We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find for the price”
Review of Fresh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fresh Hotel
Ranked #33 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good find for the price”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

There in August 2011. First room had a weird smell, almost sewage like, so we requested to be moved and were given a different room. Like all places in Greece it seems, two twin beds that me and my bf pushed together. I thought the room was nice and I liked the style.

People friendly. Nice included breakfast. Location pretty good AS Long as you're ok with being in a somewhat sketchy area. Definitely some hookers on nearby corners at night and the neighborhood is kinda lower income. That said, you're just a few blocks from lots of happening stuff. And there's a great market across the street thatbou should. Isn't no matter where u stay.

Rooftop view is awesome. Pool is über small. Real estate upstairs is a bit tight but if you're strategic and care, I guess just get there early!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    921
    208
    51
    33
See reviews for
346
899
144
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Just back from three nights at the Fresh Hotel and felt compelled to leave a review.
This is a really fantastic hotel and brilliant value for money, the staff cannot do enough to help you.
We arrived during what was clearly one of their quieter weekends and were upgraded to an executive room with a 'zen garden' - a small balcony area with bamboo and pebbles for those not with the zen. Was pleased to see Korres products in the bathroom and the entire suite was spotlessly clean. There was even a welcome bottle of water and raisins soaked in honey as a snack.
When we checked in we were given a voucher complimentary cocktail each at the rooftop bar so headed up there, it's a really beautiful bar with stunning views across the city. It was too cold to use the pool on the roof but it was a lovely area and would be a great sunning spot in the summer months.
As a former bartender in a cocktail bar I was pleasantly surprised with the bar staffs knowledge and abilty - the drinks were lovely and despite the steep price (11 euros for a cocktail) we returned another night for more.
The hotel gym was well equipted with modern cardio and decent weights etc. The steam room was out of order and the sauna was closed when we were the mega helpful concierge offered to turn it on for us and explained it was only turned off because the hotel was quiet.
Much has been made on Tripadvisor about the dodgy area the hotel in situated in but we had no problems at all. Yeah, the area isn't brilliant but it is less than a five minute walk to Monasarnaki Square which is a real tourist hub and only a few minutes more to Plaka and the ancient city of a Agora. Teh only downside I found to the location is that there is a pet shop right beside the hotel, with puppies in the window 24 hours a day. It angered me to see them in small glass cages with idiots tapping the glass constantly. We even saw an idiot tapping on the glass at the sleeping pups at 2 a.m.
Athens is a pretty expensive city, food prices are on a par with London or Edinburgh and drinks even more pricey. Expect to pay about 8 Euros for a spirit and around 5-6 Euros for a beer but like every city if you hunt you'll get cheaper prices off the beaten track.
We found the best nightlife was in Psyrri but Plaka and Thisio are well worth a look too. Also, just off Monastarnaki Square there are some lovely Greek cafes on the pavement. Great for lunch even in January thanks to the mild weather and patio heaters.
Don't hesitate to book the Fresh Hotel, great hotel, great staff and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirstywino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We previously stayed at a rather over priced, over rated hotel in a rather inconvenient part of Athens, and this hotel was recommended by a Greek friend who lives in Athens.
And what a great recommendation!

Initially the area looked a little dodgy, but it turned out to be surprisingly safe, convenient, (right near the Acropolis), and a haven above the busy hustle and bustle of the Athenian streets.

The roof Top pool deck was incredible! We spent a good few hours lying around the pool, drinking in cocktails and taking in the view of the Acropolis and Parthenon.

From arriving at the hotel, (and clumsily dropping my passport behind a glass partition at the counter, where the staff went out of their way to help me retrieve it), to the small but well appointed rooms, this hotel was definitely a win.

I would certainly recommend this to any traveler, and I know where we will be staying in Athens in August 2012!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durbsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Our standard double room was very small but had everything you needed. Hotel is located in somewhat shifty area with loads of streetwalkers about, but it is quite a quick walk 9about 7 min) to Monastriki (just stick to the main road at night as some of the back alleys are quite scary). The folks that work here were all very friendly and pleasant - eventhough we checked in at 4 am.. The rooftop area is divine: nice pool and lounge area, and the restaurant served some really good food (i had a club sandwhich with truffle oil which was yum).

Room Tip: Splash out and get something more than just the standard double, as those rooms are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This trip I searched for a change of scene for my 4th Athens visit this year but found no hotel that did not suffer from at least one critical shortfall (overheated rooms, poor wifi, no garage, rude staff or, in the case of the near faultless Grande Bretagne, out-of-budget prices...) so back to the Fresh. Happy. It is striking that after all these years the same staff retain such enthusiasm - all of them. We are now very used to the area which although not the smartest is really not dangerous. We walked happily down to Monastiraki for a kebab in 5 minutes and into Psirri for good home-style cooking in about 3 - no discomfort of any sort. Good choice of snacks and main courses in the rooftop bar/restaurant. Garage beneath the hotel. Fast wifi throughout. Only minor gripe (did I mention it last time?) is that frieds eggs, bacon, sausages, omelette tend to be cold and chewy by the time you get to them at breakfast - but there is plenty of other lovely stuff to choose from (cheeses, cold meats, yoghurts, honey, pastries, toast, fruit, fresh juice......). Oh yes, and there was the upgrade - thank you, thank you, thank you. But even without that very, very good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresh36, Public Relations Manager at Fresh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Andrikos,
Firtsly let me wish you happy new year ! Thank you for your positive review and for being a repeater guest to Athens and to Fresh hotel.
We will be looking forward welcoming you in the near future . Keep the excitment for your next visit FRESH !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is really an excellent boutique hotel. As long as you can handle the slightly rough and tumble nature of the neighborhood that it is in (we had no troubles but this is not an elegant part of town), this is great value for money. Playfully decorated, the hotel looks good and has a light and colorful contemporary feel. The staff are super friendly and very nice. Our room was on the smaller side but it was fine and the bed was comfy. We did not experience noise from the bar/restaurant - we were on the 7th floor. Awesome Korres products were provided in the bathroom - these were much appreciated and good to see local Greek companies being championed. The breakfast is particularly delicious and the fresh orange juicer is a nice and unusual touch. The breakfast room is also beautifully decorated. When we were there, Xmas decorations were up and this was very nice. There is a small, clean and modern gym which I used and was quite happy with. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed at the Fresh hotel, room 615 (Dec 2nd – 5th) and what can we say – it was great !

The staff - was always helpful with restaurants tips, help and information- thank you again if you are reading this:)

We got a room with a balcony on the 6th floor, facing the street –perfect and Korres bathing gels, shampoos and lotions are provided -what else can you ask for.

The roof top offers a nice restaurant with an outside lounge and a great view of the city – Acropolis included and the roof top pool which looked inviting but was too cold to use.

Will stay there again for sure.

Efxaristo!

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaacscharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,981 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Hotel

Property: Fresh Hotel
Address: 26 Sofokleous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#22 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Athens, Fresh Hotel is a stylish, urban resort, with unconventional atmosphere, cool and thoughtful service. With simple lines and vivid colors in a minimalist, sleekly designed sanctuary, the Hotel surrounds guests in absolute calm. The joy of life takes on a new meaning in Fresh Hotel. The Fresh Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens, next to the beautiful Town hall, and only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the old market place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fresh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing