We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #6 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here in 2 rooms and both were overlooking the square. The hotel rooms were very nice but the best part is the location of this hotel. It is right across the parliament, walking distance to the Panathenaic Stadium and the Acropolis and the Plaka district.

The restaurant on the top floor was excellent - great service and food. You get a fantastic view of the Acropolis from here so I would recommend dinner. The price was reasonable for a hotel of this caliber.

The gym was very small, but you can use the neighboring hotel's gym which I did not use.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Smack dab in the middle of Athens, The King George provides a great base for any trip in Athens. My family's stay was brief (2 nights) but the service we received in this beautiful hotel was beyond our expectations. Make sure you take time to have dinner or a drink in the Tudor restaurant, you will not be disappointed. And the view of the Acropolis is stunning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thiel045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for one night while transitioning to a cruise ship. It's not cheap, but everything was first class. The sold-out restaurant even accommodated us at a small table meant only for drinks, so we were able to dine on the superb cuisine with a view of the Acropolis. Nice room and attentive, helpful staff. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twebbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the King George hotel. It was a pleasure to read our review and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The first room we checked in had a distinct sewage smell in the bathroom. We closed the door hoping it would go away, but in the morning when we opened it, it was bad. They moved us to a better room with the view of the square and that room was fine, although I could sense just a tiny whiff of the same smell once in awhile in the bathroom. They should really check their plumbing. Other than that and the fact that the razors the hotel provides are cheap and awful, it's a decent hotel. The gym is tiny and there is no spa, but they let you use the spa at the hotel next door, which is amazing. I would highly recommend spending a few hours there (the facilities are free). We stayed there for 5 nights with points, but I would not pay the money to stay there. If cost is not a concern for you, by all means, stay in King George. Just make sure to smell-test the bathroom area before you say yay to the room.

Room Tip: If you pay to stay there, may as well add some to have a room with the view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your review after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. This is certainly not indicative of the usual high standards of the Luxury Collection and for that we are truly sorry. The issue has been discussed with the Engineering Manager and the Executive Housekeeper in order to make sure this does not reoccur. Hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The King George is small and gorgeous, beautifully appointed hotel with lovely spacious rooms. Much smaller but just as luxurious and a little less fussy in style than the Grande Bretagne, the friendly staff sets this hotel apart. Our teenage son left some Pierre Herme macaroons in the mini bar fridge of a room we vacated after the hotel offered us a free upgrade. By the time he remembered, someone else had checked in to that room and had the Do Not Disturb sign on their door. I know the staff tried to rescue the macaroons, intended for a young lady our son was wooing, but alas, the people in the room ate them. However, the hotel presented our son with a larger box of macaroons from Zonar's the next day. Now how's that for hospitality?! By the way, the less expensive rooms are in the back with windows on a courtyard, and are delightfully quiet, compared to the more expensive rooms on Syntagma Square with views of the Acropolis but a lot of traffic noise.

Room Tip: Go for the less expensive rooms with an atrium view which are quite spacious and very quiet. High f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. The rooms, the service, the upstairs restaurant. We used a guide that was recommended by the hotel, and she was great too. The Plaka was walking distance and we enjoyed seeing all of the attractions nearby, Since we had a short stay in Athens, we were able to get in most of the main sights.

Room Tip: We had room 205. A beautiful suite overlooking the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagunakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We were delighted to read about your positive experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I spent four nights here in May. It was our first visit to Athens and we wanted to be central to everything. If you are looking to staying in a high end hotel in the middle of town, this hotel can't be beat. Although the Hotel Bretagne next door is the more well known we preferred the King George because it just isn't as busy with people in and our. The rooms are stunning. Service is impeccable. And as we said, the location is perfect. One note though is if you are staying here make sure to head over to the rooftop bar at the Hotel Bretagne for a nighttime cocktail. The view of the Acropolis is to die for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,744 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £192 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing