We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean”
Review of City Circus Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Circus Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hostel is very nice and especially very very clean. It is quite and near the centre. The staff i great and ready to help you for every need. The towels are changed every day. The beds are really connfortable. The only negative thing is the very tiny room I had in the basement. I couldn't move around. But it is the only one room like that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank morganamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dim0sthenis, Manager at City Circus Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We do put a lot of effort into keeping it clean and comfy. From what I understand, you stayed in the smaller Budget Double room. It does have limited leg-room although it is offered at a 30% discount from the Deluxe Doubles. Next time, we'll accommodate you in a double big enough to practice your unicycle act. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

An awesome hostel, unique, clean, hip. Great rooms, cleaned daily, an awesome buffet breakfast, great staff. Close to metro, walking distance to tavernas, bars, shopping, historical sites. Located in a sketchy neighborhood full of graffity (hey it's Athens) and CC is the cleanest, newest building on that street, but the neighborhood is safe. I walked it at all times of the night alone. ..and the bed mattresses are comfy, hard to find in Greece apparently.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Badmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dim0sthenis, Manager at City Circus Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you Steve!
We would love to see you on your next trip to Greece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Good location. Walking distance to the subway (direct to airport on blue line and ferry port on green line), restaurants, attractions, etc. We walked from the hostel to the Acropolis one morning and then continued to walk around Athens for a total of five hours and see most of the main sights.

Hostel is new and very clean. We got a private room with a double bed (very comfy!). It also had a desk, closet, and nightstand with a spacious shower in the bathroom. The only complaint I have is that only the hot water worked in the sink. Not so fun for teeth brushing and hand washing :)

Others have complained of noise but the hostel was pretty quiet. Only once it was kind of loud upstairs while we were trying to sleep.

The hostel was decorated very uniquely to tie in with the circus theme. The hostel staff were friendly and helpful. There's a great rooftop terrace with a view of the Acropolis that was always deserted when we visited. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious... Juice, coffee, tea, milk, cereal, fruit, Greek yogurt, bread, cheese, sweet cakes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iselynjenniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dim0sthenis, Manager at City Circus Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thanks so much, it's great to get such a positive review from such an experienced traveler. We're very sorry about the problem with the sink. We've taken care of it. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

CC is a gem. Its a clean hostel with comfy mattresses, chique, close to metro, bars, the square with all its tavernas...close to all the tourist sites..and the flea market. The communal breakfast was awesome. They'll do your laundry for 7€ . The rooms and showers are cleaned daily. Fresh towels daily as well. For the AC to work you have to have all the windows closed ;). Awesome staff. They take credit cards.
Keep an eye on pick pockets at the Metro station..my roommate had his phone picked off.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badmedicine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dim0sthenis, Manager at City Circus Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments and the useful tips for the gusts.
We love to see you again in Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The most enjoyable stay i have had in my past 4 months' of travelling around Europe. The place is so well maintained with everything you would need as a backpacker. Enjoyed the fresh fruits and yogurt breakfast in the mornings very much, with a cup of coffee in the nicely decorated dinning with, chatting to fellow travelers. They also have a small roof terrace which gives you a view to the Acropolis. Enjoyable! Although the place was a bit hard to find for the first time, but after one day walking around the area, I realized that the venue is really close to all the cafes, restaurants, and tourist attractions. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dim0sthenis, Manager at City Circus Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you Jasmine, your comments give us energy to keep up the good work.
Enjoy your travel!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is NOT a "hotel" but a HOSTEL, so people be aware!! We really don't understand why Booking.com has it classified under "hotels". A HOSTEL per night is outrageous!
The terrible smell of the sewer invaded the bedroom The bedroom itself was very bare, it only had the bed, a very simple cupboard and two small bedside tables.
The breakfast was served by a girl who didn't speak one word of English, just Greek, and it was impossible to make her understand that we would like hot milk in our coffee instead of a heap of ice cold milk. Thanks but NEVER AGAIN for us.
Psiri is the pits and the Greek should keep their capital cleaner with no writings on buildings EVERYWHERE you look, because besides the Acropolis it doesn't have much to show for!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hostel is remarkably clean, friendly and located just 7 mins from Monastiraki METRO Station (Line 3 - airport) and Monastiraki Square (a hub of activity, eateries and shops) and close to the Acropolis, Plaka, Agora and Syntagma Square. Dorm room w/ bathroom worth the few extra Euros. Free daily breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Make sure to check out the hostel's rooftop with it's amazing Acropolis view. Only possible negative is that the area is a lil dodgy at night.

Make sure to enjoy a FREE walking tour from Monastiraki Square which is offered daily from 10am meeting in front of the Attica Bank building in the square. Visit the Acropolis either in the early morning or late afternoon (avoiding the crowds and the HEAT). Enjoy a authentic Gyros at only €2 Euros in Monastiraki Square. What an iconic city full of history dating back 1,000's of years! If this place doesn't wow you, nothing will.

Room Tip: Dorm room w/ bathroom worth the few extra Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,415 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 71 in Athens
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Athens Quinta Hostel
Athens Quinta Hostel
#8 of 71 in Athens
76 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
AthenStyle Hostel
AthenStyle Hostel
#10 of 71 in Athens
449 reviews
Chameleon Youth Hostel
#12 of 71 in Athens
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Circus Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Circus Athens

Address: 16 Sarri | Psirri, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range: £19 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Circus Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Circus is an alternative travelers space for the restless voyager, the escape artist, the acrobat. It's in the heart of Athens, in the hip Psirri neighborhood, beside numerous eateries and watering holes and a short walk from worthwhile sites. City Circus is in a 4-story, restored early 20th century mansion, complete with fresco-ed ceilings, wrought-iron balconies and baroque tiles. We’ve dressed it up with vintage furniture, reclaimed materials, modern design elements and street art by a selection of fresh local talent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your City Circus Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing