We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”
Review of Melia Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Athens
Ranked #35 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We just completed our stay, and it was very disappointing.

Despite emailing two weeks ahead of time requesting a non-smoking and advising of our late arrival, we still ended up in a smoking room.

In addition, I simply don't understand why someone would pay additional for The Level experience. We never received turn down service, received our newspaper only one of the three mornings, had unreliable wifi, and ended up in a room without a properly working shower that was coated in mold.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliaathens, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Robert T ,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts through Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to read that your overall experience did not meet your expectations, as the Melia Athens team has a passion for service.

Nonetheless, please allow me to apologize for any disappointment caused. Please be assured that all your comments have been forwarded to the relevant departments for review.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again, assuring you of our best of attentions and services at all times.

Kind regards,

Eftychia Koutsagoulaki
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
There are newer reviews for Melia Athens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Pros:
We stayed at this hotel for one night. It is about a 25 minute walk to the Acropolis which we found very pleasant. It is also very close to transit which we found extremely helpful.The roof top view is incredible as it has a perfect view of the Acropolis along with a pool and restaurant/bar by night. The service was decent however we did not require much. The bathroom was the highlight as the shower is massive with a rain shower head and there is also a jacuzzi which was wonderful after a long day of walking. The bed was comfortable.

Cons:
The downside of this hotel is that there is no free Wifi in the rooms. This was quite surprising as in our two week trip over Greece we had never had to pay for Wifi at our hotels. It is however free in the lobby. The food at the hotel is limited and a bit pricey as expected with hotels. The rooms carpet was very dirty looking and so were the walls. I do have mild asthma and found it hard to breathe in this hotel even though we had a non-smoking room. Also our view from the room was terrible as it faced a very dirty building. We did not have breakfast included and it is 12 euros per person. Did not see what was offered for that though.

Overall if in Athens again, may find a different hotel as it was a bit pricey for what we got.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view facing the Acropolis
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliaathens, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Rachael F ,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for sharing with us your comments.

It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, the Sky Lounge and the convenient location.

Your points about the wifi and the carpet have been noted and forwarded to the relevant departments.

Thank you for staying with us and hope you will visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Eftychia Koutsagoulaki
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our 1 yr old and were not happy with the staff. The hotel by itself is decent. We took the level experience package ( 40 euros per day)which includes free breakfast, wifi, one drink in the sky lounge and some amenities for the room. The internet was terrible in the room. The hotel has free wifi in the lobby and common areas which was much faster than the one in the room I paid for. When I mentioned this to the staff, They said that I was paying for the level experience (What ever that means) and not necessarily for the wifi. They were not willing to refund my money (Atleast a portion for the wifi). Even the breakfast is not worth what they charge for (16 euros without the level package). Very basic stuff. The swimming pool is a whole different thing. The pool is open from 10:30 AM to 6:00 PM (Main time when tourists are sight seeing). We were in the hotel for 2 day and didn't use the pool because it was always closed when we wanted to use it. If you are a tourist planning to stay here, there are plenty of nicer hotels near the acropolis and Plaka area which would be a better choice,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avinash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliaathens, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Avinash M,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts through Trip Advisor.

We were concerned and sorry to note that you were not quite satisfied with your stay. Your remarks will be forwarded and reviewed with the relevant departments.

Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again, assuring you of our best of attentions and services at all times.

Kind regards,

Eftychia Koutsagoulaki
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed for only 1 night in the hotel but the experience was good.

Very good rooms with all basic amenities with jacuzzis in the washrooms.

Good breakfast.

Decent location.

Excellent rooftop with a restricted menu.

The downside is that despite being a 4 star property no wifi facility in the rooms.

You have to come down to the lobby for free wifi :(

Room Tip: Not the hotel for good views. The rooftop is a must visit though.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shashanktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliaathens, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear shashanktravels,

Thank you for choosing Melia during your stay in Athens and also for sharing with us your comments.

It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, the service of our staff.

Your points about the wifi have been noted and forwarded to the relevant departments.

Thank you for staying with us and hope you will visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Eftychia Koutsagoulaki
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was friendly and serviceminded. It is very convinient situated close to the underground and just one stop from the Syntagma.
Though it might not be the most prosperous parts of the city, it felt genuine and safe.

Room Tip: Try to get a rooms high up in the building, since the traffic on the street below is quite heavy and...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliaathens, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Lena J,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with all with us your thoughts through Trip Advisor.

We were very glad to read that your experience at our hotel was positive and you enjoyed the service and the convenient location of the hotel.

We do hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again.

Kind regards,

Eftychia Koutsagoulaki
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel claims to be a 4 star property but sadly it isn't one.The hotel rooms are small and average for the price they charge.Location is good as it's in the city centre.The hotel doesn't have bell desk or concierge service due to which you have to pull ur own luggage to the room.The staff at the reception are t aware of the attractions and restaurants and hence can't help tourists roam in the city. Overall it's been a very average experience.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Rakshit93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliaathens, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Rakshit93,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts through Trip Advisor.

We were concerned and sorry to note that you were not quite satisfied with your stay. Your remarks will be forwarded and reviewed with the relevant departments so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities. .

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again, assuring you of our best of attentions and services at all times.

Kind regards,

Eftychia Koutsagoulaki
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Clean, well built but a very small hotel. Typically city hotel with tiny rooms. With no welcome drink, no bell boy service, Average standard buffet, no vegeterian options. Not so attentive and helpful staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meliaathens, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear rkothari,

Thank you for choosing Melia Athens and also for taking the time to share with us your thoughts through Trip Advisor.

We were concerned and sorry to note that you were not quite satisfied with your stay. Your remarks will be forwarded and reviewed with the relevant departments.

Please be assured that all our guests’ comments are reviewed so as to be able to take necessary steps in improving our services and facilities.

Thank you once more for choosing Melia Athens and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again, assuring you of our best of attentions and services at all times.

Kind regards,

Eftychia Koutsagoulaki
Guest Experience Manager – Melia Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,088 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Athenes
#55 of 282 in Athens
2,283 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Athens

Address: 14 Chalkokondili & 28th October, Athens 106 77, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#31 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £76 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Athens, member of the Melia Hotels International, is an oasis in the heart of the historic and business center of Athens. Here the Greek art of hospitality complements the legendary passion for service of the Spanish chain, creating a unique living experience. With the Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as a backdrop, Melia Athens provides magnificent facilities, spacious dining areas with views of the historic monuments and a modern health club with cardiovascular equipment. Located in the heart of Athens, only 200 m away from the central metro station, the hotel provides a selection of 136 luxury rooms and suites located on 8 floors, all decorated in warm and earthy tones with wooden panels and marbled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs. Enjoy a comfortable stay in one of our 37sq suites which separate bedroom and living room, a hydromassage bathtub and separate shower cabin as well as Nespresso Coffee Station. Live "The Level Experience" in one of our 13 rooms by enjoying a set of unique level benefits. In the 9th floor you may get a fantastic workout with a view of the Acropolis, relax in the authentic steam bath and sauna with natural day light or cool off in our 22m pool as well as in the outdoor Jacuzzi from Mid May to mid October. Have your breakfast in Vivendo Restaurant and enjoy your coffee or a light snack at our Mondo Cafe. Don't miss the chance to visit our Sky Lounge Dinning Bar, located in the 9th floor and enjoy a cocktail or have your dinner under the stars with breathtaking view of the Acropolis and the Lycabettus Hill, operating Spring to Autumn (weather permitted). Share your experience from Melia Athens with the free Wi-Fi Internet in all public areas and rooms of the hotel.Our hotel in cooperation with Polis Park across the street, provides parking facilities with special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Athens Hotel Athens
Sol Melia Athens
Athens Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing