We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Ranked #50 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staff: Everyone except the young blondish girl at front desk are very very nice. She is a blemish on the hotel IMO

Rooms: Old, dingy, worn carpets, looks like a Super 8 quality interior. Bed is hard as a rock- so much so your back hurts

Location: Fabulous! Walking distance to the metro and the Plaka and Acropolis

Breakfast: Amazing variety, very tastefully done

Restaurant: On the rooftop, very good service, nice view

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is a little gem! What makes it so special is the staff. In Greece, service can always be a bit hit and miss, but in this hotel, the staff are really amazing! They are quick to offer help, open doors and treated our family really well. Even my toddler was made to feel special. It's all about the details, and they have the details taken care of really well.

Here are some of the highlights of our stay:
1. The staff - once again, they make the stay the most memorable. The breakfast staff area also extremely efficient and being in the business myself, finding good breakfast staff who are upbeat, efficient and professional is rare. An extra special shout out to them as they are hands down the best breakfast staff I have ever encountered.
2. The breakfast - a great extensive selection of hot food including bacon and sausages, fried and scrambled eggs as well as omelet, and roasted tomatoes and potatoes! A great selection of pastries, dried fruit and nuts, fresh fruit, teas, jams and "squeeze your own" fresh orange juice.
3. The rooms - the bed was two twins pushed together to make a king, but you wouldn't know it unless you looked. Normally in Greece there is a little gap to fall into, but here they have mastered this problem with a comfy mattress topper. Extra room and comfortable too! The linens and pillows were comfortable too. There were sufficient power outlets to charge your phones (a pet peeve of mine when you sometimes need to unplug the fridge), a well stocked mini bar and local information available.
4. The bathrooms - great size, clean and well stocked with amenities. I also like the outlet in the drawer, great idea!
5. Parking only 30 meters away.
6. My uncle and aunt needed to take an early morning flight and were going to miss breakfast. The hotel organized a take away breakfast box for them to enjoy on the way to the airport. They loved it and were really impressed by this detail.
7. The location is an easy walk to Plaka and the Acropolis.

I do have a couple of recommendations for improvements:

1.The balconies proved to be a safety concern for young children due to a small "architectural feature" of a 1 meter square hole cut out - large enough for a small child/toddler to crawl through and potentially fall down - and where children are concerned a deadbolt lock on the door would have been appreciated - we got around this by parking the stroller in front of the door. Perhaps a number of rooms could be dedicated for families with small children - covering the hole somehow.
2. I was also a little let down with the roof top restaurant selection and even the "free welcome beverage" couldn't excite me about the menu. I would have loved to sample a small plates menu of Greek dishes without having to trek to Plaka when we had arrived. The view is fantastic but it was empty, and it seemed such a shame. The small plates option allows you to feel like you aren't ordering too much, and are just having a little taste of something, but it doesn't take much to order more than you planned and to really get a taste of Greece.

All in all though, we stay in Athens pretty frequently and try out different places but that may just change now. The Callirhoe offers great service and value at a very reasonable price range. They have thought of most things and management is clearly on the ball. The breakfast alone is enough to make me return. As I said in my title, I can't say enough nice things about this hotel Just book it and try for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eviali_in_Limni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We (two adults and a child age 10) spent the first week of this year in Athens, staying in this beautiful hotel. We had a standard double room with extra bed for a child - spacious enough for three of us, simply but nicely furnished, with balcony, which was fantastic because of my smoking habits. Bathroom is also spacious, everything seems rather new. Our room was spotlessly cleaned every day, towels and sheets changed daily, we had different kinds of blankets to choose from. Breakfast is rich and delicious, warm and cold, sweet and salty, with fresh pies, pancakes, orange juice etc...Tea and coffee facilities in room. All the members of the staff were polite, helpful and kind. Now, the position of the hotel. It is located on a very busy and noisy avenue, so if you want a good night sleep, you have to close balcony doors, which are double-glazed and provide a good isolation. If you want to sleep by an open window, bring earplugs. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance to all important sites and very near some of the most beautiful and enchanting parts of Athens. You do not need to use public transport at all, unless you decide to se the sea, as we did. There are a lot of hotels in this area, some of them have a better /quieter) position, but the price of this hotel and the quality of service can not be beaten - (63 euros per night). We hope to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greekface2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night due to a long layover. We made our reservations last minute before we boarded our flight from London, arriving in Athens around 3am. The room was very clean and comfortable as all we needed was a bed to catch a few hours sleep. The breakfast was fantastic, great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alirom27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a small hotel in centre of Athens. Chosen due to it's proximity to our meeting venue. The greeting from the lady behind the desk was tepid at best although the check in was relatively efficient. The hotel decor is somewhat "OTT dated 1970s Greek" in my opinion. I had a pre-booked an exec junior suite. My initial impression was that the room could have been the set for the Joan Collins film the Stud, it somewhat resembled a 70's porn set. I could not really see what I got for the Exec status except a welcome soft drink (which my colleague also got and he had not paid for an exec room).

The room had a great balcony with views over the roads and rooftops. I did not get a good nights sleep due to the road noise.

The bed was comfy and the room clean, but a bit tatty. The bathroom was fairly tired. The large jacuzzi bath in the corner had a hand shower attachment that you could use on a hook on the wall. The problem was that the fitting on the wall was damaged and so the shower head just drooped and with no shower screen the water did not get anywhere near me and ran over the contours of the jacuzzi onto the floor, which got a good thorough shower.

The breakfast was ok with a machine to make your own fresh orange juice. I found the choices limiting but that is due to following a special diet.

I found the staff efficient but not warm. All in all, I might stay again due to the proximity of the meeting place, or look elsewhere, possibly the Herodian which looked nice and was on a quieter street.

Room Tip: I do not think I would bother with an Exec Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazzer_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived late and we were exhausted. We were greeted with smiles and wonderful service. Our room was huge, spotless and so comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the busy Athens traffic which was exciting. At night with the doors closed it was quiet. The staff were brilliant, nothing was to much trouble. We would return and stay in a heartbeat...oh and the breakfasts were brilliant. Loved the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This comment comes from the organisers the hosts and the attendees of the meeting at Callirhoe hotel. We used the Prive Conference room and all the guests stayed at the hotel. Everything was perfect. Hotel location and its proximity to the monuments was important to us and this hotel is in the perfect place as visitors do not need to pass though the centre. The staff responsible for the conference managed to have everything very well organised had correct timing and were within reach everytime we had an alteration in the program. Very flexible and helpful qualities that characterise professionals and indicate high quality management. The restaurant as well as the food they served was amasingly fresh and tastfull, qualities that usually do not find in hotel food. Hotel staff everywere were friendly and helpful and everything went smoothly without problems thanks to them. Above all guests were very happy with their stay (rooms and services) at an event which was a great success. Thank you

Room Tip: VIP rooms are really beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamopoulos, General Manager at The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing with us your review as well as your kind comments. We are glad that your experience at our premises was so pleasant and it is nice to hear that your expectations were fulfilled. It was a pleasure to cooperate with you and we remain always at your disposal for any future cooperation.

Nikos Adamopoulos
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 282 in Athens
1,548 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#47 of 282 in Athens
800 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#18 of 282 in Athens
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#32 of 282 in Athens
2,176 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
686 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Address: 32 Kallirrois, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#35 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel is a unique Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Athens City where style and comfort are happily coupled to offer a pleasant stay with the finest accommodation and delightful culinary experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Athens
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing