We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
826
214
45
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
214
45
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor hallgrande bretagnesister hotelsyntagma squareupgraded to a suitebeautiful hotelparliament buildingrooftop restaurantsitting roomclassic roomadjoining roomsindoor poolfront desk staffperfect locationhistoric sitesan upgradetop floor
Filter
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. Staff were excellent and even helped us shipped some things back home ( Iosef was incredibly helpful in all our activities).

The vast majority of things we did (shopping, sightseeing, etc) were within walking distance and easily reached.

Definitely a place we will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelbum2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Before i begin my review, i would like to let the readers know that my trip to Greece was a family trip so hotel price is out of my jurisdiction as the big boss did the credit card swiping while the 10 of us either fiddled with their phones or kept track of the 23 luggages coming in or out of the hotel.

Prior to the trip i did research on king geaorge hotel and saw trip advisor guest photos of the bedroom and felt some bedroom photos looked uninviting or outdated so i wondered why my dad had chosen such a hotel (taking into consideration he needs a good bed because of his neck problems) but when i arrived at the hotel, this is what i saw:

Hotel is located right infront of a plaza/park, its exterior looking spick and span with an additional touch of tall, fine looking doormen sporting their latest aviators or whatnots (because the sun can blind the daylight out of you and give you a wonderful tan at the same time). Inside the hotel, you feel a whole lot cooler, the place still as clean as ever you might just be tempted to lie down on their shiny marble floor after a tiring first leg of the trip..resist the temptation though cause their bed is worth sleeping on. the receptionist greet you with a smile (you get an even chirpier greeting if you greet them in a chirpier way first) and theyre fast and efficient.

The bedroom was not outdated. It was actually just how you'd picture the bedroom to be based on the hotels looks. Everything was clean and in order and the bathroom felt just like home (only if your bathroom at home is a vision of beauty)
Their bed and comforter put me at ease and helped me go to sleep fuss free.

Breakfast had a wonderful view... The acropolis! Simple european breakfast enough to get you full and going with no worries of excessive eating that would lead to unnecessary weight gain or th act of unbuttoning your pants to make room for your expanding stomach. There was loaf bread, bagels, cereals, pastries, yogurt, spreads, cheese, scrambled eggs, sauteed mushrooms, etc... Staff at the buffet were friendly and efficient as well.

Location wise, you can take a cab to the acropolis, you can walk down towards the Monastiraki market (best to go on Sunday as weekdays alot of shops are closed) on the way to the market you pass an alley/street that is lined with shops ranging from sephora to h&m to zara, to shops selling swimwear and ladies shoes.
There are lots of cafes and restaurants near by as well as a pharmacy. And for late night snacks theres a mcdonalds to run to (even if its so not european...but beggars cant be choosers especially if you wanna avoid having to deal with HANGRY companions) [hangry: anger caused by hunger]

Staff speak very good english too btw.

So... If youve got money to spend on lodging, id say give King George a go even for just one night. If youve got a small budget then theres still a lot of reasonably priced places to stay in so dont loose hope.

Month of july was very hot. If you left your sunglasses back home i suggest you grab yourself a pair at the airport or a cheap one on one of the street shops cause the sun sure gives a good beating over at greece. Wear comfortable walking shoes and loose clothing. Do not wear jeans. And dont even think about packing anything leather...

Hope this review helped even in the tiniest way. Have a great trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spagsnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We were delighted to read your fantastic and extensive feedback on the hotel as well as tips on Athens in general. Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to the capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

But overall, I found the location to lack much personality. The staff was very nice and the room had a beautiful view of the Acropolis. We had lunch at the restaurant and the food was delicious, but the summer heat made the restaurant about 90 degrees. I was pleased with our stay there, but I would stay somewhere else next time with a more interesting atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FreeTheGirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the King George and had a perfect experience. The staff were ALL FABULOUS. The room was quiet and comfortable. We choose an atrium view, as we have found that street views can be noisy. I can't say if that is true for this hotel. After staying there, next time we will try the view, as it is probably quiet. The bed was very comfortable. I realize that I sound repetitive, but honestly, it was comfortable, comfortable, comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional. We ate in restaurant for dinner, and had room service for desert and it was also exceptional. The location is perfect. Anything they don't have on site, will be right next door in their sister hotel. By this, we needed an ATM, and they had one next door so we didn't have to use one on the street. This was one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed at, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frodo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We couldn't have been happier to stay at the King George, Athens . Quietly elegant lobby and speedy check-in. We had asked for a view room, and we got it. A great view overlooking the square below, and the Acropolis in the distance.
The room was spacious and elegant. Everything well appointed and luxury.
The nice thing about staying at the King George ( which is directly adjacent to the Grand Bretagne) is that we could partake of the Grand Bretagne hotel, bar, restaurants etc. Naturally,we headed up to the fabulous rooftop terrace bar and stayed through an absolutely gorgeous sunset
( with views of the lighted Acropolis ). Such nice service both at cocktail hour, dinner and at breakfast the next morning. Loved everything, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for higher level room , above floor 5, with view of Acropolis .
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthieklomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews