We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not as great as some reviews indicate”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eridanus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eridanus Hotel
Ranked #151 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
352 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Nice, but not as great as some reviews indicate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

The hotel is nice, I very much like the location, it has good A/C and the design is good. A very nice basis for a stay in Athens and certainly superior to the bigger chain hotels there. Small but well-appointed rooms (I had a superior though and would not want to know how small the regular ones are!). No lobby really and a lot of steps up and down, and the public areas a bit worn, but still nice.

My main problem was that an advertisement had promised an upgrade to an Acropolis view (which I could not have used very much), but I did not receive it when checking in late; I was, however, promised to get one by the next day. The next day, when asking about it, I was told I could have one but would have to pay an extra €120, which I naturally declined. I must say I minded both the fact and the mixed messages. I am also amazed about the praise for the breakfast in some reviews; the selecion was not good, there was nothing local whatsoever, and altogether I thought it was a *** affair. But as I am not a big breakfaster, this did not matter too much. Very nice touch: Free softdrinks from the minibar.

As a tip for the area, next to the already-mentioned Gazi area for pubs and the like, I would recommend the relatively new Museum of Islamic Art, not your typical Athens venue but a superb instutution with a great collection and a very nice roof cafe. It is literally 5 minutes walking from the Eridanus.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    102
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
149
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

If we're ever back in Athens, we'll definitely be staying here. The hotel is well-appointed with a rooftop restaurant with an amazing view of the Acropolis. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel is a short walk to restaurants, cafes, and the metro.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjwardakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed in Eridanus hotel for 2 nights with my family and we certainly enjoyed the place. We stayed in a junior suite, witch were very spacious with 2 seperated rooms and a great bathroom equiped with everything someone can ask in order to make his trip more than comfortable: 2 LCD TV, 2 mini bars with free of charge refreshments, hydromassage, beautifull and luxurius furniture and bed linens and many more. The service was geat and the staff very helpfull, the breakfast was very good and there was free of charge parking place. The area was quite central near Gazi (five minutes on walk), a very nice area full of cafe, bars and restaurants where is aslo is Technopolis (a great place with several culture events taking place every day). We 'll return at Eridanus hotel. Certainly reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heracles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Stayed at the Eridanus for 3 nights in the middle of July. Our room had a shared terrace (room 302) with a fantastic view.

I personally enjoyed the location of the hotel. Yes, the neighborhood may be a bit run down but it gives you a taste of what Athens really is. Also, it is only a few minutes walk from the Gazi neighborhood, which has great restaurants and seems to be the place to be a nights. The main tourist attractions are within walking distance but far enough to give you a different perspective of the city.

The rooms may be a bit small but they have all you may need and are super clean.

The breakfasts were awesome. The fresh squeezed orange juice were delicious and the staff didn't mind to give us more when we requested it. Overall the service was outstanding.

I would definitely stay there again. But I would make sure to get a room facing the Acropolis. I can imagine that the experience would be different if staying in a room facing the side street.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

POSITIVE: We were upgraded to an acropolis view room (402), on the 2nd highest floor (4th floor). You can not roll luggage from entrace to reception directly, but a bell boy did help with this (contrary to some previous reviews which suggest that you have to lift yourself). Nice bedding. Bathroom had one shower + toilet room; and one sink + tub room. Free soft drinks in the mini-bar is a nice touch. Late check-out (3pm) was also negotiable in this instance. Food on rooftop restaurant is good, and the unobstructed view of the Acropolis is beautiful (even if a bit far). Hermes toiletries in bathroom are a nice touch. Taxi to Piraeus (ferry port) from hotel costs Eur 16. Overall a great experience. Nice breka too, tho not too much variety. Internet in room only, which was a bit painful to use, but worked ok once receptionist helped.

NEGATIVE: Walk from Thissio metro station to hotel goes thru very run-down area, but then it seems large chunks of Athens are pretty run down. Even the 'nice' Psyrri district, where we went to dinner at the lovely Stou Karimoni(?) restaurant, was quite run down. Staying on/around Syntagma Square might be mroe practical for short trip tourism, but this location is not bad. And taxis overall are evry cheap anyway. Some reviews suggest the staff was not very nice, but I think you can elicit a good response from them if you're extra nice to them. Rooms a bit small too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights after a trip of the Cyclades. First impressions are "where is this damn hotel in the middle of the slums?" Its like a diamond in the rough to put it lightly. The area surrounding it is dirty and intimidating...at first, but once you get out and explore the area...its not all that bad. Very close to Keramikos and about 15-20 mins walk to the main areas near the Acropolis. As mentioned the area is a little dodgy, however had we not gone out and explored, we would not have found one of the most amazing restaurants in Athens (The Athiri Restaurant). There are also some great roof top bars around so to get a great sunset view of the Acropolis. The hotel itself is immaculate and rooms are funky and new. Hermes soaps and body washes should sum it up...if you get my drift. The breakfast is one of the best out there with a great selection. Once you get over the initial shock of the location, this place is really a great find.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundayGrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

the view of the acropolis from the rooftop restaurant was breathtaking, i wanted to go up there every night to look at it.

the rooms & service here were outstanding, and the small size of this hotel make it even more private & enjoyable.

the location is not great for taking walks at night, but it's just a short walk to the pedestrian paths surrounding the acropolis, so eridanus is a very good starting point for a walking tour of that area, only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krznpsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Semiramis
#3 of 10 in Kifisia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#66 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eridanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eridanus Hotel

Property: Eridanus Hotel
Address: 78 Piraeus Street, Athens 10435, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#74 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eridanus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eridanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eridanus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing