We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury in the heart of Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh
Level Contributor
409 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“True luxury in the heart of Athens”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is amazing. The room furnature is a classical master piece, staff is very helpful and nice. Breakfast buffet is very good. TV channels are plentiful with so many languages. The view on the square and the Parlimant is very nice. Free internet in the lobby and breakfast area.

Negatives:
No free interent in the room
Room is noisy due to location on Syntagma square

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almaziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    158
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
173
420
38
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the King George Palace in Athens. The hotel lobby was beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant (Tudor) was absolutely gorgeous, with a view of the Acropolis/Parthenon. We enjoyed the included breakfast, which was lavish and delicious.

The only negative was the bathroom. The shower was only hand held by the bathtub,not mounted on the wall. This made it difficult for me to shower and wash my hair. Other than that, the hotel was perfectly situated and lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a modern shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
356 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

From the moment we stepped out of our limo everything was first class. The reception area is manned by very attentive staff, as it proved during this two night stay and a subsequent two night stay at the end of our cruise of the Greek Isles and Turkey.

Unfortunately my luggage went astray in Heathrow but my wife's made it. We had originally booked to have dinner that evening at the roof top restaurant next door at the sister hotel Grande Bretagne, but dressed as I was in clothes that I had travelled in from Florida I was having second thoughts, maybe room service, but the front desk called up and it was no problem....kudos as it was a fantastic evening with some great photos of the Acropolis and the Sunset.

As others have already identified, this hotel has undergone a major upgrade and it shows. They knew that we were going to be staying at the hotel and the General Manager, Tim Ananiadis, looked after us especially well as we were celebrating our Golden Wedding year.

Great service and surroundings only make this a come back to hotel if you are in Athens. The location cannot be beaten, take in the local markets, walk down to Plaka or Monastraki and stop to have a coffee and take in the wonderful people watching from tourists to locals.

On our return stay we had room 101, fantastic view of the Syntagma area with a balcony to view it from. Total class and a second big Kudo to my namesake joseph, I cannot spell it in greek, at the reception desk as he rememberd both of us from our prior visit and politely acknowledged us with a welcome back Mr and Mrs D..........

We will return, in fact we will probably look for more cruises out of Piraeus just to spend some quality time at the King George.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the front with a balcony overlooking Syntagma Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouser1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We ( a group of 7 ) stayed here for 2 nights and had a great experience. Our rooms were very comfortable and the beds were amazing. We took the train from the airport and got off in Syntagma Square and there was the hotel ! It couldn't have been more convenient. The hotel recently underwent a major renovation and it really shows. Beautiful lobby and public areas. The first night we had dinner in the Tudor restaurant with the amazing views of the Acropolis and it was perfect. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. The next morning we had the most wonderful breakfast buffet with so many choices it was impossible to try even half of the items. The view was again amazing. The staff was helpful and attentive. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Syntagma Square and parliament .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksall31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very handy position, right near the ancient part of the city. Great view of the Acropolis from the restaurant. Comfortable rooms. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant, from the concierge to the doormen. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
608 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

When we walked in to the hotel this time, the lobby felt and looked different as everything just sparkled and Reception was more helpful.

We stayed in room 301 that had a view of Syngmata Square and Parliament the view was not as good as from room 101.

Rooms and bathrooms have been renovated since our stay a little over a year ago and are quite comfortable. The refresh was nicely done.

Nothing has changed in Tudor Hall the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is still very good with lots of choices. Dinner was enjoyable with a view of the Acropolis.

For restaurants you might want to try Strofi and Dioysos with fantastic views of the Acropolis. Take a taxi though as the walk is mostly all uphill and the taxi costs on $6.

As always there was a peaceful demonstration going on and a strike so that you couldn't visit the Acropolis. A reason for a return visit! :-)

Room Tip: 101 and 301 are on the front side of the building overlooking Syngmata Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a two night stay in one of the deluxe suites. While I have not stayed at the hotel previously and can't comment on how it may have rated before, the hotel has undergone a major renovation this year. There has also been a change of management and it is now under the same management as the adjacent Grande Bretagne. Having read the earlier reviews on this property, it is safe to say that any perceived shortcomings therein have been eliminated.

The lobby is beautifully finished in marble, a material used liberally throughout the building. The suite we stayed in had superb furniture and fixtures. Everything about the place showed a commitment to maintain the very highest standards. That commitment also was evident in the standard of service. The staff was extremely helpful and delightful in any interaction without exception.

Breakfast was served in the strangely named Tudor Hall restaurant. The external seating area provided a lovely view of the acropolis. The interior area was gorgeous. The food and service was flawless.

I found nothing at all to criticize. If you care to read some of the other reviews I've posted to this site, you will see that I don't hesitate to point out problems where they exist. This place is as close to perfection as I have encountered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the King George Hotel. Reviews such as yours keep us motivated to exceed our guests’ expectations every single time and offer the highest possible service. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing