We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, hearty, good value”
Review of Mavros Gatos

Mavros Gatos
Ranked #262 of 2,507 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Pangrati
Description: All time classic tavern from where has passed almost all the city of Athens. You can taste delicious grilled meats, tasty handmade traditional pies and big variety of cooked foods!Don't forget to try our "tsipouro" direct from Ioannina city!!
Reviewed 8 January 2014

'Maghirefta' and ' tis oras' excellent. Spacious, Attentive. A bit glooomy in its basement locus. Preparations are genuine and not in the new wave or international style. Murals of interest and loyal clientele offers character and elegance.

1  Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassiliki K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Mavros Gatos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I decided to have my birthday dinner here after hearing a recommendation from my friend. The owners accommodated my party of 15 in a timely matter immediately upon arrival. After we were seated and ordered, the food came out quickly in waves. We ordered a variety of plates, wine and raki. The food was absolutely delicious and the price was extremely fair. The owner even cut my cake that I brought and served it to all my guests without a problem. I would like to thank them for helping make my birthday party there one of the best I have had in a long time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassiliki K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Mavros Gatos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Food is authentic traditional Greek taverna food. People should come here (don't confuse it with the trendy Black Sheep nearby).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rbrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassiliki K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Mavros Gatos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Thank avgerinitsouroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mavros Gatos also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Mavros Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing