We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
826
214
45
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
214
45
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor hallgrande bretagnesister hotelsyntagma squareupgraded to a suitebeautiful hotelparliament buildingrooftop restaurantsitting roomclassic roomadjoining roomsindoor poolfront desk staffperfect locationhistoric sitesan upgradetop floor
Filter
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

In June we took our first cruise and began in Athens. The night before we embarked on our cruise we stayed at the King George. We made the reservations through AmEx Fine Hotels and Resorts. The room was well appointed, very clean and large by European Standards. Bedding was luxurious and mattresses were very comfortable.
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is in the heart of Athens across the street from Parliament and adjacent to all varieties of shopping and tourist destinations. The Acropolis was about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.
The breakfast served in the top floor restaurant which overlooks the Acropolis was outstanding and offered an unending selection of fresh fruits, pastries, breads, meats and eggs.
But the real test of ultimate service came when I arrived at the ship in the Port of Athens and realized I had left my suit coat in a closet in our hotel room.
I called the concierge at the hotel and asked if they could check the room for my coat and if it was found send it to the ship. They found the coat sent it by taxi to the ship and got it to my cabin in time. Now that is service above and beyond.
I highly recommend the King George.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lsl135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice hotel, great location, good accommodations, wonderful breakfast....BUT:
We were "upgraded" to a room with a balcony overlooking the square. Unfortunately, there was a rock concert being held there which went on to almost 1 AM. The pounding drums and bass shook our room. The main function of a hotel is to be able to rest and sleep, which was impossible that night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BobbyDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We arrived in Athens on June 20th and were impressed by the King George's welcoming staff and exceptional accommodations immediately. While the prices at the King George may seem a bit higher than other nice hotels in Athens, the King George is definitely worth your dollar (or euro). We were upgraded to a suite, which included a spacious bedroom with a balcony overlooking the square, large marble bathroom, fresh fruit daily, bottled water, and ouzo! Every request for information or items was handled in professional, polite manner. We even left luggage at the hotel while we explored the islands for five days. Definitely, a five star experience at the King George. We will return for another stay in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank goherd1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. It was a real pleasure to have you with us and we are happy that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the King George for 1 night at the end of our trip using points. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite - the room was gorgeous and fully appointed with everything and anything you might need. We had dinner at the Grand Bretagne next door and breakfast in the Tudor restaurant at the King George and enjoyed the great views of the Acropolis from both hotels. The King George and Grand Bretagne are both Starwood hotels, are located next door to each other in Syntagma Square, and should be ranked the #1 and #2 hotels in Athens. You can't go wrong staying at either. The location is unbeatable and walking distance to the Plaka and Acropolis.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice rooms, very clean, staff very friendly. Adjacent to the Grand Bretagne where you can use their facilities. Beautiful roof top dining room for fantastic breakfast, view of the acropolis. Grand Bretagne is top hotel in Athens and you'll have to pay top dollar - king George is a fantastic affordable alternative if you want high end. Athens is a busy city so coming back to a nice luxury room feels great!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath89_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the fantastic comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We look forward to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews