge didn't work, then we were welcomed by ants in our luggage and on the bed. Finally, the last straw was the cockroaches. This place is disgusting and filthy. If you want to come for an adventure then be sure to check out this nasty place. Please, please do not come. Even the breakfast was disgusting. The bread was hard as a rock like croutons.

Room Tip: Stay AWAY!!!!! There is not a single good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Accessible and convenient location that is 5 minutes away from the metro station but unsafe neighborhood. Rooms are uncleaned when arrived. There were papers left in the drawer from the last user. Packing of soap was opened. Broken equipment in bathroom. Decent breakfast was served from 8-10am, but wasn't sure how long the breakfast tray has been prepared. Wrong information has been given when asked how to reach to certain destination. Wasted the whole morning because of that. Did not expect too much due to the low prices, but what had expected was the cleanliness of the room and it certainly did not meet the expectation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabizrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#183 of 326 in Athens
122 reviews
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#227 of 326 in Athens
213 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#147 of 326 in Athens
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Achillion Hotel
#111 of 326 in Athens
365 reviews
Golden City Hotel
#243 of 326 in Athens
241 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#221 of 326 in Athens
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Hotel

Property: Rio Hotel
Address: 13 Odysseos Street | Karaiskaki Square, Athens 10436, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the quiet pedestrian street of Κaraiskaki Square, this hotel is next to Metaxourghio Metro Station and the railway station. The multilingual staff are available 24 hours each day.Housed in a fully air-conditioned restored neoclassical building, the guest rooms include minibar, satellite TV and private bathroom with hairdryer. Complimentary ouzo is offered to all guests upon arrival.The Bar-Restaurant on the ground floor provides the ideal place in which to relax enjoying refreshments, food and pleasant music. It serves many kinds of drinks and Greek specialities until well after midnight.Hotel Rio Athens enjoys a strategic location just 1km from Syntagma Square, 15km from the port of Piraeus and 35km from the Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport. Wireless Internet Hotspot is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing