We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - nice room - perfect breakfast”
Review of Sweet Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweet Home Hotel
Ranked #2 of 70 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location - nice room - perfect breakfast”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A lovely and helpful staff, nice and comfortable room, quiet and ideally located to explore Athens, lots of nice restaurants in the surroundings.
Our room was tiny (room 203) - insonorisation not perfect but excellent value for money !

The ideal place to stay in Athens !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melimelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    94
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
223
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a double room with a side view of the acropolis for 140 euros per night. This place is very cosy - there is not much room to move around but it was spotless. Bathroom was modern and clean. I liked the tv - you could surf the net through the tv. The location is great - walking distance to all the main attractions. The staff were helpful and helped us book the day tour for us to delphi. Breakfast was delicious and we felt like we were at a home stay rather than a big hotel. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The view of the acropolis is tiny from the 'side view' room so if you're not fussed, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I checked in from May 16 until May 18.

Breakfast was good. Good location. Every thing was clean and sparkling.

However, if you are carrying heavy luggage then you are in bad luck. Once you enter you are going to have to carry your luggage up the stairs (a good 20 steps at least) by yourself most likely. The receptionist might help you with one bag.

The rooms are fairly small.(High price for what we got, but maybe it is for the location).

Also, we were very disappointed that despite putting the no disturb sign at the door, housekeeping still went into our room. We complained to the receptionist; however it appeared that his English wasn’t good enough to understand our complaint. Once we left the hotel, we received an apology via email.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadya_and_Bassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the city near railway/bus station. You can almost walk to anywhere from here.

The hotel staff were nice and greeted you well.

The rooms are a bit on the cozier side, the walls are a bit thin, but it was modern well maintained and clean. The bed, which we most used, we only slept there and were out and about during the day, was the best bed we had in our Europe trip. Like I said earlier the bed took up most of our room. The bathrooms were cozy but modern. They had modern furnishings and TV (mostly Greek programming).

The Breakfast is average, similar to what you would get in other 3* Hotels. A bit more variety from one day to the next would be nice.

The value we got for the price we paid for this hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was a bit cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybergt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Easy to get to from the airport bus stop, and easy to walk to any of the major sights from. A fantastic breakfast buffet with a number of homemade Greek dishes, and I felt well looked after by the staff, especially for the first three nights when I was staying alone. Some of the reception staff spoke very limited English, but this didn't bother me. Would definitely stay there again if I was in Athens.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirky_yelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at sweet home hotel and loved it. Although the room was anti small it was lovely. The linens and mattress were so comfortable; it was my best night sleep of my whole vacation. The bathroom was spanking clean and appears recently renovated with a terrific shower. The breakfast was delicious especially the cappuccino and the breakfast room was bright and sunny. Aphrodite, the owner, was so helpful in providing dining and sightseeing suggestions. I chose this lovely small hotel over a big five star and boy was I happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aokahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

If you want to be in the heart of Athens, near to everything and enjoy a fantastic, comfortable nights' sleep, followed by a breakfast that is truly excellent, then stay here! The rooms may not be huge, but they are certainly comfortable and spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful owners and staff who very obviously take great pride in their business. The breakfast was exceptional. Never eaten better. It's worth paying a bit extra (noticed a reviewer saying too expensive) and having a 'proper' double bed and a quality breakfast made with fresh ingredients and not rubbish. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186460Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Home Hotel

Property: Sweet Home Hotel
Address: 5 Patroou | Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Sweet Home Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sweet Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing