We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Ranked #52 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were very happy with our stay here, within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. The staff was quite courteous, and we appreciated the delicious breakfast. We never made it up to their 8th floor restaurant but other reviewers might share that experience.
This hotel was recommended by our travel agent, and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcoast88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a really good hotel within a few hundred meters from Akropolis and Plaka area.
Good roof restaurant and bar with a view to Akropolis, be it with also high prices.
Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach51216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Average location, with average services. On top of that rude behavior from staff. During breakfast at the ground floor restaurant, the head waiter, pushed my wife's chair twice without even bothering to say "excuse me" or "sorry". On complaint to the Hotel Manager, he defended the waiter, claiming he's working in the hotel for long time.
Will not recommend this hotel........there are better hotels in Athens at the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23bubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My bedroom had a view of Acropolis which was nice at night.... It looked beautiful at night. Which I got a better view when I went to the roof top restaurant to eat an good meal. If wasn't a 5 star type of food but the atmosphere was almost 5 star. But great on location it was a 10 minute walk to Acropolis, on the way you will see a supermarket called "OK! Anytime Market" stop by there to buy your water it is only 0.28 where if you buy water at the entrance to the Acropolis the was is almost 4 Euros. NOT COOL. Hotel had the W Hotel feel to it, which was really nice for the cost. I would definitely stay here again next time I go to Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor which is the 7th floor with a great view... The 8th floor is the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My Australian family (with 2 daughters 15 and 18) stayed at this hotel for 3 days in July 2013. This hotel was selected and booked for us by our travel agent. Receptionist spoke good English and our arrival was processed quickly and efficiently. Smallish lift but never had to wait long to use it. Card entry to room was a bit finicky and would often take several swipes before allowing entry. Used the roof-top bar/restaurant for drinks and dinner on our first night - good views over Acropolis and rest of Athens. Complementary arrival drink (soft drink only) was appreciated. Bar man spoke good English and was very friendly. The meal was OK but we were so jet-lagged that reviewing it is not fair to the Hotel. Breakfast was provided in the Ground floor Dining area - really good food with juicer to make fresh Orange Juice and a wide selection of pastry/cooked items.
Best thing about this hotel was the location versus price. I had read that it is located in the "red-light district" and there were a few such shop-fronts nearby, but they were fairly unobtrusive. In fact, the plethora of car rental places were far more obvious. During our stay, we had to get to Athens Segway which was just a quick 5 minutes walk away. We also ate at a nice restaurant that was 10 minutes stroll away. After visiting the Acropolis, we were very tired from the hot weather and could not face the walk - probably about 20-25 minutes - so took a cab back to the hotel for about 5Euro. So the location worked really well without costing a fortune.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayMum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Over all, our stay was pleasant.
The location of the hotel is ideal for tourists as it was a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis.
The restaurant has an amazing view of the Acropolis which was the main reason for us picking this hotel. However, the photos on the website AND around the hotel give the impression that it is an open air restaurant. Not so. There are glass windows that fold back to open which is fine....but when we asked on our 2nd night there so we could take some pictures we were told "not tonight as we dont want to turn the aircon off".
There is also a no non smoking policy so whilst enjoying our drinks (with all windows closed), we had the joy of inhaling other peoples cigarettes. This ended our evening rather quickly.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable, however the bathroom...... The shower curtain was a bit tatty and the bath was dirty. It had a dirty rim around it and the plug hole was rusty. It looked like it hadn't seen a cleaning agent / bleach for months.
We were also able to hear other guests in other rooms flushing their toilets and showering.

The hotel had good and bad points but the only thing that makes this hotel a 4 star, is the location and view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Excellent breakfast with yogurt,fruit, eggs ,bacon ,grilled tomatoes,pastry,cheese, meat, crepes, fresh squeezed orange juice and excellent cappuccino. Modern clean lobby. Walking distance to Acropolis area and Plaka. Bad side? Hardest, most uncomfortable bed we've ever tried to sleep on. Narrow tub base makes taking a shower challenging. Why not put in a nice tiled shower instead of a grotty tub with a grotty shower curtain. Sorry, just a pet peeve with a lot of hotels. Otherwise rooms are fine. The beds are 2 star but I'll give it 4 stars because of the breakfast and rooftop restaurant/bar. We only had a drink there,beautiful view of Acropolis, but it was too expensive for us since there are dozens of good restaurants to choose from at the Plaka nearby for half the price.

Room Tip: Rooms at each end of floors are reduced size because angled walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olioaceto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Acropolis Select Hotel
#45 of 285 in Athens
807 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#18 of 285 in Athens
1,123 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 285 in Athens
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 285 in Athens
2,194 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#61 of 285 in Athens
620 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 285 in Athens
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Address: 32 Kallirrois, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £52 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel is a unique Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Athens City where style and comfort are happily coupled to offer a pleasant stay with the finest accommodation and delightful culinary experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Athens
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing