We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coldest beer in Athens”
Review of Kallipateira

Kallipateira
Ranked #51 of 3,886 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Monastiraki
Clermont, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coldest beer in Athens”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stopped in on the 15th of August after a very hot day just wanting a cold beer. AND BOY DID WE GET IT. Our waiter Jiannhe or better known to us as John was just great. After a few beers we took a walk around just to find ourselves back at Kallipateira for Great AUTHENTIC Greek dinner good wine and again Cold beer. The owner even came out and welcomed us back with extra after dinner special drinks. Excellent food and value for our Euro. One not to miss

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    60
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek Cousine”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Keen on authentic food ??? Than, go up to Parthenon ... down to the Roman Agora, visit the Ancient Agora and get out of archeological park right to Monastiraki by a small gate. Pass by the left side of the church, turn left on Άστιγγος street and at number 8 TCHANNNNNN ... you are close to have an authentic greek cousine. Runned by greeks, from the reception to the kitchen. a remindfull experience. And it is so because they are not a straight forward tourist focused. Greeks are their base customers. The taste of the Greek Salada ... Mussaka ... and talkings with waiters and the owner of Kallipateria will be graved in your reminds ... End with a Mastiha Liqueur and then you can say : "I've not only been in Greece, I've felt Greece". From the many places I've been this is one I want to be back. Good lucky Kallipateria. Anôr from Brazil.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anorcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our favorite place in Athens. Authentic Greek food, a wonderful view and friendly attentive staff. it was the first restaurant we went to in Athens and made sure we went back before our flight on our last day in Greece. The best way to order is to have several mezes and share. You have to have the fried cheese bread!!!! amazing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyNYLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

On a side street it is away from the tourist traps. Greek traditional food with wonderful flavor and flair. The service was fast, the seating comfortable, and the servings large. A perfect lunch place to rest. I will return.

Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was meh. Service was good.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I had the rabbit stew and probably the karma of eating such a cute animal made it taste only ok. It was good but I expected more from a restaurant that looked great inside and out. Had a very nice atmosphere and was surrounded by bookstores, DVD and vinyl street shops. Cats visit the place and almost beg you for food but the waiter without annoying you makes them leave. Overall I had a great time but the food was not that great.

Helpful?
Thank Mazen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kallipateira also viewed

 

Been to Kallipateira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing