We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice start into greek cooking”

Athens Cooking Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.83*
and up
Greek Cooking Class in an Athens Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A delightful hands-on cooking lesson and dinner; be initiated by the Chef into Greek cooking secrets with easy instructions and plenty of “hands on” preparation and cooking. But the best of all is the sumptuous dinner that you will have with the rest of your “classmates” at the end of the lesson.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice start into greek cooking”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We all (around 12 people) stood around a table and prepared greek food. You need some previous cooking experience to do this, but all in all it was very basic and a very good experience with some good dishes. We all left very full and very happy. Best part was getting the recipes sent home in pdf-format. I have made some of the dishes again and really like the greek kitchen. Worst part, and the reason I don't give a 5 rating was that the course took place in the dining room of an increasingly noisy tavern, and it became hard to hear the teacher. Still very pleased.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    7
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Cooking Course”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Took the Athens Walking Tour cookery course with Maria this week and loved every minute of it. From start to finish, the wonderful cook and lovely lady made our group feel at ease and like part of her family. The dishes were traditional Greek food, made with love, and a great introduction into cooking this type of cuisine. Go with friends, go on your own. But go!! And take an appetite with you!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren25c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent introduction to greek cuisine and culture!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went on this cooking tour at the taverna on Oct 2013. Chef Maria's enthusiasm and passion can be felt throughout the lesson, dishing out not only food recipes, little secret cooking techniques as well as friendship!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenT746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Greek cuisine: simple and fabulous”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We went there expecting to have a cooking lesson where everyone tries to prepare the same dish on their own. That wouldn't be Greek. Instead, everyone sat together on a big table. That way everyone would cook together. We made many recipes going from a simple starter like tzatziki to a main dish like lamb.

Trough out the lesson she taught us much more than how to cook. She showed us the Greek way of living trough her recipes.

Hospitality is a Greek concept, as they say. She welcomed us with some drinks and kept giving us all sort of things for us to taste while always giving us more wine.

In the end we tasted everything that was cooked. Which was amazing and way more food then we could take.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you like to cook, this is a don't miss”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On the evening of October 23, 2013, our party of 4 joined 7 other adventurous souls for a wonderful evening of cooking, eating and friendship. It is difficult to add much new to the other wonderful reviews that have previously been written about this great experience. Chef Maria's passion for coooking is infectious. Although the actual hands-on experience is limited, the fun experience is non-stop. I would warn you that the 3 hour time estimate will be more like 4-5 hours. You are never rushed. You end up eating a meal that in itself would cost more anywhere else. On our night, Maria's taverna featured live entertainment starting at 10pm. This also coincides with when the locals come to eat. From 6:30 to 10, the restaurant will be your groups private domain although it is technically open for business. The Greeks simply do not eat dinner until very late by U.S. terms. Just do this activity-you will not regret it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athens Cooking Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Athens Cooking Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing