We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a terrible neighborhood”
Review of Jason Prime

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jason Prime
Ranked #214 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Alcala de Henares, spain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a terrible neighborhood”
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Jason Prime is in the center of Athens, less than 300m of the Omonia metro station and thus very conveniently located for any place in Athens as is less than 15 mins(by metro) to every important place to see in the city.

I was in a double in single ocuppancy, which was clean, ample and has everything you would like to see except from free Internet access. Many draws and places to keep your belongings and clothes, nice minibar. The bed was not the best I've been but was good quality with 100% cotton sheets. The views from the room were awful (an abandoned parking) but on the contrary it was very calm and silent at night. The TV was old but had many channels, all free and most free. The bathroom was very clean as well as the rest of the room, the shower worked out fine and there was a hairdryer and free average soap/gel/shampoo. They changed my towells and sheets everyday no matter if I asked for it or not.

The breakfast was good quality and varied enough as to not get bored in 3-4 days. Fresh fruit always available.

Clearly, the major drawbacks are the streets surounding Omonia station, an area that -at night- is populated by all kinds of dodgy individuals, not precisely recommended for families :) To give a walk in the neighborhood at night is like a glimpse of hell.

Also the outrageous price of the Internet services (5 euro / hour) are an important reason to choose another hotel specially when you travel for business what was my case.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    17
    15
    14
See reviews for
5
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Very hard beds, only one tv channel CNN in English. Day manager rude
and does not seem to like any of the guests.
Afternoon and night managers very nice. Breakfast was good. Internet available for 5 euros per hour on very slow computer. The
neighborhood was ok except for Sunday which is garage sale day everywhere with gypsys every 5 feet on the sidewalks.
The historical sites were worth the trip but Athens is a pig pen full of grafiti
and everyone in the restraunts smoke non stop..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Europe
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I stayed here in September 2009 with 2 friends (3 women in total). Contrary to other reviews, my stay in this hotel was good. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and large, with good double glazing which kept the noise from the street at bay. Yes, the side street that this hotel is on does attract some drunks and unsavoury characters, but at no point did I, or my friends, feel threatened in this area. Athens is not the most chic city at the best of times, but it is a much safer city than most capital cities I have visited. Also, the fact that Omonia Square (5 mins walk from the hotel) is a hang-out point for street people, means that there is a constant police presence there, thereby ensuring a safer feel to the place.
This hotel was value for money, breakfasts were good. Being located near Omonia Square meant that we did not use the metro or public transport at all in our 4 day stay there. We walked everywhere, including back from dinner late at night, most areas we visited were only 20 mins walk from the hotel.
I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR4Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2009

we booked the Jason prime hotel on the internet and when we arrived after paying 42 euros for a cab from the airport I was appalled at the area.
There were old matresses and rubish everywhere. we saw drugs being sold openly on the street, people shooting up and the pavement outside the hortel, prostitutes and sex booths advertised.
I am amazed that bookable holidays sent us there.
Why would anyone build a hotel in such a district? and how did they ever manage to take that photo of the front entrance.
All I can say is don't go this is an experience you can live without.
marilyn Beales

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This Hotel is located in the centre of Athens. Good rooms, the staff also ok, but the location is really BAD. Close to a "guetto". Restaurant outside of the Hotel.

We stayed just 7 hours (from 8pm to 4pm). Thanks GOD!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si7h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

The hotel on its own is really good... we booked a room for 2 and it was very clean and spacious. The facilities are very good, however, it is really the location of this hotel that is the problem... while it is located in the centre of Athens with very close access to Omonia, unfortunately, the neighourhood of the hotel is not the greatest of all.. sadly, it is located in an area where drugs addicts are plenty and there is no hiding of them taking their shots. I would not recommend this place to people traveling alone. I hope that the authorities in Athens would do something about this...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmambo_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Andronis Athens
Andronis Athens
#50 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Crystal City Hotel
#129 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novus City Hotel
#38 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Best Western Ilisia Hotel
#234 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Achillion Hotel
#104 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jason Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jason Prime

Property: Jason Prime
Address: 3 Nikiforou | Omonia Square, Athens 104 37, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Hotel Class:4 star — Jason Prime 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jason Prime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jason Prime Athens
Jason Prime Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing