We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end Expensive Hotel - And Expensive, Mediocre Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #6 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It's a given that this is a luxury hotel in a great location. The lobby, rooms, and rooftop restaurant/bar are all wonderful. Front desk staff a bit detached and clinical - meaning not very warm. My complaints are minor - no shampoo in room and never arrived when requested. And how can they charge 16 Euro for wifi?! The room price is high enough and in this day-and-age wifi should be part of the cost. These minor things should not eclipse the hotel - just suggestions and comments to enhance the day-to-day operations. This is a large hotel - I wouldn't recommend for those who want a smaller, more boutique type accommodations. I had a courtyard room which was very quiet since Athens streets can be noisy.

Room Tip: The buffet breakfast - not included in my stay - is expensive. I recommend opting out and ordering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NYCWGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The location was great. The standard room was a little small and there was no room for our suitcases. This would not have been such a concern but unfortunately we were served repeatedly by a trainee who was at the front desk. She made several mistakes and even lied behind our backs assuming we did not understand Greek. I found this trainee very annoying. If we ever had to approach the front desk we tried to avoid her. It ruined our stay actually as all the other hotels in Greece including Zakynthos, Glyfada, Santorini and Mykonos had perfect customer service so we were really disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Standard room very small hard to store luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the King George hotel. We were surprised to read your comments regarding one of our associate trainees, as the behaviour you described is highly unlikely for a member of our staff. However, please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding that occurred. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and prove to you that we can serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The King George is a beautiful hotel- maintained to perfection!!!! Our stay was wonderful. I can not say enough about the very professional staff. The concierge was tops!!! We travel every year to Greece and this is the first time that we chose the King George Hotel. The room was very spacious - beds were very comfortable. We had adjoining rooms with our children and both rooms were lovely. A perfect stay!!!

Room Tip: I believe any room would be a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel and for expressing your appreciation for the service received. We truly value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel location can't be beat - very central with view of the Square and the Acropolis. Beds were super comfy. Hotel decor is dated and old Europe, not quite our style. Thought we'd have a more modern suite. Buffet breakfast is next door - great food and views of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived today to the King George in Athens, It is a lovely hotel and very well maintained. The staff have been very gracious. We arrived around 9 am from cruise ship and our room was not available, however the staff put us in a standard room to rest until our suite was ready. Great location in the middle of shops, attractions, and restaurants!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments after your recent stay at the King George hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I literally cannot recommend this hotel enough! We are a family of four and had two rooms - we found the hotel, the staff, the location, the breakfast to be perfect! The hotel is so beautiful and charming - the location perfect for touring the city. The staff was so helpful and we delighted in breakfast each morning on the 7th floor with the view of the Acropolis! Perfect way to begin our Greek vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 2 days in Athens on way to Mykonos and Santorini. The hotels is in a central location close to everything. Just catch a red bus and you can see everything you need to in one day. The room was clean and quiet as you would expect of an SPG property and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Athens. Amazing view of the aropolis from the rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icebull1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,550 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,885 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 281 in Athens
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £201 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing