We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Luxurious high end hotel right in the city centre. Very comfortable and very classy rooms, in 19th style, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. I would particularly recommend this to couples as it has a very romantic ambience.

Room Tip: Classy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriannMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after recently staying at the King George hotel. It was a true pleasure to read that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    150
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
162
405
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have now stayed multiple times at the King George hotel. It is almost as good as the Grande Bretagne. Yet you can get better deals from King George, e.g., 25% cheaper. Clearly the location is as good. It is Syntagma Sq, which is well connected to the airport by both metro and coach (X95). It is of course well located with respect to main tourist sites such as the Acropolis, various museums and the Plaka district. The services are excellent. In fact, as a boutique hotel, you can more personal recognition, as you walk in and out of the hotel. The breakfast is very good. The rooftop at Grande Bretagne is better; but I take the cheaper deal :-) The rooms are well-kept and well-designed.

Room Tip: The rooms in the higher floors are brighter. This is to be expected. But it makes a significant diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review after recently staying at the King George hotel. It was a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wow - I loved the King Geroge Hotel. It isn't "cheap" but you really get treated like a king, or queen....

The good stuff:
1. The bed is the real stand-out. So comfortable, the pillows are nice and firm while the linens are just pure luxury. I didn't want to get out of bed and will be upgrading my bed at home!
2. The whole hotel is very high end, right from the entrance lobby through the corridors and into the bedroom. Our room had a wonderful chandelier and excellent furnishings.
3. The breakfast is in the Tudor Restaurant which has amazing views across to the Parthenon. The restaurant is very high end, the service was warm and friendly and the food first rate.

The bad stuff? I can't think of anything other than there is no swimming pool (you can use for free the pool in the hotel next door (also a Starwood Hotel) and I couldn't find tea//coffee making in the room.

I would love to stay again, the hotel is a bit more expensive than other hotels in Athens but I think you get so much more for your money. I loved it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent - if you want a view of the city square it costs a bit more. We took a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for dedicating time to write your review after recently staying at the King George hotel. It was lovely reading your positive comments about a pleasant time spent at the hotel. Regarding the tea & coffee making facilities, we are happy to inform you that this is available upon request. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is in a prime location, in the centre of Athens and the perfect place to stay for a weekend away. Just steps away from all the sights, and shopping. The team on the Front Desk were very welcoming and accommodating, and suggested a couple of great local restaurants, nearby. Our room was small, and faced into an inner courtyard, but was very well appointed and quiet. Highlight was the great breakfast location, overlooking the Acropolis. It was a lovely way to start the day, in a sunny rooftop conservatory, enjoying a hearty breakfast. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guytraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Top notch rooms, appointments class operation all the way. It is in great location close to shopping, the Acropolis and next to a wonder plaza. The staff were darlings, they answered our many questions with grace and a smile. Smiled at my attempts to say thank you in Greek and the restaurant staff even remembered our morning drinks from day to day. We loved the King George.

Room Tip: Ours was in front and close to the street. There was music until midnight in the park, wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here a for a few days in June 2013 soon after the hotel opened. We used our stay in Athens as a jumping off point for a long trip. We loved the hotel and after a long day of travel, the plush accommodations were a lovely luxury. We were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely fantastic and well appointed with antique pieces. They didn't appear to skimp anywhere - even the soaps, etc were of good quality. (That is a pet peeve of mine - nice hotel's, cheap soap). Our stay felt truly luxurious.

We did not take a meal in the dining room which overlooks the Acropolis, but the view was lovely. Its central location was great. An easy walk to attractions, food, coffee, shopping. We felt safe walking at night and went next door to the adjacent hotel for roof top drinks each night (GREAT!). Also, I took advantage of the free internet in the lobby and had help from the staff for arranging restaurants. All the staff we encountered were most pleasant, helpful and patient as we asked for advice.

The gym is small so I ran outside and felt safe doing so. If I had one note to the hotel, it would be - the lights in our room were surprisingly confusing. A note card or a staff person to explain at the beginning of the stay might be useful. But perhaps we were just jet lagged?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. It was a real pleasure reading that your experience with us was an enjoyable one. Regarding your note about the in room lights, this has been discussed with the Executive Housekeeping Manager in order to make any changes necessary and accommodate our guests in every way possible. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicosia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

i have stayed at King George on business numerous times. it is by far my favorite hotel in Athens. it cannot be faulted on any grounds.. rooms are luxurious and unique , they are filled with antiques and give you a feeling of being immersed in a different era , the dining/ breakfast terrace with a view of the Acropolis is to die for.. the breakfast among the best i have had in any hotel and includes local specialities.. service is immaculate, location could not be more central.. all in all one of my favorite city hotels in the world..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mardi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing