We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #6 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The King George is a beautiful hotel- maintained to perfection!!!! Our stay was wonderful. I can not say enough about the very professional staff. The concierge was tops!!! We travel every year to Greece and this is the first time that we chose the King George Hotel. The room was very spacious - beds were very comfortable. We had adjoining rooms with our children and both rooms were lovely. A perfect stay!!!

Room Tip: I believe any room would be a delight
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel and for expressing your appreciation for the service received. We truly value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
There are newer reviews for King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel location can't be beat - very central with view of the Square and the Acropolis. Beds were super comfy. Hotel decor is dated and old Europe, not quite our style. Thought we'd have a more modern suite. Buffet breakfast is next door - great food and views of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived today to the King George in Athens, It is a lovely hotel and very well maintained. The staff have been very gracious. We arrived around 9 am from cruise ship and our room was not available, however the staff put us in a standard room to rest until our suite was ready. Great location in the middle of shops, attractions, and restaurants!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I literally cannot recommend this hotel enough! We are a family of four and had two rooms - we found the hotel, the staff, the location, the breakfast to be perfect! The hotel is so beautiful and charming - the location perfect for touring the city. The staff was so helpful and we delighted in breakfast each morning on the 7th floor with the view of the Acropolis! Perfect way to begin our Greek vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 2 days in Athens on way to Mykonos and Santorini. The hotels is in a central location close to everything. Just catch a red bus and you can see everything you need to in one day. The room was clean and quiet as you would expect of an SPG property and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Athens. Amazing view of the aropolis from the rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icebull1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. Staff were excellent and even helped us shipped some things back home ( Iosef was incredibly helpful in all our activities).

The vast majority of things we did (shopping, sightseeing, etc) were within walking distance and easily reached.

Definitely a place we will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelbum2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Before i begin my review, i would like to let the readers know that my trip to Greece was a family trip so hotel price is out of my jurisdiction as the big boss did the credit card swiping while the 10 of us either fiddled with their phones or kept track of the 23 luggages coming in or out of the hotel.

Prior to the trip i did research on king geaorge hotel and saw trip advisor guest photos of the bedroom and felt some bedroom photos looked uninviting or outdated so i wondered why my dad had chosen such a hotel (taking into consideration he needs a good bed because of his neck problems) but when i arrived at the hotel, this is what i saw:

Hotel is located right infront of a plaza/park, its exterior looking spick and span with an additional touch of tall, fine looking doormen sporting their latest aviators or whatnots (because the sun can blind the daylight out of you and give you a wonderful tan at the same time). Inside the hotel, you feel a whole lot cooler, the place still as clean as ever you might just be tempted to lie down on their shiny marble floor after a tiring first leg of the trip..resist the temptation though cause their bed is worth sleeping on. the receptionist greet you with a smile (you get an even chirpier greeting if you greet them in a chirpier way first) and theyre fast and efficient.

The bedroom was not outdated. It was actually just how you'd picture the bedroom to be based on the hotels looks. Everything was clean and in order and the bathroom felt just like home (only if your bathroom at home is a vision of beauty)
Their bed and comforter put me at ease and helped me go to sleep fuss free.

Breakfast had a wonderful view... The acropolis! Simple european breakfast enough to get you full and going with no worries of excessive eating that would lead to unnecessary weight gain or th act of unbuttoning your pants to make room for your expanding stomach. There was loaf bread, bagels, cereals, pastries, yogurt, spreads, cheese, scrambled eggs, sauteed mushrooms, etc... Staff at the buffet were friendly and efficient as well.

Location wise, you can take a cab to the acropolis, you can walk down towards the Monastiraki market (best to go on Sunday as weekdays alot of shops are closed) on the way to the market you pass an alley/street that is lined with shops ranging from sephora to h&m to zara, to shops selling swimwear and ladies shoes.
There are lots of cafes and restaurants near by as well as a pharmacy. And for late night snacks theres a mcdonalds to run to (even if its so not european...but beggars cant be choosers especially if you wanna avoid having to deal with HANGRY companions) [hangry: anger caused by hunger]

Staff speak very good english too btw.

So... If youve got money to spend on lodging, id say give King George a go even for just one night. If youve got a small budget then theres still a lot of reasonably priced places to stay in so dont loose hope.

Month of july was very hot. If you left your sunglasses back home i suggest you grab yourself a pair at the airport or a cheap one on one of the street shops cause the sun sure gives a good beating over at greece. Wear comfortable walking shoes and loose clothing. Do not wear jeans. And dont even think about packing anything leather...

Hope this review helped even in the tiniest way. Have a great trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spagsnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We were delighted to read your fantastic and extensive feedback on the hotel as well as tips on Athens in general. Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to the capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 282 in Athens
1,532 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,843 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £202 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing