We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close your window during the night, please.”
Review of Fresh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fresh Hotel
Ranked #35 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
cupertino, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Close your window during the night, please.”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This hotel is very modern and clean and comfortable. Breakfast is wonderful.
We will book again if we had to, but we will make sure the window must be closed
very well. Because during the midnight, those street girls will make sure, they can't go to sleep, you can't either.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    905
    206
    50
    31
See reviews for
335
884
143
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

This is a nice, chic hotel, but walk down the street it is on (Sophocleus st), in the direction away from Syntagma, and you soon find yourself in very unpleasant territory. Our taxi driver said the far end of Sophocleous st had the reputation of being the worst street in Athens; where, in broad daylight, you can see the Somali and Afghan drug dealers openly selling drugs to junkies in truly terrible states. Where Sophocleus crosses Menandrou st was partly blocked off by a police van, which appears more to be aimed at containing the situation, rather than tackling it. Apparently Sophocleus is ok by day and, lets be precise, the Fresh hotel is 5 mins walk from the worst area, but I would personally feel uncomfortable taking a child under 18 to stay in this hotel. And if you do, tell him or her to turn left out of the door, not right (especially at night).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleurie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

this hotel was very modern and rooms quite comfortable. The surrounding neighborhood can be a little seedy in the after hours. It was fine during the day. Hotel itself is fine we never felt unsafe just dont plan on any late night walks. roof lounge is the best ive seen. awsome view of athens with friendly staff. must stop by. they had the imperia vodkaa ice bar which is also a must see.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibey1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Two friends and I stayed at this hotel for one night only but had a wonderful stay. The hotel itself was very clean, the rooms were incredibly modern and comfortable, well stocked in toiletries from Korres (a great Greek cosmetics brand!). Our complimentary breakfast buffet the next morning was delicious and offered a wide variety of food choices. The rooftop terrace offered an amazing view of Athens, especially at night when the city is lit up! The location is great - near many banks and steps away from Athinas, a main street in Athens leading to various shops, restaurants, museums, etc. The only complaints I have are that we were promised access to the rooftop pool, sauna and other similar little perks, but they were all inexplicably unavailable to us that day. When we asked the staff why, they *all* answered with a shrug of the shoulders, "I don't know." It was very odd. Also, there are only 2 tiny elevators that work quite slowly and fill up very quickly, so be prepared to lug your suitcases up and down many flights of stairs. Other than this, staff was friendly and overall great experience!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drunkwithlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

this was my second time at Fresh Hotel, and although i didnt book an executive room on the 8th floor, as i did first time around, I got a really nice standard room on the fifth floor (503). It was spacious and had everything i needed in it. The cleaners religiously replenish the lovely Korres shampoo, conditioner and other products.
The gym is the main reason i book this hotel when in athens, but on this occasion two of the three cardio machines (treadmill and cross-trainer) were very noisy and needed to be fixed. I did pass this feedback to reception staff, so hopefully they will look into it. Yes the area may seem unsafe, as it's full of asylum seekers left, right and centre, but they are harmless. There are a few prostitutes from Africa just around the corner of the hotel, but there is also strong police presence, so never did we feel unsafe.
The breakfast is great, especially the omelette. It's a great hotel to explore Monastiraki, Ermou street, Plaka, the Acropolis, Kolonaki etc. It's a 10 minute walk to Monastiraki station. The souvlaki in a nearby 'souvlatzidiko' was the tastiest we had in athens. and we tried more than 10!
Taxis are really cheap, we took a cab to nearby Gazi for the nightlife, and it was only 4 euros after midnight, when the tarriffs are double anyway. Bargain.
Oh, the swimming pool on the top floor is closed in the winter months. In december the weather was 20 degrees, so i'd be gutted if i had visited athens then, and the swimming pool was closed, but now the weather was 12-15 degrees, so it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.
All the staff I met were friendly and incredibly helpful. They spoke very good English.
The room was small but comfortable, with modern facilities. The bathroom didn't have a bath but had a very good shower. The entire hotel felt clean, and as the name suggests -'fresh'. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room, but there was a minibar. There was also a flat screen TV with a wide choice of international channels.
The fitness centre had a sauna, steam room, showers and some workout equipment. None of the workout equipment worked apart from the exercise bikes, which was a shame. This is my only complaint about the hotel.
The hotel is located in a market area, a few minutes walk from the subway, and within walking distance of the major tourist attractions in central Athens.
The area around the hotel felt generally safe, although there was obvious drug dealing going on a few streets away. A little common sense about where you go and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunsWithSquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

The good: Location (walking distance to most of places of interests). Looks real fresh like an IKEA showroom to a certain extent, LOL. Helpful staff. Good rooftop view. Rooftop bar. Free unlimited internet in the "business centre". Good toiletries

The not-so-good: Location (may appear dodgy to most people but safe as long as you're streetsmart, even late at night). Noise from either the rooftop bar or noisy neighbours in the hotel itself. WIFI internet in the room is not free (Euro10 for 24 hours). No coffee/tea maker and no iron/ironing board in the room. Have to use the laundry service for ironing (they cited safety issue)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#32 of 326 in Athens
1,940 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,200 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Hotel

Property: Fresh Hotel
Address: 26 Sofokleous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#22 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fresh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Athens, Fresh Hotel is a stylish, urban resort, with unconventional atmosphere, cool and thoughtful service. With simple lines and vivid colors in a minimalist, sleekly designed sanctuary, the Hotel surrounds guests in absolute calm. The joy of life takes on a new meaning in Fresh Hotel. The Fresh Hotel is located right in the heart of Athens, next to the beautiful Town hall, and only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square and the old market place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fresh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing