We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”
Review of Eridanus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eridanus Hotel
Ranked #129 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night after spending a week sailing in the islands. We wanted a hotel that was clean, comfortable and with a nice restaurant and this one ticked all the boxes. The hotel is located in a part of the city that isn't great but to be honest a lot of Athens is looking that way at the moment, however, it is within walking distance of the Acropolis and a 5 minute walk from a metro station.
The check in was very good with a refreshing glass of juice offered and a friendly receptionist with a good knowledge of the city. The hotel is quite small and we were on the second floor next to the lift but the room was very quiet and well soundproofed. Our view was of other buildings but that wasn't important to us. There are robes and slippers provided in the room and free WIFI that actually works.
We reserved a table on the roof top restaurant as this has a view of the Acropolis which is lit at night. The view is fantastic and the restaurant very stylish, we had cocktails admiring the view. The food was of a high standard and the service friendly, this was a perfect way to end our holiday.
The breakfast is also very good with a large selection of items both hot and cold. We would definitely stay here again when we need a base in Athens and the price is also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedhenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Eridanus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

At first glance, we were a bit worried about the neighborhood, but actually its okay, and we felt safe walking in the area at night. We came to appreciate the many hidden gems close to the hotel, including some of Athens best restaurants and the cafe area around the Kerameikos metro stations. The many sights of Athens is in easy walking distance from the hotel. As for the hotel itself, it is very nice. In my opinion It's not close to a 5 star hotel, but it's a very good 4 star hotel. The staff are friendly and professional, the deluxe rooms are comfortable with good beds, and the breakfast is fine. Yes, the toilet and the shower combination is "unik", but it's also very, very greek :-). We would definitely consider going back next time we visit Athens.

Thank Birgitte_Karsten
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently stayed for three nights at the Eridanus Hotel in Athens. We were traveling to Santorini for a couple of weeks, and so the hotel in Athens was originally not all that important to us. HOWEVER once we arrived at the Eridanus Hotel, we did not want to leave! Every staff member (and there were plenty) was warm and welcoming. They helped us with food, taxis, directions to the Plaka, and so much more....all while smiling.
And the view??!!! Oh my....we just didn't expect the fabulous view from our room (not all rooms have this view, I guess), but can be easily enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant. At night, the view of the Acropolis will take your breath away. Other hotels in the area have views too, but this one is about the best in town, I've been told - and now believe!
Then, after our time in Santorini, we again needed a hotel in Athens - the night before our flight home. We had not booked any hotel for this night, but after staying there before Santorini, we immediately booked it for our last night. THEY UPGRADED US TO A HUGE SUITE!! The staff told us that we were now 'VIP's', and that they would do whatever they could to get us an upgrade whenever we came. We worked with no fewer than 8 staff members, between the desk people, porters, and breakfast staff, and restaurant servers, and each of them went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Now I want to fly to Athens...just to stay there!!
Oh, and someone in the reviews stated that the 'area' was not all that safe! This couldn't be further from the truth!! The area is not 'rich', (where in Athens is it?), but certainly VERY safe!!
We walked everywhere, (to the Acropolis and back three times), and felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis, if they have it. Some rooms do....some not. But go to the rooftop r...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a great hotel. Easy check-in is a good start. The staff are very professional and always helpful. All rooms are well priced so we opted for a suite with a view of the Acropolis. We had a huge balcony with with table and chairs with fantastic views - a great place for an ice cold beer after a hard day of playing tourist. The suite was extremely comfortable with great amenities and plenty of space. My only beef was that the shower and toilet were in the same cubicle so water stayed on the floor and toilet until it evaporated or until the room was serviced.
The roof-top bar/restaurant enjoyed the same fantastic views and while the food was excellent, it was more expensive than the local tavernas etc, but that is to be expected.
Breakfast was great - this was served in the very stylish cafe on the lower floor. A huge array of delicious food was available.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a room/suite with an Acropolis view. It's well worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Spent three nights(Room 402), we were very tired due to early flight and ordered Room service. Although other reviews here said not to bother as it was expensive and the quality was not so good, we found it very resonable and tasty.
The room and the view were both very nice, we had an Acropolis view Room with a balcony where we had our morning coffee before heading down to the Buffet Breakfast which again was very good.
The Staff were generally very helpful and friendly and we are finding it difficult to find anything negative to say about our stay at the Eridanus Hotel.The only reason that that we scored it very good and not excellent is the Hotels location on a busy,noisy road but then again the Hotel is in the centre of Athens and within walking distance of lovely Taverna's and Market which is great for wandering through.
We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for more milk, coffee and tea for the complimentary tea service they offer.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nells130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Hotel is basically as described. Luxurious, VERY professional service. If you want something nice, this is a good price. We sprung extra for the Acropolis view and it was worth it!
The restaurant is delicious! (but expensive as you would expect at such a hotel, they say its reasonably priced, but it's not, it's expensive and tasty).
Steam room is a nice bonus.
Also the Wifi in the rooms works VERY WELL (this is the only hotel of the 10 we stayed where wifi was exactly as advertised).
Location is centralish, but not right in the middle of everything. Not really a problem to get anywhere though.
Also as a North American I found the bathroom to be hilarious. It's nice but there's a shower in the toilet part of the bathroom and there is no curtain on the actual shower. Water everywhere all the time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyTravelsAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Staying for 5 nights to celebrate my sister's birthday.
What a comfortable hotel, friendly and efficient staff.
The breakfast is fantastic and I would also say the best in any hotel we have stayed before.
Just a few minutes walk to the shops, tavernas and attractions. Ate next door on the roof in the fabulous Michelin fish taverna on the Birthday evening and in the hotels roof garden restaurant, both excellent!

Room Tip: Rooms to the side lack view but are cool and quiet. Front rooms on the 3rd floor have an amazing bal...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amigdalospito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 282 in Athens
1,532 reviews
Semiramis
#3 of 11 in Kifissia
276 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#64 of 282 in Athens
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,147 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eridanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eridanus Hotel

Address: 78 Piraeus Street, Athens 10435, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#58 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £89 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eridanus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eridanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eridanus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing