We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel, amazing views and will definitely go back”
Review of Fresh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fresh Hotel
Ranked #32 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, amazing views and will definitely go back”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed at the Fresh Hotel with a friend for 2 weekends that sandwiched a week in Mykonos. I found the Fresh Hotel on Tablet and in the Wallpaper City Guide and it definitely lived up to the expectations set by these two publications.

First things first though, the hotel is in what some may call an "up and coming' neighbourhood - rather dodgy, close to Chinatown and be prepared to see some rather colourful characters at night but this all added to the charm. And, it was only a 2 minute walk to the metro station or 10 minutes to Monasteraki. And, even coming home alone at night I never felt unsafe (am single female).

But the hotel - WONDERFUL! My friend and I treated ourselves to an executive room that had a little private balcony (the hotel pics make it look like it's bigger than it is, but still nice to have) that had a direct view of the acropolis, amazing at night. The room had one double bed and one pullout out couch, so perfect for 2 friends. Big-ish bathroom (although beware flooding from the shower) and very indulgent bath products.

The second weekend we just stayed for less than 24 hours before catching a flight so booked the standard room which was much smaller , no bathtub and a view of the afore-mentioned chinatown, but still quite nice.

The staff was incredibly helpful (and apologetic in the face of the Greek taxi strike) and in the end arranged shuttle service for guests to the airport, if needed. We had amazing recommendations and enjoyed every place the staff mentioned.

A definite highlight of this hotel is the pool and outside terrace on the roof, Again with views of the acropolis, truly amazing! Pool area is small and sometimes crowded but on a 'half' level down are big lounging areas with staff service, so the drinks and food can keep on coming (just one note to be prepared for the drink prices, but this seemed to be all over Greece...with cocktails an average of 12 euros a glass...). Also great breakfast!

All in all great hotel, would recommend for people who like a modern, lively environment and who don't mind a colourful neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Book the executive rooms with a terrace - worth the extra !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyriahL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    893
    201
    49
    29
See reviews for
328
865
143
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

While the service at reception was good, I found that for the price we paid the hotel was seriously lacking. The neighbourhood is really not great (we stayed in Victoria before this and that was fine), and to be honest I wouldn't want to venture out at night. Reading reviews on this site, people mentioned that it was fine, but really it wasn't great for me. The room was a decent size and very clean, but unfortunately the walls are paper thin so you could hear people traipsing up and down all hours of the night.

The service at the restaurant was really poor, and when I wanted to pay the barman/waiter was really quite snotty. Prices at the restaurant were slightly pricier than most places in Athens that we'd been to, but the food was good. The view was also fabulous.

Overall, the one night we stayed there was more than sufficient, but I definitely did not find it worth the price we paid and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SamVee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Fresh remains exactly what you need in Athens - an island of cool, clean brightness in a city that can be tiring and chaotic. We have been going since it opened and it has lost none of its energy and professionalism. It is striking that the same willing staff have been there for years - they are resourceful, reliable and friendly. Cool, comfortable, well-equipped rooms; good showers; excellent Korres toiletries; great breakfast; fast, free wifi; secure parking. To cap it all there is memorable valrhona chocolate and madagascar vanilla ice cream to end the day on the roof terrace (which also boasts a small pool). Location is mixed: great for foodies (Athens central food market 50 metres away as are many small shops selling spices, cheeses, pulses, etc); Monastiraki market, Athens' main shopping streets & trendy Psirri are all nearby; connections to metro and to airport train are close; late at night, though, you will want to keep your eyes open or take a taxi as the area turns sleazy. All in all it is a real pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The great thing about this hotel is the rooftop swimming pool and lounge bar/restaurant where you can enjoy a good dinner with a view on the illuminated Acropolis.
The hotel and the rooms are clean and well equipped.
We did not get the buffet breakfast because we had to catch an early morning boat to Folegandros, but they kindly provided us with take-away breakfast packages at 5.30 AM !
The hotel has a very central location in a quite noisy and dodgy area, and unfortunately the city of Athens in general is quite messy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, because it can get quite noisy at night in that area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espruytte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed in the Fresh hotel for five nights in July as I was attending some events in Athens. The hotel has a lot going for it…. It’s near 2 metro stops, it’s really very central – just off Athina. I thought the rooms were a good standard for comfort and décor, the breakfast was always great – with loads of choice, I really liked the roof top swimming pool and sun deck and the roof top bar was really good in the evening. All the staff were helpful and pleasant and I really appreciated how courteous they were to a single traveller. The one thing that is a minus point for Fresh – that this is not their fault and they have no control over is the area to the left of the hotel – it is getting progressively more ‘edgy’ and not really giving you a lot of ‘safe’ vibe at night if you are a girl travelling on her own. I did find that if you know where you are going and give the air of being busy – you should be fine – but I have to admit – in the evenings walking back from the metro – the area was a but ropey. Saying that – if your over on business or a stay of 3-5 days and need a central location near metros – Fresh is worth considering

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConamaraGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Fresh Hotel Athens offers modern design, nicely equipped rooms, great breakfast and a phantastic roof terrace with winter garden restaurant and swimming pool - with Acropolis view.
We mostly appreciated the nice breakfast buffet (with the opportunity to order also coffee specialties and the fresh orange juice machine) as well as the roof terrace with its nice restaurant and bar. The food and drinks in the restaurant was very good, even though a bit more pricy than other nice restaurants in Athens. It was nicely furbished with modern designer furniture and offered a spectacular view over Athens and to the Acropolis. Go here to eat before sunset and then enjoy sunset with a nice, chilled drink.
The area around the hotel is not the most cozy one, but taxis are easy to catch in downtown Athens and not too expensive. I would recommend to take a taxi instead of walking to the hotel at night. During day it is no problem as e.g. the market hall and a lively street is just around the corner.
I would stay here again when I go back to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

It is a nice hotel, but in a very dodgy and unsafe area. My friends from Athens suggested me never to go to the hotel alone in the evening. The hotel generaly looked much better on Internet than in reality - the rooms were very small, and the cocncept was not fully followed through. The view from the roog garden was alos not so spectacular as on the website. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Hotel

Property: Fresh Hotel
Address: 26 Sofokleous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#22 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Athens, Fresh Hotel is a stylish, urban resort, with unconventional atmosphere, cool and thoughtful service. With simple lines and vivid colors in a minimalist, sleekly designed sanctuary, the Hotel surrounds guests in absolute calm. The joy of life takes on a new meaning in Fresh Hotel. The Fresh Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens, next to the beautiful Town hall, and only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the old market place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fresh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing