We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Greek food! ”

Acropolis Restaurant Cafe
Ranked #1,392 of 3,652 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greek food! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We visited the Acropolis restaurant last night and the food was wonderful! Yannis was such a charming host and the food was so delicious. Hands down the best Greek salad we have had in Greece, amazing mixed souvlaki and such delicious calamari. It is well situated a short walk from the Acropolis and honestly lovely hospitality. The taverna itself is a quaint space with great ambience.

Definitely highly recommend a nice meal at the Acropolis restaurant taverna while you're in Athens!

Helpful?
Thank OzCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Greek experience we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After a hot mid morning on the Acropolis we headed down the back side towards the museum with our stomachs growling. We passed the bus parking lot and decided that we wanted to go somewhere less crowded for our noon meal. As we passed the Acropolis Restaurant Cafe, a very nice young man sitting out in front answered our questions regarding the menu and the possibility of sitting in the rooftop seating. It looked like it would be a wonderful spot to sit relax with our meal, and we are so thankful that we did! Janus, our server and the young man, who's name I am sorry to say I do not know, came up to help us get settled in and move tables to accommodate our party of 6 (four adults and two pre-teens). We sat for a while pondering all of the wonderful offerings on the menu and after a few questions Janus said that he would recommend a Greek Salad, a white bean dish, a pork appetizer to start and then an assortment of grilled meat on skewers. We followed his suggestions and it was amazing! From start to finish the food was delicious! The beans were in a light tomato sauce, and I wish I knew what they were called. The meat was cooked and spiced to perfection! As we were finishing up, Janus stayed and talked some with us as we were among the few patrons in the restaurant and we loved his stories and banter. Janus also gifted us with some postcards from the city.

The meal was a bit more expensive than we were expecting to spend, but we would do it again! We had with us our friends who have never travelled internationally before, and this was exactly the experience they were hoping to find. An authentic home-style cooked meal in a local cafe.

Although we did not have a great view of the Acropolis from the roof top seating, it was green and cool. A greet escape from the heat of the day. In many of the planters were growing the herbs that were used in their meals. I highly recommend this spot! The food was outstanding, the service excellent, and the location a cool green retreat on a hot day!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“View it with a guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

You learn so much if you have a guide to explain the restoration going on and to explain the many historical things that have taken place on this incredible sight. Search and find a guide, it is the best money spent. Vassilios Athens DayTours has Art Guides available and ours was the best! Ask for Dora.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wairRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fira, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walk into ancient history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Seeing it is the only way to understand what we studied in school.
And please go to the Acropolis Museum, too so that you can get a true sense of this historic treasure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Temple, a Fortress, a Church and a Mosque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Acropolis, of course, is a must-see when visiting Athens. But don't forget about all the things sourrounding it like the Dionysos theatre. Avoiding the groups of coach-tourists it is probably best to enter the premises via the entrace near the Acropolis museum.

The ticket price may seem rather high, but the ticket is valid four days in a row. It also gives you access to the Agora, the Kerameikos and the Olympeion. If you want to return to Nike temple for sunset, here you go.

Before you start, be ware that you will not be allowed to carry food or any liquid other than water into the Acropolis. The Greek are rather strict about this rule and it is for sure a good idea to respect their feelings. Note that the only toilet is located near the main entrance.

Slowly, you will approach the Acropolis hill passing through a nice park. Climbing higher stay a while at the Dionysos theatre. Later, when uphill, compare the view from the top with that from the ground level. Amazing what these guys were able to create back then.

There are many smaller buildings and temples on your way up and staying some minutes at one or another not only allows you discovering things you would have overlooked. You will also be less exhausted when reaching the Acropolis hill in the heat of Athens.

When finally reaching the entrance to the actual Acropolis take a moment and let the impression of the building rest upon you. Think what people 2'400 years ago will have thought.

The stairs up are rather steep and very slippery. There are but a few handles so be careful, even more when getting back down again. Inside the holy district, just take a walk and enjoy. There are lots of things to see from here. The temples, the surrounding hills, the sheer mass of small white houses covering the whole Athens metropolitan area down to Piraeus and, of course, all the places you already visited in the city from above the steep walls.

Imagine how the temples were placed to impress people worshipping their gods (and imagine how small the city was back then compared to the size of the Acropolis), how the Franks have turned the place into a fortress and the Parthenon into a church, and how the Turks transformed it into a mosque. The Acropolis can provide you with many images and imaginations.

Leaving the Acropolis you can either return the way you came. A better idea is to leave through the Beulé Gate, head North and reach the Anafiotika quarter after a short walk. Don't forget to look back from time to time and discover the Acropolis from different perspectives - but no worries, you will get these views also when just walking through the city. And if you think you missed some temple or want to enjoy the same view again, remember that your ticket is valid for several days.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keen_commander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acropolis Restaurant Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis Restaurant Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing