We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, bad district”
Review of Alassia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alassia Hotel
Ranked #227 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good hotel, bad district”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel was merely good, the bed was narrow and creaking every time you make a move, furniture pretty old but it didn't matter, the bathroom spacy and modern. The main problem is the location especially when travelling by car. It is very central (close to metro station) but there is much traffic and no 24 hour private parking, so during the night this is a problem if you dont want to leave your car outside the street. Besides, the hotel doesnt have a noticeable sign and it was difficult to find while driving in traffic...The recepsionists were bored to speak and seemed annoyed...I would not visit it again, the experience was not pleasant but mostly because of the region, so I recommend it for people on foot and public transport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    59
    66
    36
    31
See reviews for
35
69
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxpress
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I can't recall such a frosty reception in any hotel - in many years! The person at the front desk was completely unfriendly. The room was cold, and the air conditioning/heating unit didnt work (no luck with help on that from reception). The bedding was completely inappropriate - 1 sheet and 2 blankets. Breakfast fine - the usual. The location is good, though seedy. Ladies of the night (and not 100% ladies of the night) walk up and down the nearby corner, though have never felt in danger around Omonia square. There are tons of decent budget hotels around this area, and all the ones I have experienced - much better than this one. I wouldn't recommend this place. You can do much better!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinbaum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I spend the last week in Hotel Alassia . Very close to the Metro Station and exactly in town center! The room was clean and the breakfast was really good !! Thank you for your good services!!! Looking forward for my next visit to Hotel Alassis!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefteris6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

When I booked it I was looking for price more than comfort, to my surprise the room was great and tastefully decorated in chocolate brown, the bathroom awesome large and modern (something quite rare for the price) and the staff courteous. I was expecting your average breakfast and yet I was pleasantly surprised to find and amazing breakfast buffet comprised of 3 types of eggs, bacon, sausages, fried eggplants, roast tomatoes, cereals, 5 kinds of fruits, salads, yogurt, breads, cakes and quite a few types of coffee. WOW! I hit the jackpot!!

the neighborhood is great a walk away from everything

I love Athens and now that I found this hotel I shall be visiting more often,
.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel have a great location, very near the metro station. Staff was very friendly with us at all time. However, first when we enter the bedroom was not no clean, but next morning was ok. Breakfast is fine. Relation cost benefits really worth the price. Concerning bad points, the feeling of insecurity walking in Omonia square and hotel st. Better no walking at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitinhapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Bad Room, bad view, humidity in rooms and common spaces, A/c is not working, vers bad breakfast. Very small elevators, poor bathroom. Beds are very uncomfortables, i had to redo the bed with the towels provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I have stayed in this hotel many many times over the past years!!! The last time was mid September. Its nice hotel but it needs maintenance especially the lift and many of the rooms. The prices are very good, low and affordable. The breakfast needs more variety though as the hotel offers the same breakfast menu for many years now. The rooms are ok with internet access and mini fridge/bar. A kettle to make coffee or tea would have been nice. The A/C was ok for cooling and heating as well. Reception staff was very helpful and the bar staff too.
The hotel is near the metro station and the main bus station which its very convenient. BUT the area the hotel is situated is very bad. Omonia square isn’t so safe anymore especially at nights. During summer is not so bad as it gets darker very late but in winter you have to be very really careful from 6pm! So a night out is very hard unless you get a taxi to pick you up or drop you off in front of the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koka-kokina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Hotel Parnon
Hotel Parnon
#143 of 326 in Athens
171 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#184 of 326 in Athens
122 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
#112 of 326 in Athens
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Hotel Athens
#86 of 326 in Athens
615 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#221 of 326 in Athens
138 reviews
Achillion Hotel
#109 of 326 in Athens
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alassia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alassia Hotel

Property: Alassia Hotel
Address: 50 Sokratous, Athens 104 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alassia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alassia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing