We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Circus Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Circus Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved the location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We couldn't have been happier with this hostel. We booked a private en suite for 2 nights in mid-October. When we first arrived in the cab, driving through many roads with graffiti and etc, we questioned for a split second and then put our trust in previous reviewers - they were completely right. City Circus is in a fantastic location near the heart of Psirri nightlife - far enough away to be quiet but close enough to be within 3 blocks of some fantastic restaurants and bars. (Niklaus restaurant was great, by recommendation, and Beer Time is a new favorite bar.) Our room was in the basement and as some others have said, sound does carry and we did hear some couples checking out in the early morning. Shower was fantastic - actual hot water that lasted more than 2 minutes! City Circus also recommended the free walking tour, which we took and loved! Highly recommend - we will stay here if we are ever in Athens again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alybyzrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    79
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
112
123
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

City Circus Athens provide comfortable accommodation 10min walking distance to the vibrant Monastiraki district. Beds are comfortable with well washed linens. Street side rooms are very noisy, unless ones is all night adventurer, do not expect to get a lot of sleep.
Breakfast, included in room rate is very average quality.
Staff is very helpful, every morning post list of either free or near free current attractions in the vicinity of this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room away from the street if you want to sleep at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Waltertu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hostel is way beyond my expectation. It's super super clean, nicely designed and managed. The mattress for the bunk bed is good quality and very comfortable. Bathroom is even cleaner than what's in my own apartment. Staff are very friendly. He explained to me for 20 minutes on the map what trips I can take to go around Athens. There is a free laptop in the common area for use. The free breakfast is basics but the fruit Greek yogurt is yummy. Considering the budget price, it's good value for money. The location is close to all the shops, train stations and restaurants. At night avoid walking to the neighborhood in the north which looks a bit of nasty. But otherwise there are shops around and I felt safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ZHU Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

FIrst of all, breakfast is simple yet truly hearty and very yummy! Bread are freshly baked from the bakery adjacent to the street, with different homemade jams to choose from. Chic decoration in living and dinning rooms. Walls are painted with inspiring and charming graphics. I stayed in a 4-female dorm room and the bed was so comfy! I was given an e-card to gain access to the main door and my room. It is located like 5 minutes from Blue Line Monastiraki station. However, I got off at Green line Thission after my late flight and I had to kept asking passers-by to locate the hostel. I recommend getting off at Monastiraki instead. A walk through a quiet street to get there, but is totally safe. It's a easy 20-minute walk to get to major tourist attractions. It's relaxing to walk up the gentle slopes and get pass the morning and the night flea market. Lots of restaurant choices nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a very quiet little place in Athens beautifully decorated with a lift as well. THey also have a luggage storage facility.

Rooms: Rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom was shared was also clean with all the amenities required. There was nice food/breakfast downstairs with good books to read and nice people to talk to.

The street where this hostel is, is a bit shady. Since we came in at night, i found it hard to find this place, even though it is just walking distance from the metro. The Acropolis view is visible from the terrace and we went everywhere walking.

Staff was very friendly and you get to buy all basic amenities at the counter as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shilpa_george4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in a private room in the basement. It's not always quiet, and not enough day light, but we would return here if we came back to Athens. The room as well as the whole hostel is very tastefully decorated, clean, very central (we did all the tourist attractions by food), breakfast was nice and the staff was very friendly. The bed was very comfortable.
A minor complaint is they charge a euro per bag per day if you decide to leave your bags there -even on the day you check-out, which we found a bit cheeky.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

City circus Athens was a lovely hostel very close to the main hub of city making its very easy for transport to and from the Port to the Islands and to the Airport. As well as plenty of good shopping and great food. No more than a 10min walk to any part of the city.
Staff very friendly and always helpful, one of the best breakfast served at a hostel. As well as some rooms with nice small balcony’s and a rooftop area to enjoy the views of Athens from.
Super clean and the MOST COMFORTABLE Beds I have slept in, I was excited to return for a night before flying home just to have a good rest in the bed again. Highly recommended and I will always stay here when travelling through Athens anytime

Room Tip: All rooms are great and spacious with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma-G-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citycircus, Manager at City Circus Athens, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hello Emma,
So glad you enjoyed your stay. It's always a pleasure to read that guests appreciated our space and the neighborhood. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 333 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Circus Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Circus Athens

Property: City Circus Athens
Address: 16 Sarri | Psirri, Athens 105 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Circus Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Circus is an alternative travelers space for the restless voyager, the escape artist, the acrobat. It's in the heart of Athens, in the hip Psirri neighborhood, beside numerous eateries and watering holes and a short walk from worthwhile sites. City Circus is in a 4-story, restored early 20th century mansion, complete with fresco-ed ceilings, wrought-iron balconies and baroque tiles. We’ve dressed it up with vintage furniture, reclaimed materials, modern design elements and street art by a selection of fresh local talent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your City Circus Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing