We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of Economy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Economy Hotel
Ranked #72 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is about 10 mins walking distance from Monastraki station which makes every part of the city easily accessible. It's also close to the Omonia station so you have quick access to both metro lines. It was easy and safe to walk to the hotel at night.
The staff welcomes you with a big smile. Staff was really friendly and helpful with every question we had. At check in we were informed about many of the touristic attractions which made our trip more planned.
They even preared breakfast packs for us for the day we needed to leave early! So I can tell it's great value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GozdeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very good location to everything. Walking distance to Monistiraki square, flea market, shopping area and Acropolis. The hotel is very clean Dan the rooms are cleaned every day. The breakfast is good for a two star hotel. The staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank DanToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed there for one night, on my way to the airport in Athens. The hotel staff was very kind and helpfull. The room was clean, having everything you need for short term period, and the breakfast was very good. It's excellent for a city hotel. The location is great if you want to visit all important sightseeings in Athens, e.g. Psiri, Monastiraki, Plaka and the shoping center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alumni_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for the main sights and has very good public transport links nearby.
Our room was very clean and, although small for three adults, adequate for a short stay.
The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

On the downside, the area away from the main street (Athena) seemed a little seedy at night -so common sense required here. Also, I agree with other reviewers that the breakfast was quite poor.
Some photographs show a rooftop bar which doesn't appear to exist. But overall I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here on our first few nights of our travels in and around the Greek Islands. I can't say more about the location. It is in easy walking distance to the Acropolis, the Plaka shopping district and other local markets. The day and night persons, John and George bent over backwards to help us with patience and kindness and good advice. There were there when we needed them and so helpful. The rooms are spartan, but clean and accomodating for our use....we just sleep there. It was just preseason so there were no large crowds, though several groups of high schoolers did come and go....but there noise was not a bother as we only saw them in the lobby. Breakfast was pretty basic as we found in most of the other hotels we stayed at, meat, cheese, cereal, canned fruit (would have loved something fresh), yogurt (always in greece), bread and sweet bread. All plenty for us and included with our room. There is internet access at computer in dining area which we used.Housekeeping was there all the time and helpful as well. Again, for the price I can't imagine a better location to be in Greece and the local flavor. I walk alone everyone morning and enjoyed the fresh bakeries, spices, meats and all the activity that starts on Athenas street early...I always felt save and everyone was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainelymarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The rooms are not well sound proofed and the reception does not care much about rowdy student travelers. Bring earplugs and be ready to need more sleep. Breakfast was OK. Internet access was OK. We'd look for a better location next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Love, Love, Love!! The staff was always helpful, they were able to give us directions to where we wanted to go with no problems, the day staff was always willing to give us more information and history of Athens. They were able to set up a side trip for us and the bus picked us up at the door. Free WiFi, housekeeping everyday and free breakfast in the spacious dining area. The hotel is walking distance to everywhere! They even mailed out my postcards.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and very happy with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Evripides Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
786 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#85 of 282 in Athens
742 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 282 in Athens
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victory Inn
#59 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#68 of 282 in Athens
331 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#33 of 282 in Athens
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Hotel

Address: 5 Klisthenous, Athens 105 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £34 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a family hotel with 56 rooms all with private facilities, located in the center of Athens, next the City Hall, in Athinas street. The location of hotel allows you easy access in walking distances to the most interesting places in Athens and to the public transportation (Nearest metro stop from the airport is Monastiraki station).Our friendly staff will try to make your stay more pleasant, providing you directions to all the Archaeological sites of the City, Greek taverns or restaurants, shopping areas, the flea market or to any point you wish to visit.Contact with us minimum 3 days before your arrival date to arrange an airport transfer (additional charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Economy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing