We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in the King George Palace our last night in Greece. We had arrived in Greece with an itinerary that included Athens, Mykonos, and Santorini. Our first few days were spent in Athens where we stayed in a hotel that my nanny had suggested (she lives in Greece over the summer). It was not quite what we had in mind and we decided when we arrived back in Athens from Santorini we would stay in a more upscale hotel. We were not disappointed. It was elegantly appointed, had all the modern conveniences we were looking for, comfortable bedding, I think even heated floors in the bathroom if I am not mistaken. This is definitely where we would stay again when visiting Athens! I marked that we stayed here in Sept of 2012 because that was the latest option but really it was quite some time ago.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Withloveparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    150
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
162
405
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

stayed at this nice elegant hote for two nights. Staff provide very good service. Room is great .. Restaurant at 7th floor offer excellent food with wonderful view of Arcopolis !!!! Personally I think is Mandatory to dine there for dinner !!!
However, the gym facilities at this hotel is so unbelievable bare !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobosapiensSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Inconspicuously located between the GB and the NJV hotels is the King George - unassuming and somewhat shy looking from the street - a few paces into the lobby and you cross a threshold to another world and time- this hotel IS SPECTACULAR !!
Recently renovated and reopened in June 2013- the paint is still fresh,the linen crisp and the staff are the best we have come across.
This IS a Palace- the rooms are big as are the bathrooms.
We requested and paid for an upgrade to an Acropolis view and balcony room and it was well worth it.
Athens awakes at your doorstep, the Evzones change guard on the hour at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier,people go about their business ,there was even a protest ( a quiet and orderly one at that)and then the city transforms at dusk and then to night into an inviting metropolis of restaurants and bars or simply a walk though the streets without the heat and sun- it's when Athenians enjoy themselves.
The acropolis memorises all visitors from close by - at the foot of the Parthenon - and from afar.
From the balcony you feel you could reach out and touch it , such is its presence.
All aspects of the hotel are exceptional, I'll try not to leave anything out- check in and check out,door staff,reception staff, concierge , housekeeping,breakfast(included in our room rate) was amazing - so much variety and everything plentiful right up to the 11 finish( and you are not hurried- they even come past for last drinks/coffees just on 11am. Continuing- the staff of the Tudor Room( hotel restaurant) the ambiance of the room and lobby, the air-con,the bath towels ,the shower (even though I don't like a shower head over a bath) the bed ( a King )- everything !
It is light and bright, new and refreshing.
It is truly a Palace, and we were made to feel it was our Palace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spartan302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Truly enjoyed our stay here for several reasons:
-excellent and very friendly service
- great location, the bar/restaurant on the 7th floor overlooking the Acropolis (as well as the square in front of parliament, where we saw the demonstrations against the government, weird doing that from a luxury hotel...)
- extensive and exquisite breakfast (even got to do a "honey tasting")
- might be the most comfortable bed I ever slept in

Only flaw was a poorly equipped gym, but they seemed to be working on that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the King George Palace very much - a bit pricey, but really did not compare to others so might be inline. The location is wonderful - nice view of the Acropolis from the restaurants, walk out the door to the Plaka section of town. We like our room to be COOL - and this was one of the few hotels with central air that kept the room consistently cool. Loved that part. Food at sister-hotel next door was fantastic (roof top restaurant) - also a bit pricey - spent $177 euro for the two of us but had $45 euro bottle of wine as well. If you want a great site seeing experience all packed into one day contact Sotos at taxisotos@hotmail.com. We just stumbled across him. He wore us out with an 8am to 4pm tour of the city all for $180 euro.

Room Tip: Our room had NO view - looked into a courtyard - so if you can get a room with a view for the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I walked into this hotel and was treated like royalty from the moment you walk in.
I was told I had my very own butler to use at my leisure. I dont travel alone and felt rather strange...well in minutes my thoughts of being strange dimished. The service was fantastic. The staff had attention to detail. The views are iconic... I dont think you will find a better view at night..and so romantic. the rooms were cozy plush and made me feel vibrant alive and I could have lived there forever....This hotel yes please

Room Tip: great location and very very special sights seen from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at the King George for three nights in early June, just after it opened. The location is perfect - right on Sintagma Square, an easy walk or taxi ride to the main attractions. The hotel is also easily accessible from the airport (we took the metro directly, and it was a breeze, even with our luggage. The service was excellent - we arrived at midnight and were checked in quickly and upgraded to a gorgeous suite. We have stayed at a few luxury properties and this was among the best. Size, comfort, character -- our suite had it all. We also enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant with panoramic views of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaterinaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing