We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find during a walk around Kolonaki”
Review of Malconi's

Malconi's
Ranked #607 of 3,971 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$20 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Description: The absolute must visit restaurant of Athens has opened its doors for a brand new wintertime gastronomic surprise. Malconi’s, after a successful year, now serves its new dishes in a new hidden space, a back yard as indicated by its new name, Malconi’s Quintal! The menu is created by Giannis Kosmadakis and the venue is highly recommended for business lunches, dinners or events that are characterized for their standards of taste and service.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice find during a walk around Kolonaki”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are staying in an apt in Kolonaki and came across this restaurant while walking around the streets looking for a place for dinner. This was a small, intimate restaurant with wonderful unique dishes. We shared an order of brushetta, with four slices each being unique. I had the tuna salad and it was heavenly. There was also traditional, shrimp and artichoke and proscuitto. The entrees were all amazing. We had sea bass spaghetti, goat cheese pizza, linguine pepe nero and gnocchi. The pastas including the gnocchi are clearly homemade and the flavors of all were wonderful. Unlike other reviews we thought the prices were fine. Entrees ran about 15Eu or less and that seemed not bad to us I would recommend this place. I will admit service was very pub-like - efficient but not overly warm. They got the job done but weren't there to entertain. Frankly, it was nice to just place and order, have it come and be done with the servers. We got water refilled in a timely way and food was well paced. So, can't complain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    64
    44
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Best Food in Kolonaki”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice Atmosphere and Deco! Great food in fair prices. The tuna tartar is one of the most delicious plates I ever had. For main course, I had the sea bass spaghetti...just incredible!!!! We tried 2-3 different cocktails ( one with mastiha ) that the bartender suggested. The staff was very polite and helpful. Next time I will book a table on the backyard of the restaurant which seems really cool.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Th0mas35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Best Osso Bucco experience - EVER”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Busy bustling restaurant in the heart of Kolonaki. Good wine list and great dishes but the absolute standout for me was the "osso bucco" for 2, being a full kilo of meat, standing upright in salute, and the meat is so well cooked and tender it just falls right of the bone...delicious. I have gone back twice recently just for this dish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank EmaJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Goòd food but not cheap”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were recommended here by the hotel as we wanted to try a different area of the city. We went on a Sunday night so it was quite quiet and not a lot of atmosphere.

Food was really too notch, but prices are expensive for both food and wine. The sea bass main was particularly fantastic.

However service was appalling - we got forgotten about when he went off to fetch something for us to try, only one waiter seemed to know anything much about the wines, and you could only order drinks from one waiter, food from another, etc., it got very tedious.

The quality of the food redeemed our night and earned this rating - could be a truly fantastic place and worth the high prices for a special meal if they sorted the service out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Average food, industrial design”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Average food, poor portions, creative attitude of the chef, rather impolite service, nice atmosphere,perfect decoration.The prices very high for the quality and quantity of food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thoulipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malconi's also viewed

 
 

Been to Malconi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing