We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Ranked #56 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal close to Acropolis and plaka. The breakfast was the best of all other hotel we stayed in Greece. Staff was not that friendly. Room was little small but the balcony was great. Overall it was nice hotel. Thank you to our travel agent Xenofon from Kivotos of Aegean travel for selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    319
    149
    39
    18
See reviews for
112
326
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the third of four hotels that we booked through our travel agent; we booked 4-5 star hotels and I would say that this one was maybe a 3+. The rooms were clean, the amenities were nice, and the breakfast was good, but I'm just not seeing 4 stars. The location is great - near the Acropolis and Plaka and the tram runs down the street in front. We went to the rooftop terrace and decided not to eat there.
There's not anything bad about the hotel - just the rating is suspect. My recollection is the room rate was 400 Euros per night, which in my opinion, is too much. I don't know how much we paid because it was part of the package, though a little simple math tells me that we didn't pay that much for the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, RI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked for us by our travel agent as part of our honeymoon to Greece so I can't really speak on the value because I do not know how much our room actually cost. But I would say that it was probably more of a budget hotel if I had to guess. Room wasn't anything special and the bed was pretty hard. This wasn't a big deal for us since we didn't spend much time in it. We never ended up eating at the rooftop garden restaurant but breakfast each morning was good. Location was pretty close to Plaka and the Acropolis but if I had the opportunity to choose where we would stay I think I would have picked something in Plaka if our budget allowed for it. Overall I would say that if you can get a good deal here over other hotels and don't plan on spending much time in your room, this place is a good bet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caragao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel is really not that exclusive. It's location is ideal, 500 m from the Acropolis and Plaka. However the hotel is showing it's age in a few areas. Our room was a standard room and a bit shabby as were carpets in halls and the breakfast room furnishings the same. All could do with a makeover.
Staff were great, very helpfull. The rooftop restaurant has exceptional views and quite good food. There was one major problem, other patrons in the restaurant were smoking. A table of twelve behind us smoked continually all evening. This is disgusting, there is no other word for it. Just because there were windows open doesn't make it an outdoor restaurant. Europe as a whole needs to wake up and ban smoking in all food service areas.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonnieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am only rating this hotel as average because the location is good (its in walking distance of almost everything), and I found the people at the front desk to be nice. But I strongly feel that calling this hotel a 4 star hotel is generous and I've read from other people that the 4th star is only given because of the view of the Acropolis from upstairs. Well you only get that view if you are sitting at or near the bar, so I dont know if that should really count.
We were on the second floor and the rooms are small, which isnt a horrible thing, and the view from our room was another building. The floors look dirty...not like they arent clean, but old. The bed is hard as a rock...as in equal to sleeping on the floor, and watch out because in our room there is a metal door stopper in the bathroom right outside the tub that my husband didnt see and stepped on and put a 1/2 inch deep cut on the bottom of his foot. And its right where you get out of the tub because the sink and counter take up 1/2 of where the tub is so you have to maneuver around it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here two separate times during our trip to Greece, for one night after arriving in Athens before traveling to islands, and then for three nights for sightseeing in Athens. Our first stay was in a room on the second floor which did not seem on par with the hotel's reputation and advertising. It was a bit dingy and the bathroom was difficult to maneuver around in. However, during our second stay we were in a room on the fourth floor and found it much more comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was delicious and it was fun to squeeze our own orange juice and enjoy grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, and pastries. The hotel is a short walk from the Acropolis and the view of the Acropolis from the roof garden restaurant was neat. The food was good in the restaurant as well as at breakfast.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a specific floor or specific room in this hotel, preferably one on the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Checked in late so had only 6 hours in the room. Went on a tour but became unwell. I asked if they could let me have the room back for 3 hours but they said no ! As they were fully booked. I spent the day in reception running to the toilet. Despite the hotel being full all others were able to have late check outs. Lady with glasses on front desk has no customer service skills at all ! Not worth the money. The rooms are loud you here everything in the other rooms. Really spoilt a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#50 of 326 in Athens
1,488 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#54 of 326 in Athens
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,029 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,268 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Property: The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Address: 32 Kallirrois, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel is a unique Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Athens City where style and comfort are happily coupled to offer a pleasant stay with the finest accommodation and delightful culinary experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Athens
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing