We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adonis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adonis Hotel
Ranked #120 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

very quiet, good location , breakfast included great view of the Acropolis, good value for the price it is quaint, the room I had I loved the bathroom was very nice , bed comfortable , just liked it have stayed there off and on for years

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    168
    115
    41
    24
See reviews for
77
161
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had two rooms: a double and a single. A first comment concerns the staff: from front desk, to cleaning staff to breakfast staff - all very friendly and helpful. The front desk helped us with restaurants, reservations and tips about visiting Athens. These tips were invaluable.
The hotel is clean, superbly located on a quiet street and very reasonably priced. The rooms are small, but comfortable. Bathrooms are also small but for short stays this is not an inconvenience.
Overall, we recommend this hotel for excellent price/quality ratio. Hard to beat.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view, lower floors do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cousins1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Walking distance from Acropolis and city center, free rooftop breakfast overlooking the Acropolis, friendly staff, good sized room with balcony. Great stay! Super convenient, ideal hotel for a short period of stay. Great deal for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Following my stay at the Adonis hotel, I can genuinely highlight my satisfaction. The guidelines of the hotel staff and especially the hotel manager Stelios Dervos were the most helpful I've seen in the last 2 years in Athens. The room cleanliness was well-accounted for and all the hotel facilities had good value for their price. The city itself is an absolute gem, a sharp connection of old tradition and the post-modern society. Their best point: drinks at the bar, try the Muay Thai cocktail and you'll definitely won't be disappointed. Will definitely recommend and try again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a fairly good stay at the Adonis for 3 nights. Location is very good for restaurants and sight seeing. When we first arrived at the train station nobody could help us with directions, even the local police. We eventually gave up and jumped into a cab , he needed to make a call as well. As it turned out the hotel was an easy 5 minute walk away. Lesson learnt , google and write down directions before arriving.
The reception was friendly and efficient on arrival. The breakfast was good as was the view.
Down side - the shower was so small that my husband had to open the shower door to wash his feet. The walls are very thin and you continually hear the other guests. It's a shame that others do not have consideration and continually slam doors and talk very loud in the foyer areas.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a great little hotel with friendly service. After 8 days of touring the Greek islands, I was sick from two 10 hour ferry rides from Santorini (Ferry schedules are erratic and inconvenient). Had to nap a lot, and the staff was kind when I needed hot tea to drink (I brought my own tea bags; they gave me the cup and hot water.

Fabulous little street with art galleries, souvenir shops and restaurants right around the corner! Take the street to the end and you start climbing the Acropolis (12 Euros to go to the windy top)! Walk to the Temple of Zeus! (2 Euros) However, it closed 15 minutes before I arrived (2:45), so I looked over the wall.

From the port of Piraeus, take the train (1.40 Euros) (You can see the train station as it is near the pedestrian bridge) to Monastiraki station. It is a 20 minute walk. Take Mitropoleos Street, passing the big church on your right, continuing to Voulis Str. Turn right onto Voulis Street and follow up the hill. You will see a Parking garage on your right. Adonis Hotel is on the left past that.

Stay AWAY from Omonia train station. Pickpockets.

Hotel Adonis is also two blocks from Syntagma square bus and trains. Go inside the train entrance and find a cute little Greek market selling honey, facial masks, snacks, ouzo and other Greek spirits. Free samples!

Take the X95 bus (5 Euros) to the airport from Syntagma square. It runs 24 hours a day. Buy your ticket at the ticket booth on the sidewalk on the south side of the square. Ride is 40 minutes.

The only think that stunk was the hotel's rooftop bar was closed. It was only open for breakfast.

Stay IN Plaka district to avoid getting robbed.

Room Tip: I wanted a room on the upper floors, but since the Greek ferry schedule changed my arrival time, I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaOrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just a quick note to say that I've stayed at the Adonis Hotel before while visiting Athens. So I had no hesitation in recommending it to two different sets of friends that have gone and 'are' going. I had kept the hotels info so I called them to book for my friends. They remembered me, were as pleasant as I remembered, and now my friends will be staying at this cute little hotel on it's quiet safe little cobblestoned alleyway right in the Plaka. They had heard me say how close to everything it was, how friendly and caring the reception team of Niko, Giorgio and Spiro were and of course, the nighttime bar/lounge view of the Acropolis was what they wanted.

Room Tip: If you want a room for 3 then you can get up on the 4th floor and see the Acropolis.(However, you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbeachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#122 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#86 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#124 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#91 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#102 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Hotel

Property: Adonis Hotel
Address: Kodrou & Vouls Streets Chrissostomou (Plaka) 3, Athens 105 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adonis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Adonis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Hotel Athens
Hotel Adonis Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing