We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveller rating
823
213
45
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
213
45
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor hallgrande bretagnesister hotelsyntagma squareupgraded to a suitebeautiful hotelparliament buildingrooftop restaurantsitting roomclassic roomadjoining roomsindoor poolfront desk staffhistoric sitesan upgradeperfect locationtop floor
Filter
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

But overall, I found the location to lack much personality. The staff was very nice and the room had a beautiful view of the Acropolis. We had lunch at the restaurant and the food was delicious, but the summer heat made the restaurant about 90 degrees. I was pleased with our stay there, but I would stay somewhere else next time with a more interesting atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FreeTheGirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the King George and had a perfect experience. The staff were ALL FABULOUS. The room was quiet and comfortable. We choose an atrium view, as we have found that street views can be noisy. I can't say if that is true for this hotel. After staying there, next time we will try the view, as it is probably quiet. The bed was very comfortable. I realize that I sound repetitive, but honestly, it was comfortable, comfortable, comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional. We ate in restaurant for dinner, and had room service for desert and it was also exceptional. The location is perfect. Anything they don't have on site, will be right next door in their sister hotel. By this, we needed an ATM, and they had one next door so we didn't have to use one on the street. This was one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed at, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frodo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We couldn't have been happier to stay at the King George, Athens . Quietly elegant lobby and speedy check-in. We had asked for a view room, and we got it. A great view overlooking the square below, and the Acropolis in the distance.
The room was spacious and elegant. Everything well appointed and luxury.
The nice thing about staying at the King George ( which is directly adjacent to the Grand Bretagne) is that we could partake of the Grand Bretagne hotel, bar, restaurants etc. Naturally,we headed up to the fabulous rooftop terrace bar and stayed through an absolutely gorgeous sunset
( with views of the lighted Acropolis ). Such nice service both at cocktail hour, dinner and at breakfast the next morning. Loved everything, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for higher level room , above floor 5, with view of Acropolis .
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthieklomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a wonderful, friendly hotel with marvellous staff. Room service a little slow, but done with such charm that anything could be forgiven. The room was delightful, with a view of the Acropolis and the food in the seventh-floor restaurant exceedingly good. Who would have thought of fennel as a dessert. They also have a group of excellent cab drivers who know their stuff and are prepared to take one anywhere. We are definitely going back! Went for a complimentary drink in the next-door Grande Bretagne while our room was prepared (we had arrived before check-in time) and were very pleased that we had not opted for that. While 'the place to go' it really wasn't nearly as attractive as its sister hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in the city. Excellent location, accommodation, location an d view. Large elegant rooms and one of the most beautiful terraces in Athens with an exquisite restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews