We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Fresh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fresh Hotel
Ranked #27 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Within walking distance of Central Market and Monastiraki, there are many places to stop for espresso or baklava, on your way to the sites! The Hotel is located for easy access to the Acropolis & Museum, National Archaeological Museum, and Agora, how wonderful they all were. Just be careful crossing the streets. We spent 4 nights here and although the rooms are small it was all we needed. The upstairs pool in late afternoon is very relaxing, and bar/restaurant are perfect in the evening for a cocktail while looking at the Acropolis and stars. We spent a day to Hydra which was very gave you a nice feel for the islands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresh36, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Fresh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear guest,
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Athens and we appreciate that you took the time to write your kind review on Fresh Hotel! We hope to have you back, the next time you visit our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Modern hotel in Psirri district. It is a good hotel for the price (If there was a 3.5, would have rated it that.) For us, we only spent two nights here at the beginning of a 2 week vacation, so didn't want to spend top $ on this hotel. Small rooms, bathroom with not much storage space, nothing fancy, but you come here for the rooftop bar/lounge ( great place to rest after walking the sites), the very reasonable rates, and the proximity to major sites.Very fun rooftop bar, nice loungey but comfortable atmosphere, with (slightly obstructed) view of Acropolis. Very good breakfast spread:great yogurt, fruit and veggies, tomatoes, feta and dolmas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location is excellent, halway between Omania and Monostriiki metro stops, so you have a nonstop to either the port or the airport. The hotel itself is close enough to the ancient center that we just walked to the sites. The room is very comfortable with a nice shower. The breakfast is excellent. It has all the usual American/Continental choices as well as sauteed mushrooms, cooked zucchini and tomatoes etc. Also fresh squeezed orange juice(!) The rooftop bar/lounge/swimming pool is fantastic with a lovely view of the Acropolis. It has a great vibe day or night, ahd the drinks are reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have now stayed at the Fresh Hotel 6 times in the past 4 years, so you could say it is my hotel of choice while visiting Athens. This is quite unusual for me, as I usually like to try out other venues/areas, for no other reason than just a change. I have also stayed at the Diamond Hotel, the Arios Hotel, Attalos Hotel and the Central Hotel , also 1 night at the Titania ( see reviews) However, the Fresh is still my favourite. The price is very good value for money ( I always book direct with hotel thru their own website) and I find the location to be ideal for my needs, which is to be close to restaurants, public transport, sights, shops etc. That it's not right in the 'heart' of the tourist area is to me a plus, as the surrounding area is full of interesting cafes, bars, shops, markets etc, frequented by locals. The Fresh bedrooms, while a little small by Australian standards, are spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and smart functionable furnishings. Wifi is good throughout the hotel, though sometimes can be a little slow.
I notice that some reviewers make mention of the 'dodgy area' around the hotel, and this is somewhat true to some extent, but as long as you remember to turn left as you leave the hotel, and walk 50 metres up to Athinas Street, then you'll not have any problem..... just don't turn right at the corner, and make the mistake of walking down the street, at least not at night. ( I did wander down the street one morning, (accompanied by a friend) out of curiosity, and while I never feel threatened, it just isn't a very pleasant area, it's run down and populated by many immigrants from Africa, Middle East, South Asia etc.)
I always find the front counter staff at the Fresh to be most helpful and friendly, and always willing to assist with any request. A special mention must go to Effie and Yiorgas on the evening shift, who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
If you ask for a room on a high floor, and are lucky enough to get a room *05, *06 or *07, then you'll get a large balcony with a great unimpeded view looking west over the city.... and great sunsets! On the 8th floor though, which is the highest floor with rooms, the sounds and music from the rooftop bar can be a problem at night, especially at weekends when it goes on till 1:30 am. But this is Athens, and you'll probably still be out ( or in the rooftop bar) at this time anyway.
I presume that breakfast is always included in the room price, as the staff at the breakfast room never question you as to which room you are staying in. The freshly squeezed orange juice served at the buffet is a wonderful touch, and a pleasant surprise, especially when compared with the usual 'Orange Cordial' served up in many hotels in Athens. The breakfast room is large, airy and spacious, and the buffet has all the usual offerings, and the staff are efficient. The only complaint I have ( and it's a minor one) is that there is still no facility to order freshly cooked eggs. Your only choice is from the bain-marie, which has fried eggs, scambled eggs, boiled eggs and even omellette 'slices', but after they have been sitting there for a while, they dont always look that appetising.
Overall, I really like the 'ambience' at the Fresh, from the downstairs lobby and reception area, the breakfast room, to the Rooftop Bar and restaurant. I still haven't used the pool though, and had no idea till now, that they even had a fitness centre. Maybe next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vendepac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nice boutique hotel, unfortunately we only arrived around midnight as we had a late flight. I loved the colours and the design furniture. The hotel is centrally located and the rooftop bar has a view on the Acropolis. It was thus very nice to have our welcome drink with a view on the lit Acropolis. The room was spacious and was provided with all comfort. The staff was friendly and were very helpful even we arrived almost in the middle of the night. The breakfast was varied and offered a wide range of fruit, vegetables, cheese, meat, ... The hotel is centrally located and offers free wi-fi

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiebke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The plaza in front of the Acropolis is a 5 - 10 min walk; there are some "shady" spots nearby, but we - luckily - have not noticed anything. Rooms are clean, supplies are refreshed daily and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steenlandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent three nights in Athens. Actually, we booked the Baby Grand, but due to reconstruction work, the agency proposed the Fresh hotel. We were perfectly happy in this modern and central hotel: rooms are clean and reasonably big. The bath is very nice, the beds rather hard than soft - just as we like it. No noise at all. On top of the building (9th floor), there is a bar which offers a fantastic view over Athens, including Acropolis. The bar prices are rather "international", the pool too small for swimmers. The breakfast buffet is really great with freshly pressed organe juice, lots of fruits, eggs, tomates, meat etc. Just the coffee is the standard "hotel coffee" - you may need to have a real espresso afterwards in the streets. Negative point? Not really found one. Perhaps the pet shop which is 50 meters from the hotel. Just doesn't make you feel good if you see animals (even a little dog) in small boxes waiting to be sold. Ohterwise: Do a one-day trip to the islands (Hydra/Poros/Aegina). You can book it in the hotel (we got it for 90 E instead of 99 E - in town, you get it even cheaper).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 284 in Athens
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,490 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,488 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 284 in Athens
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Hotel

Address: 26 Sofokleous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#17 Business Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £77 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Athens, Fresh Hotel is a stylish, urban resort, with unconventional atmosphere, cool and thoughtful service. With simple lines and vivid colors in a minimalist, sleekly designed sanctuary, the Hotel surrounds guests in absolute calm. The joy of life takes on a new meaning in Fresh Hotel. The Fresh Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens, next to the beautiful Town hall, and only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the old market place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fresh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing