We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but location was not good”
Review of Ionis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ionis Hotel
Ranked #204 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had reserved room in Floxenia hotel but they changed my hotel to IONIS. There are 4 hotels that are linked together Filoxenia, Aristoteles, IONIS and Apollo.

1. The Price was good- hotel is not new
2. Normal Buffet Breakfast
3. Kind receptionist
4. Room cleaning was not very good
5. Free Wifi internet
6. it is near Omonia Metro Station (5 mins walking)
7. 20-30 Mins Walking to Agora Area and Acropolis

8. The location was not good. some home less people were always outside. I saw one addicted boy that he was injection drugs !!! we were not out of hotel late at night.
9. we saw cockroach ( baby one) in the bathroom!!.
10. with 8 euros ticket( you can take group ticket cheaper if you are more than one) and changing one metro line you can go to the airport.
11. you can coordinate with receptionist for islands tour if you want. maybe you can find cheaper price in advertisements.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahriar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

I took a group of university Classics students to the Ionis hotel in Easter this year. The location, as has been mentioned countless times in other reviews, is incredibly seedy. Drug dealers and prostitutes are rife and seemingly open about their practices around the hotel, and the hotel staff also gave us fairly grave warnings about bagsnatchers and pickpockets in the area.

However throughout our time (4nights) staying there, not one of my 36 students had any serious run ins, and the locals seemed to keep to themselves most of the time. The location was within 10 minutes walk of Omonia square, and the tube service was incredibly efficient and cheap in helping us get round to all the various sites easily.

The hotel itself was clean and the staff were pleasant and accomodating. As a group of 36 students, it was obviously hard to keep a lid overly on noise at night especially after a night out, but we were given a floor to ourselves which mostly mitigated any potential problems, and for which I was very grateful for. We had no real issues with the setup and the hotel did not in any way hinder us from having a great time in Athens!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eponeill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We walked into the hotel lobby about 1:30 a.m. (our ferry was delayed from Ios, which arrived late into Piraeus/Athens) and the Reception very quickly checked us in (they had thought we weren't coming). The 2 huge beds filled up most of the room, not enough walking space so we had to place our luggage bags on the chairs and our beds. Air-cond unit wasn't working full blast but we were so knackered, it didn't bothered us much. Breakfast was provided and what a nice surprise - though the hotel's not a "looker", the breakfast room compensated for it - very cosy and inviting, so was the buffet spread. Kudos to the staff and management. After breakfast, we checked out so there was no time to survey the hotel or its vicinity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starry-nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

After reading most of the reviews before booking ,decided to give it a try for myself,ok i can agree with some of the points mentioned,however i do think there has been some over exaggeration,with regard to area ect; As for the accommodation i stayed in room 118 found it to be comfortable perhaps the aircon; could be a little more effective,my room was serviced each day ,As for meals i had breakfast each of the seven mornings , perhaps a little repetitive,other than that i was very happy with hotel Ionis . Over all i had a bizz of a holiday i will certainly return.

Room Tip: If you stay peak season look for adequate air con , nights can be really hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rangerover2437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Thankfully I was here just the one night, as my original hotel, the apolo had some issues and transferred me here, looks ok in the reception area but the receptionist was very unfriendly, the room was ok but the window looked out onto nearby flats and was noisy and the courtyard below was full of rubbish, the room was stiflingly hot. This area was not where I would have a tourist hotel, full of pimps and prostitutes, druggies and boozed up locals everytime you walked outside

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

this hotel has nice rooms and good breakfast buffet, and nice terrace , the ac is controlled downstairs so rooms are hot we had a terrace but to noisy to keep door open, not a good area for women and children, lots of guys hanging out all over the place its a bad area. you can tell by the big police presence , dont ever put your knappsack on the floor anywhere or carry expensive cameras around. i would stay in the areas know as plaka or syntagma, gazi ,monastiraki the train station is in all these places plenty of food , shops and landmarks . for 2 american guys we had no problems at hotel or in any area . dave n marco

Room Tip: get the room with the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in august 2012.the area around hotel is dangerous most nights (and days) full of drug addicts, prostitutes and illegal immigrants. Metro station is near but me and my girlfriend never felt safe walking till there.
Room was ok but without normal air condition and most nights we didn’t have hot water….we didn’t try breakfast at all. Hotel crew was normal except one of them that every time called to our room and asking if our guest will stay at hotel and etc…

I don’t recommend that hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Pergamos
#147 of 281 in Athens
318 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#144 of 281 in Athens
198 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#201 of 281 in Athens
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#194 of 281 in Athens
222 reviews
Delphi Art Hotel
#84 of 281 in Athens
289 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#69 of 281 in Athens
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Hotel

Address: 41 Chalkokondili, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ionis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing