We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Adonis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adonis Hotel
Ranked #113 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 24 July 2013

stayed for two night it was perfect.all the sights was on the doorstep. the room was excellent. the staff and management was very very helpful could not have choses better.the breakfast was very good will stay again next year .thank you adonis hotel for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here in 2011, and we were just as thrilled during this return trip to Athens.The Adonis has the classy and romantic ambiance of a bygone area. . . it's as though you have stepped into the Europe of the 1920s or 30s. (Do not stay here if you are looking for big or brash.)

The location on a quiet street just minutes from Plaka is a perfect base from which to explore Athens. Moreover, not only is the Acropolis just a short walk from the hotel, but the hotel's roof top terrace provides a stunning panoramic view of the Acropolis which you can marvel at every morning while enjoying your coffee (and complimentary and delicious buffet breakfast).

The staff here are fantastically kind and helpful. If you are lucky enough to come here while George is working, you will know that the Greek gods have truly smiled upon you. George is a kind of magician -- for he will answer any question, solve any problem, and handle virtually any request in record time, both graciously and expeditiously.

The rooms are cozy; showers hot; and, after paying for your accommodations, you will still have enough euros left to go around the corner to one of the suggested restaurants for a home cooked Greek feast.

Highly recommended! We will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jzissis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have been to Athens multiple times in the past few years and always return here, where each experience excels in every aspect. The roof top terrace boasts an unparalled view of the Acropolis mornings for breakfast and evenings for cocktails. The central location minutes from Plaka is unbeatable for access to all of Athens whether by taxi, metro or on foot. If you have come to Athens to see the Acropolis, you will be delighted that it is just a short walk from the hotel. Staff are personable and exceedingly helpful and responsive to requests, whether you need restaurant recommendations, contact with your hotel in the islands, or transportation to the airport. Yiannis is the epitome of hospitality and he will bend over backwards to ensure your complete satisfaction during your stay. For budget-minded travellers, this hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samiotisa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I last stayed here 24 years ago, but after a quick check on Trip Advisor decided to return with our daughter. The location is fabulous - located in a quiet pedestrian street just metres from the Plaka, Syntagma Square etc, and with fabulous views from the rooftop terrace.

The room was basic - at the back of the hotel and overlooking some offices. The bathroom was very small and the greatest annoyance was that there was no holder for the shower hose. we managed to rig up a coat hanger on the shower railing with the shower head hooked through this. Perhaps a hand held shower is the norm in Greece, but not for us!

We arrived about 10pm and that night was very hot - the room temperature did not drop below 27 degrees all night. The air con unit was blowing air, but the air was not being cooled. I found this temperature too hot for a good night's sleep. We raised this next morning and a serviceman was called and the unit fixed - no problem with it at all after that.

We did not experience the issue mentioned by other reviewers of having to ask reception to turn air con on. Ours went whenever our key tag was inserted in the slot inside the room.

There was only one power socket in the room - which really was a major inconvenience when there were three of us with mobile phones, laptops and camera to charge and the sockets only operated when we were in the room. We attempted to use the socket that the TV was connected to (about two metres up the wall) but this did not work (neither did the television). On checking out we mentioned this (and the two light bulbs that needed replacing) and were told that there was a trick to getting the TV to work. If that's the case, they should have a note in the room - or better still, fix it!

The roof terrace was a lovely spot for an evening drink and for breakfast and was staffed by friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was good. Cold meat, cheese and hard boiled eggs, fruit, yoghurt and cereal and tea & coffee.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Good wifi available.

Although we had a few issues, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CactusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is all you need if you are on a budget and just want a clean room and central location. Only a five minute walk to Plaka and the Syntagma Metro station. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Thanks to Yianni who was a great help whenever we needed information. Free WiFi including rooms which was handy. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stash_019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed there for 4 days. It is a small hotel close to Acropolis. The view from the rooftop where the restaurant is locates is wonderful. The breakfast was simple, always the same, but fresh and sufficient. The staff was very nice and helpful.
The rooms were good, clean with shower, toilette TV and A/C. View from my room wasn't pleasant...I saw only the wall of the next building but I didn't mind it because who comes to Athens to stay in the room?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janqaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Adonis Hotel and loved it. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooftop terrace spectacular (great Acropolis view), and location excellent. We would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was simple, but delicious. The only downfall was that there was only 1 outlet in the entire room, so for the 3 of us it was a little tricky in the morning. The street was very quiet, and only 10 minutes walking distance to the Acropolis, 5 minutes to the market, and fantastic restaurants everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cp6320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 285 in Athens
508 reviews
Plaka
Adrian Hotel
Adrian Hotel
#71 of 285 in Athens
389 reviews
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#95 of 285 in Athens
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#94 of 285 in Athens
195 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 285 in Athens
1,845 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#58 of 285 in Athens
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Hotel

Address: Kodrou & Vouls Streets Chrissostomou 3, Athens 105 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £45 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adonis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Adonis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Hotel Athens
Hotel Adonis Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing