We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay almost spoiled by annoying details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice stay almost spoiled by annoying details”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The building is beautiful and very well decorated. I found it nicer than the Hotel Grande Bretagne, just next door. The room was nice and the bathroom was good. Breakfast, which was good, with such a stunning view over the Acropolis is a very good way of starting the day. On the positive side, I also wish to refer the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.

On the negative side there was a persistent bad smell in the room which lasted for the four days I stayed there. The room was also rather noisy and on the first night I was woken up by what sounded like firecrackers. The location on the 7th floor is convenient for the restaurant but noise is the price to pay. Other negative details include the bedside lamps, which did not work, the lights system, which is not user friendly, there is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms and the safe battery was out (not that I intended to use it but the staff member who accompanied me to the room insisted in making a demonstration...)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jccpaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent stay at the King George hotel. It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that our associates contributed towards a pleasant stay. Regarding the incidents you mentioned, these have been discussed with the Executive Housekeeper and the Director of Engineering in order to take action against such occurrences. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Athens and show you that we can serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    157
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
169
407
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The stat in Athens was great!
The hotel, but also the people and the city was fantastic!
We went to the new museum, that was really great!
The hotel service was very good.
It is really a country to return!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a cruise. Had to walk the last 100m to reception from our transport because of a demonstration in the square outside. Check in was slow and tortuous, but our 6th floor room was luxurious with a very comfy bed, lovely linen and a massive well supplied bathroom. We dined at the Tudor hall restaurant on the 7th floor which overlooks the Acropolis, and watched the sun go down and the illuminated hill come to life - fantastic. Dinner food was superb although pricey. Staff were keen to please. Breakfast variety is good, served in the same place, but what awful coffee,- weak, cold, and nasty. Replaced graciously by the staff for piping hot weak nasty coffee. Went out to an adjacent coffee shop to get a fix of proper caffeine! The hotel has fast free wifi in the lobby. If you can avoid the coffee this location is a great central place to say to explore fascinating Athens

Room Tip: Ask for a high front room to see the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yamdrachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused upon check-in and the coffee at breakfast which was not to our satisfaction. We have discussed these issues with the Front Office Manager and the Assistant Restaurant Director in order to take corrective actions where necessary. We hope to be given the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had two stays at this hotel. From the get go, you know that you are in a 5 star establishment. The doorman greets you with a big smile, luggage is whisked away and seamlessly finds its way to your room. The front desk efficiently processes your stay and over time these people become the hotel's best ambassadors. Themis, who is the front desk manager and Sofia were extremely kind to us and of course it does not hurt that we were upgraded both times.

We had breakfasts upstairs on the 7th floor restuarant with the view of the Acropolis. You will enjoy Harry, the waiter, and make sure to have a cappuchino or two or three. Dinner is also excellent.

The sister hotel is the Grande Bretagne next door and we occasionally dined there as well ---also a very well run establishment.

Room service is very efficient and the people who answer the phone never sound like you are troubling them.

Beds, linen and pillows are high quality and very comfortable.

All in all, a highly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We were delighted that you truly enjoyed your time with us and had the opportunity to experience the Tudor Hall restaurant on the 7th floor, taking in the lovely views of Athens from above. Rest assured we will pass on the kind comments to the associates mentioned, who always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. Looking forward to welcome you on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed with my wife last week in room 204 ,deluxe suite with balcony..
Beautiful room with best view of the parliament and syntagma square, very quiet.
Very good breakfast on the 7th floor with the acropolis vista. Very good tea and coffee on the afternoon .
But above off all the best service we had in a hotel ever.
From the bellboy to the receptionist and the waiters at the restaurant all of them where always with a smile and giving you the filling that you are welcome .
I must add that this was our general impression in Athens: nice people with a smile.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony are the best. Syntagma square is busy but the insulation is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlomoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

If you can afford staying here then go for it. It is also worth the extra 60 to 80 $ that you pay extra for staying at this hotel.
The best about this hotel are the staff who are all incredibly friendly and genuinely helpful
The room is of high quality standards and the location is the best. The food and service at the top restaurant is top notch.
The only thing I recommend them to do is to make it more lively in the lobby. It is now a big dead space.
While you are in Athens and you can still afford a nice dinner then you need to book at Funky Gourmet. Almost as good as visiting the Acropolis.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeeF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

first visit to athens as a special birthday suprise trip for my wife and although i had requested room with nice view with tour operator what we got was room 107 which is on the first floor facing into a very small dark courtyard hence you needed all room lighting on to see in the room which to be honest was dissapointing however the rest of the hotel made up for this
somewhat in that every comfort was supplied the bed very comfy,bathroom well equipped with luxury soaps shampoos everything to keep the ladies happy!well stocked mini bar and big soft towels and dressing gowns to finish things off.
The food at all meals is of the highest quality with ample of everything very well presented and little touches from the staff such as toast brought to your table extra tea bag in pot if you like it stronger and with a waiter such as Harry who remembers all your requirements and has such a great sense of humour breakfast is a delight and along with all the staff who are happy helpfull
they are a credit to this hotel,A small tip if you are a steak man try the rib eye it melts in the mouth and is very filling! This hotel reeks of style grandeur and class the furnishings everywhere are top drawer from the marble floors to the paintings and antiques it is in my humble opinion one of the best hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in and if we do return to athens this is where we will stay Thank you all for making our stay so memorable

Room Tip: upper floors to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjtravellergloster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing