We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and central”
Review of Sweet Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweet Home Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Easy to get to from the airport bus stop, and easy to walk to any of the major sights from. A fantastic breakfast buffet with a number of homemade Greek dishes, and I felt well looked after by the staff, especially for the first three nights when I was staying alone. Some of the reception staff spoke very limited English, but this didn't bother me. Would definitely stay there again if I was in Athens.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirky_yelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at sweet home hotel and loved it. Although the room was anti small it was lovely. The linens and mattress were so comfortable; it was my best night sleep of my whole vacation. The bathroom was spanking clean and appears recently renovated with a terrific shower. The breakfast was delicious especially the cappuccino and the breakfast room was bright and sunny. Aphrodite, the owner, was so helpful in providing dining and sightseeing suggestions. I chose this lovely small hotel over a big five star and boy was I happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aokahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

If you want to be in the heart of Athens, near to everything and enjoy a fantastic, comfortable nights' sleep, followed by a breakfast that is truly excellent, then stay here! The rooms may not be huge, but they are certainly comfortable and spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful owners and staff who very obviously take great pride in their business. The breakfast was exceptional. Never eaten better. It's worth paying a bit extra (noticed a reviewer saying too expensive) and having a 'proper' double bed and a quality breakfast made with fresh ingredients and not rubbish. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186460Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

3 nights in hotel. Patrou street looks uninviting but don't worry! Hotel is narrow tall building next to small taverna (good family run old fashioned eatery) Stairs to negotiate to reception then lift to rooms. Rooms small but well decorated spotlessly clean. Air con very efficient, reasonable mini bar, safe in room. Lovely shower, big TV -luckily Greek TV off air! Breakfast in light airy room on 4th floor. Home made by mum cheese pie, omelette,, bacon, cereals, tea, fresh coffee cold meat, fruit, yoghurt, juices etc. went out early on island trip and they sorted out grub before we left. Situation is brilliant. Mirtropolis street is in corner of Syntagma square so 5 minute amble from airport bus X95 to hotel, same for metro station and tram to seaside 4euros for a 24 hour ticket for bus/train/metro/tram. Turn left into mirtropolis, and 200 yards walk to Plaka, area at base of Acropolis. Couldn't be easier!
Afroditi and staff all friendly helpful genuinely nice people. Great value for money, relaxed and clean. Top marks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETTLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Very clean & friendly hotel with good service; but really for the size of the room & the price it is very very overpriced .The location is probably what we paid for it as its very central for shopping, plaka & all the sights; At that price I would definitely choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFRODITI A, Owner at Sweet Home Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your time, writing a review for our home!
I would like also to mention here, that our hotel was totally renovated in October 2012 and it is one of several maintained old buildings in Plaka. Even though we changed everything, unfortunately, we couldn't do anything about the size of some rooms and that's why these rooms are mentioned as economy double rooms and the size of the room is mentioned as well.
Our services though and our facilities, as you have mentioned, are always the same in any type of room you choose! Our quality of the facilities, our services and also our rates is what our guests appreciate the most and we thank them for this.
I really hope to see you again in our home next time that you visit Athens!

Kind regards,

Afroditi Armata
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Sweet Home Hotel in Athens is absolutely wonderful! If you are looking for a centrally located immaculately clean, modern, boutique hotel with every modern convenience and a helpful attentive staff, then this is the place for you. It is on a very small side street, in between Syntagma Square and Monastriaki Square; therefore, you are close to everything but away from the noise of late eaters and even later party'ers who fill the downtown streets whenever the weather is good; ie; most of the time. The Internet connections were free and strong; the bathroom and shower were modern and clean. Although there are steps to get up to the reception area, where there is an elevator, as soon as you arrive, one of the staff comes down to assist you with your luggage. Aphrodite and her staff were eager to help with directions and tourist info. The breakfast area is bright and very well equipped. There is a kettle with tea in each room. A very good hotel at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfman613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

For central Athens this hotel is very quiet, cozy well renovated very clean; beddings are of high quality; only the room is not huge but still comfortable; staff very helpful and friendly; value for money is ok but altogether not that cheap (140€) for a double with view. All in all I would recommend the place; I have seen so many horrors in the past in Athens, Sweet Home is definitely NOT one!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis-et-Eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 281 in Athens
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,794 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,199 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Home Hotel

Address: 5 Patroou | Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sweet Home Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sweet Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing