We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MELIA ATHENS”
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Athens
Ranked #33 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My sister, my Mother and I have just returned yesterday from this hotel. It is supposed to be a 4star hotel but it's more like a 3star. We had a triple suite and it was called an executive suite, it wasn't really ideal for 3 adults, there was 1 double bed and a pull-out bed from the sofa. Not good.
The room was noisy, the traffic outside keeping us awake at night. The piano bar and the cafe down on the ground floor weren't operating. The bar on the roof was good but closes between 6 - 8pm. That means there is nowhere to get a drink anywhere in the hotel between those hours. Again not good if you want a drink before dinner.
Breakfast buffet quiet good, the menu at the pool bar is basic. The food is typically greek, basic menu, with salads and vegetables coated in oil.
The hotel is in a poor location, we wish we had booked somewhere nearer to the main shops, we had a bit of a walk to get anywhere, which wasn't very helpful with our Mother.
We wouldn't go there again, saying that we probably wouldn't go to Athens again, it's basically dirty and scruffy.

Room Tip: can't offer a tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Lilah22,

Thank you for choosing Melia as well as for taking the time to express your comments through Trip Advisor. Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities.

I would also like to mention that Athens is a relatively safe area to visit and live in, and our hotel is centrally located, with close proximity to many shops and malls, the metro and to most city attractions.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens,

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice hotel. The location is in a not very good neighboorhoud of Athens (north of Omonia) but a very practial location. Close to subway and walking distance to Monastiraki.
Rooms: good beds, good bathroom. The carpets are yellow and really really dirty. This hotel would be so much better if this would be changed into a hard wood or laminate floor. Also some walls need a paintjob.
The pool and bar are very nice. During the day more sunbeds would be an improvement.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room facing the courtyard (it is ugly but very quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kulevliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Kulevliet,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your comments and observations! Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities.

Once more, thank you for visiting Melia Athens and we hope to have the chance to serve you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had been upgraded to a bigger room, the terrace is great and the stuff is helpful and very friendly. All facilities are in good condition, everything is the price worth, food could be a little better - but food is a typical problem for Greece (compairing f.i. with Italy). The area is loud, so its only possible to sleep with closed windows. The area is not beautiful as well, but if you go to the left you will reach parliament and the government-hill with all luxury-departments in 10 minutes by feet. So you are very near to the business- political and shopping-center of Athens.

Room Tip: Better not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Terence L,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your recent stay in Athens and also for sharing your positive feedback with us.

Kindly note that I will pass your nice comments to the relevant departments.

We do hope to get a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stay here for two nights in sept 2013. Nice room with upgraded bathroom. Lobby pleasant. Rooftop very nice. Nice pool and workout area. Free wireless lobby and rooftop. Poor location, nothing much for 10 min walk around. Have to go to plaka area 20 min away. Not easy to get to hotel by train. Need to transfer one time then walk 10 min. Taxi from airport 35 euros. Taxi from hotel to airport 40 euros. Hotel must be taking a cut. We did not do brkft in hotel but the buffet looked good but 18 euros cost.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank etohelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear etohelp,

Thank you for your preference in Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts via Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel’s services and amenities.

In regard to your comment about the taxi fare, please note that we do not receive a commission from them taxi company. We just cooperate with the company in order to provide an added-value service to our customers. However, because they are readily available outside the hotel, they charge a stand-by fee.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens, and I do hope that you will give us a chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kali BAlili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for one night after a long flight from NYC. Came early in the morning and the hotel let us check in early which was awesome. We dropped off our luggage and went to chill at the rooftop pool bar to relax off the jet lag which was great for that. We then walked to the acroplois which was around half an hour away - not bad. Location of the hotel isn't the best but most of athens looks this way so I didnt expect any less. Perfect for one night just to see acropolis and hang around the city. We left the next day to the islands but wanted to see athens for the night. Good view of the acropolis at night. Good but overpriced drinks at the bar. Overall - good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Julia S,

Thank you for your preference in Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts via Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to read that your experience at our hotel was a positive one and we do hope to get a chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Didn't realise it was on the good side of the road of a bad area, so recommended NOT to walk around near the hotel at night. There seems to be an invisible dividing line which most of the taxi drivers told us about. The taxi drivers were great by the way. The hotel is OK, we had to change rooms as it a) smelt and b) had a filthy carpet and was definitely not up to standard and the moved us and upgraded us after a discussion. The waiting staff on the whole are very nice but one particular more mature waitress really stood out. Everyone spoke excellent English. The breakfast is the same every single day which after a week gets a bit boring. There is a downstairs café which is a tad gloomy and one can get a drink there up until 8.00pm after which one has to go to the Roof Garden where there is a swimming pool and restaurant (once all the sunbeds have been tidied away) which is open from 8.00pm. It is pleasant up there but the sun bed cushions are very tired indeed. Again the menu is exactly the same with no 'specials' to relieve the tedium. The food is OK, the view over the Acropolis is fantastic. Would I stay there again - no!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear NikkiSam,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities. In regard to the location, kindly note that Athens is a safe area to visit and live in. Our hotel is centrally located, with many shops, malls and is very close to most city attractions.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens,

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary trip. I picked up a good deal and got a Junior Suite for the price of most double rooms. The website really shows this hotel as an amazing 5 star and I was really looking forward to staying in a suite here. The truth is it doesn't quite wow you like the website suggests but it is a lovely hotel nonetheless.
It is clean, the staff are friendly and the suite was lovely with big shower and jacuzzi. Breakfast was good and the rooftop terrace bar actually made the trip special. Knowing we could walk and explore all day long and finish the night in probably the best roof terrace in Athens with an amazing view of the Acropolis was what actually made the trip something I'll never forget. The bar staff up there were truly amazing people and made such an effort to please.

The main fault with the whole place is the location. First of all it is in Athens which, in the current climate is a run down poor city. The may sound obvious but it is shockingly so. Huge amounts of homeless people, graffiti, beggars etc. The city as a whole is tired and it is apparent everywhere. The locals welcome tourists and we even had people waving at the tour bus shouting "Thank you for visiting us!". I wouldn't try and persuade someone not to visit but there are problems there. No-one has any money and waiters/bar staff we spoke to said they earned around 20 euros a day. Even though we didn't experience it, we were warned on numerous occasions about crime and the fact that we were likely to get robbed after dark. The second issue with the location is exactly where IN Athens it is. It is very central but just about 3 blocks out of the posh part and on a borderline outskirt linking the city with an area not so nice. I am only talking about a few hundred yards away from the main square but the surroundings change dramatically. It begins to change from the centre of a capital to a suburb very quickly. Hopefully my photos will show it. At night there was a coach of riot police outside the hotel EVERY night.
That being said, we stayed out until we wanted and did not experience any problems.

One place of note to visit apart from the historical sites is the Hammam Baths in the centre of the city. They have an English website and Facebook page etc. The best massage/spa experience I've ever had.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benoit908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kali B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear benoit908,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for sharing with us your comments and observations. We were very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed our hotel’s services and facilities, and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Kali Balili
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 282 in Athens
2,360 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 106 77, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#31 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Athens a contemporary hotel in Greece is located in the heart of Athens, near the National Archaeological Museum, the Greek Parliament, the National Library, the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill. Amongst its services and facilities, this Hotel provides modern rooms, an outdoor swimming pool on the rooftop with stunning views of the Acropolis, exquisite cuisine with Greek specialties, a gym, and wellness facilities. The Melia Athens stays true to its passion for service, delivering authentic experiences to its guest. It is perfect for visitors from all over the world who want to immerse themselves in the ancient Greek culture and admire the beautiful temples and buildings that have endured over time while enjoying the Greek hospitality during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing