We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, food and drink not great”
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Athens
Ranked #33 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The staff were mostly very courteous and helpful. The rooms were lovely. Clean, large, stylish, good temperature control. The decor in the rest of the hotel was very elegant. Made it a very nice and relaxing space to come home to after a day in the city.

The rooftop bar and pool were the place to be, though understandably very busy. During the day there were shady spots and sunny spots to relax. Always nice to have a bar next to the pool, especially one that dose nice cocktails! The pool was small, but you can expect to have a big rooftop pool, so this is fine. It was excellent for cooling down and playing. It would be nice if it was open earlier, before the kids wake up, to do some real swimming. I didn't mind the pool closing at 6 as the space is perfect for an evening drink or meal.

I was disappointed in general by the food and drink. The drinks were good, but very expensive even for a hotel. There were not many Greek options for food, and the other options were not that well executed e.g. Ceaser salad with some kind of cheese that's definitely not Parmesan, a mustard dressing and breaded chicken. And again, overpriced. The breakfast was very poor for the price charged.

I summary, a lovely hotel to visit, but I would recommend having breakfast and dinner out of the hotel, but saving a little money each day for a lovely G&T (€8) or cocktail (€12!) on the rooftop before bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penguinsandgiraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Penguinsandgiraffes,

I wish to thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your comments and observations. I was pleased to read that you had a nice time while staying at Melia Athens. Nonetheless, as our guests’ comments are very important to us in order for us to ameliorate our services provided, please note that they have been forwarded to all relevant departments for review.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens and I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

View from the roof-top bar, restaurant and swimming pool is second to none, all the way across Athens to the Acropolis, stunning. Rooms are a little tired and the lay-out of the bathrooms is interesting to say the least (esp room 106). But for the price couldn't really fault it. Will certainly be going back as I visit Athens often and it's fairly central (do turn right out of the hotel, turning left can take you to some rather dodgy areas).

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room, I believe they have one or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear AJWC,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens for your recent stay in Athens!

We were glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that we will soon get a chance to welcome you back in our premises.

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hands down the best roof scene in Athens -- coming from someone who grew up there. The pool is amazing, the bar is nice, and the loungers are relaxing. There are plenty of tables to sit and eat and enjoy the view of the acropolis and likavitos. The rooms are very very nice too! The bathroom had a shower that sprayed your entire body, which was a nice touch. The location is nice insofar as it is a skip away from the metro, otherwise, I would not want to stay here if you are looking to walk around at night. If you are just touring the city during daytime hours and want a nice place to kick back after a long summer day, stay here. The pool closes at 6pm for swimming, but reopens at 8pm for lounging.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karakalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Karakalos,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding Melia Athens. It is always our pleasure to read that our guests had a nice time while staying with us!

We hope to get a chance to welcome you back again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel itself is quite nice and very clean. The rooftop is great, and the bathroom in our room was fabulous. I give it a 4 just for a few small reasons... the location is not the best in the evening hours, the price is a bit high, the restaurant inside has great food but closes early and people are able to smoke indoors right beside you as you dine. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear kstah,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and thank you for your positive review! Moreover, your feedback has been forwarded to the relevant department for review.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very good 4 star hotel near a lot of popular tourist destinations. The rooms are clean and the service is good. The buffet was really good too. There's a rooftop lounge with a swimming pool where you can have a drink and best of all see the Acropolis lit at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear MaryAziz,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for your positive comments!

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here the last week of July, for one night before flying to Crete for a week, and again for one night before flying back home from Athens. We stayed in an executive room, which was larger and provided our daughter a sofa bed to sleep in while my husband and I slept in a separate room. The room was very large by European standards, very clean, and modern. The roof top pool was wonderful and we liked the view of the Acropolis. We also enjoyed the saunas. The location was perfect for us, with a short walk to Omonia station of the metro. Everyone working at the front desk was friendly and helpful and seemed to speak many different languages fluently. We did not eat here but chose to eat at tavernas and bakeries instead, so I can not speak of the food here. Would highly recommend Melia Athens to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear D S,

Thank you for choosing Melia for your stay in Athens! We were more than pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again in the future,

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel was very nice designed as well the equipments inside the rooms and with some exceptions it is well maintained ( I'm refering here especially to the bathroom and towels....) .
I was dispapointed instead by the breakfast which is average .
Some personal advices to the management :
- try to extend the breakfast hours for the weekend ( like in other hotels till 12 o'clock )
- tourist are expecting to taste also from your very good greek kitchen during the breakfast try to add some local goodies
- for 18 eur/ breakfast gave you space to do more .....
Sunday morning we arrived in the restaurant at 10.20 and we found only few things to eat ; no egs , cheese , fruits , yougurt , a big EMPTY .....but we have paid.
- the swimming pool has to be first of all for the hotel guests and than for outsiders and you know what I mean .
- In my first night , I took the dinner at your roof garden restaurant ; I 've made a complaint regarding the taste of the yougurt ice cream and the answer was that you're not making the ice cream and I have to complain to the producer!!!???

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear deary2000,

I wish to thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your comments and observations. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused while staying at our hotel. Furthermore, please note that we value the comments of our guests and for this reason, all of your comments have been forwarded to relevant departments for review, as continuously work to improve our services provided.

Once more, thank you for choosing Melia Athens.

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 106 77, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
#31 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £71 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Athens, member of the Melia Hotels International, is an oasis in the heart of the historic and business center of Athens. Here the Greek art of hospitality complements the legendary passion for service of the Spanish chain, creating a unique living experience. With the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as a backdrop, Melia Athens provides magnificent facilities, spacious dining areas with views of the historic monuments and a modern health club with cardiovascular equipment. Located in the heart of Athens, only 200 m away from the central metro station, the hotel provides a selection of 136 luxury rooms and suites located on 8 floors, all decorated in warm and earthy tones with wooden panels and marbled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. Enjoy a comfortable stay in one of our 37sq suites which separate bedroom and living room, a hydromassage bathtub and separate shower cabin as well as Nespresso Coffee Station. Live "The Level Experience" in one of our 13 rooms by enjoying a set of unique level benefits. In the 9th floor you may get a fantastic workout with a view of the Acropolis, relax in the authentic steam bath and sauna with natural day light or cool off in our 22m pool as well as in the outdoor Jacuzzi from Mid May to mid October. Have your breakfast in Vivendo Restaurant and enjoy your coffee or a light snack at our Mondo Cafe. Don't miss the chance to visit our Sky Lounge Dinning Bar, located in the 9th floor and enjoy a cocktail or have your dinner under the stars with breathtaking view of the Acropolis and the Lycabettus Hill, operating Spring to Autumn (weather permitted). Share your experience from Melia Athens with the free Wi-Fi Internet in all public areas and rooms of the hotel.Our hotel in cooperation with Polis Park across the street, provides parking facilities with special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Melia, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing