We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Filoxenia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
2
7
20
11
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
7
20
11
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2008

This was one of the worst places i have ever stayed in. The room was very simple but the noise from the building didnt let me sleep. I asked receptionist after first night and he told me that there are students staying here all year round. They had party every night and played music till early morning hours. for the price you paid you get what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

This hotel is rated as 2 star and it more than adewquately lives up to that. The rooms are clean and secure and the breakfast is enough to get you moving for the day ahead.
The location is not great. It is is the red light area and at night it can be a little intimidating but common sense goes a long way. Don't walk round showing off money or jewellery. During the day the area is no worse than the rest of Athens.
The tube is only 5 mins walk away and there are a few cafes close by for the odd drink or meze.
We fond the staff amazingly helpful. We were messsed around with our flights and found ourselves in Athens for an unexpected night. When arriving at the hotel and finding the place was fully booked they spent a considerable amount of time arranging for us to stay somewhere nearby. Any questions were greeted with helpful and informative answers.
A very good stay by Athens standards.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank patNrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

We stayed here 1 week in August 2008 . We are a couple over 40 from Finland. The hotel is just basic style in southern europe. Not for U.S peope with american breakfast. Beds are little bit hard, it's my opinion. But the stuff is very friendly and situation is very good with metro. It's better use the Victoria metro station, especially in the evening. The Omonia square is not so nice in the evening, but at Victoria square are some nice cafees/restaurants. You have the free internet at the hotel's lobby. And remember, the breakfast is same like (most) allways in southern europe.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank middleagefinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Some of the previous contributors need to seriously chill.

My stepson and I stayed at The Filoxenia for 4 nights at the end of July 2007. We each took a double room for single use. The Filoxenia is what it is - a basic budget standard hotel in the centre of Athens. OK the décor, carpets, bathroom tiling etc needs refreshing but so what? It was kept clean, the water was always hot, the shower was powerful, the linen was changed, the toilet flushed, there was a TV in the room (no charge), there was air conditioning in the room (no charge), breakfast was fine (unlimited coffee, juice – well, squash, bread, hard bread, egg, cheese, ham, cereal, cake – classic Greek) and the guys who ran it were excellent – one could not have been more helpful and the other (more elderly) could not have been more entertaining. The only thing was that there was no fridge but that was no big deal. Neither the bar nor the roof terrace were open. Moreover, it is approx. 5 minutes from Victoria Square and thus you are connected to Athens by metro (if you go buy a 7 day travel pass for 10euros – bus, tram, metro, trolley – a bargain). You could also walk to Omonia, Plaka, the flea market and the Acropolis but it was too hot. As for noise I stayed on the floor below the kitchen and never heard a sound. In fact, this was one of the quietest hotels in Greece I have ever stayed in (get a room at the back) and lets get real noise caused by other guests (almost certainly Americans!) is down to them and obviously the hotel has taken this on board and made a point of telling people to keep it down. As for the other criticisms then these are all obviously personal experiences, which could easily happen in any hotel in any part of the world. When we were there, there were families from France and Greece staying but it mainly caters for the independent travellers who are passing through I would guess.

The bottom line is that you get what you pay for. This isn’t posh and swish but if what you want is a bed, a shopwer, a cool room, in an excellent location then at this price this is an absolute bargain! If what you want is posh, swish, a shower with lots of those free bottles of smelly stuf, a cool room, in an excellent location then go stay in The Grande Bretagne at 10 squillion Euro/ night !

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank grecophile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Well...what can I say?!
We stayed here for a week...
Filoxenia Hotel was situated near the red light district of Omonia Square! Arriving early hours of the morning, we were surprised to see a hostel style hotel with very old decor.
The room very basic and having 2 beds pushed together classed as a 'double' bed, the bath had limescale and a leaking tap. We also had trouble with the electrics whereby we had to wiggle the card around 100 times before we could get it to work! The lift was scary, it was alright as long as you didn't make any sudden movements! Breakfast was basic (Boiled eggs, Bread, Jams, Cheese, Ham, WEAK tea, Coffee and POWDERED orange juice!!!) but edible. The windows and patio door although closed did not lock. We were thankful for air conditioning (normally this is an extra cost), clean sheets (towels and sheets changed daily) and running water! We actually had quite a nice view over the crowded buildings of the mountains and at night we saw the amazing sunset. Whilst walking to the Metro, there are some roads that have a strong smell of urine, and be warned surrounding the hotel are Arabic restaurants; some of the men here were very pervy, acting like they had never seen a woman before!!! We did have a lot of laughs with the receptionist, Nick. He was a joker and very friendly. You must listen to all his stories and words of wisdom.
All in all it was an 'interesting' experience but we managed to see a lot of Athens I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anoymonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews